We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Minttown Hotel(Shanghai)
View Hotel
Yin Fa Hotel(Shanghai)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Tangbai Hotel(Shanghai)
View Hotel
Reviews (1,936)
Filter reviews
1,936 results
Traveler rating
1,067
564
202
61
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,067
564
202
61
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub leveldin tai funghotel complexhigh end shoppingnanjing roadbit datedbusiness tripjing'an templebreakfast buffetexcellent hoteldumplingsfitness centerfrench concessionthe executive loungebusiness hotelsubway stationrc
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
933 - 938 of 1,936 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Really little to be faulted but nothing to stand out. Room size and amenities fine, service fine, breakfast fine. Evening buffet very expensive and fairly average, typical selection with OK service.
Was probably great hotel when there was little competition, but seems to have rested on its laurels and not moved on. Good location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welovetravel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Portman Ritz-Carlton in Shanghai was a pleasant surprise! It was conveniently located near upscale shopping, making walking around the area fun. The hotel itself was exceptional in finishes (marble, solid wood), automated room darkening shades. There was a large gym that overlooked the city. They also had an indoor/outdoor pool.

Room Tip: The higher rooms offer better views.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed here during a friends visit after this hotel got recommended to me. It was a superb experience from the very beginning till the farewell by the bellman.
i arrived and was directly greated by bellmen and was escorted to the Front Desk. There i had a smooth check-in with a gentlemen escorting me to the room. after a short moment my luggage came and with the amenity in the room unpacking became an easy step.
i explored the hotel after and experienced a warm welcome at any occassion. breakfast was superb (superb balance of western and chinese), lobby lounge was endulging, bar on 2nd floor was a relaxing island within shanghai. Room Service (or In Room Dining) treated me on highest levels and the gym was an oasis in the heart of shanghai.
the location in the shanghai centre allows to explore the city to all directions without wasting time. i can only reccommend this hotel to others as some did to me before. a luxury spot in a luxury city - what you could expect more??

Room Tip: high floor, facing nanjing road. and ask for a "Club" floor. it's worth every penny
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antonina8881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed in this hotel as part of a whistle-stop tour of China.

The hotel is part of a large complex with various shops including a pharmacy and restaurants including a Starbucks and a Fresh Ingredients. There is also a small supermarket, nail bar and a theatre which stages performances by the Shanghai acrobatic troupe.

It has excellent facilites including a well-equipped 24 hour gym and small swimming pool. The breakfast restaurant "Tables" served a varied buffet with attentive staff and decent coffee.

The room was large and well equipped with extra features like an ipod dock. The shower was great and the bathroom stocked with unusual Asprey toiletries. The bed was very large and comfortable and there was no traffic noise despite the very central location on Nanjing Road

We would heartily recoomend this hotel and stay again if we were ever in Shanghai!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fanfloui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel whilst on business. It is in a great location with local shops and restaurants within walking distance.

I stayed in a suite which had the luxury of dividing walls so that you had the choice of open plan or more private areas.

On level 7 there is what looked like a fully equipped gym - I didnt use it but I did pass on the way to the spa. If you have time you must try out the spa facilities. I had a 90 minute oil massage which was pure indulgence. They started by soaking my feet in fresh rose petals whilst drinking green tea. After the massage they brought more green tea and cheese cake.

I would definitely stay at the hotel again

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews