We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai
Ranked #38 of 5,205 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel , the rooms are decorated very beautiful the beds are comfortable, and the gym here is awesome. Food is great as well It is in a nice location as well with lots of shops and high end stores close by

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justmesk49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,842)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

941 - 947 of 1,843 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel personifies the Ritz brand and for the three nights I stayed i felt like a princess. The room was fantastic with a huge bath allowing me to have water up to my nack and my legs fully stretched out, a comfortable bed by Asian standards and amazing attention to detail with every aspect of breakfast, service jn the loung bar and the welcome as you walk into the door.

The hotel has a supermarket below it so its easy to find snacks. There is a taxi stand out front but make sure you get into the hotel guest line and be prepared to show your room key. Its close to some of the largest brand names like Cartier but about a good half hours walk from the mall in Nanjing Road East. If you want to be completely spoilt at a very reasonable price then this is the place for you !

Room Tip: I cant imagine that there is a bad room but maybe the back rooms of the hotel would be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aussie_travellers_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Very High quality Hotel. Elegant and well designed. The location is central to all the major night life. I stayed 3 nights and received excellent service. You can't do better. I will share this one story. The cuff on my pants didn't hold up well on the trip. So, I was casually inquiring about a local seamstress at the concierge desk one morning. The gentleman at the desk enthusiastically assured me that they'll take care of it. By that afternoon, I found my pants repaired, dry cleaned on my guest room bed. This is why Ritz is in a class by themselves.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 643ccm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Second time in 6 months. Nicely appointed rooms, bathrooms. Wonderful service. Very friendly and helpful club level. Convenient location. Haven't tried any of the downstairs lounges, restaurants, bars though.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephanieL67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Very high standard hotel. Good sized rooms, gym, nice common areas. Feels like a typical Ritz Carlton, understated elegance and good mood. The business centre is well equipped - horribly expensive - but what 5 star hotel isnt?

Room Tip: All rooms very spacious and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justbobhrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I returned to this property after several years of staying elsehwere and on this trip after staying at the HKG and Guanzhou properties. I realized quickly that the hotel has become a bit dated compared to newer properties in China. The airport welcome was positive, as was the club arrival experience. Carmen was very helpful and made sure that all the paperwork and other questions were handled with care. Rooms are tight at this location and bathrooms not up to usual ritz standards -- they are small, like the room overall. The bed was comfortable, though I woke up in the middle of the night listening to the TV next door. It is unusual to have that level of noise in a luxury hotel, so perhaps it had to do with the person next door have the TV on very loud. The lounge was nice, but the modern approach is not very warm or elegant -- much more business like, similar to at JW Marriott rather than a Ritz. Food choices were excellent in the lounge and the staff very helpful at all times. We held meetings in the conference room, which was very convenient. The concierge staff was also helpful with package shipments. We enjoyed the italian rest. and also the great service and food at a special event at the hotel. Overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ct3408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Very large complex
Ritz treatment from hotel staff
well appointed rooms clean and bright
They have a great band in the lounge, soft romantic music
Understaffed and inexperienced employees at the restaurant
Hard to get service, poorly managed
the complete opposite of the Ritz Beijing where they are all over you with attention and service

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
#25 of 5,205 in Shanghai
1,224 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Jing An Shangri-La, West Shanghai
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#7 of 5,205 in Shanghai
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai

Address: No.1376 Nanjing West Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China (Formerly The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#28 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#38 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#58 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#171 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $164 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a breathtaking 5-star luxury hotel - The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai. Our award-winning hotel in Shanghai, China sits in the upscale Nanjing Road entertainment, dining and shopping complex, enthralling guests with an unparalleled and impeccable accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Ritz Carlton Shanghai
Portman Ritz Carlton Shanghai
Ritz Shanghai
Shanghai Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing