We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High end western hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai
Ranked #38 of 5,205 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Spent 4 days at the Portman Ritz last week and can recommend it to anyone needing to visit Shanghai. Even if you don't speak a word of Mandarin you will feel comfortable and at ease here as the entire staff, including housekeeping, speak at least some level of English and most people are quite fluent. It has all the Ritz quality that you come to expect, is well located in a high end section of Shanghai, and is beautifully maintained. The exercise and pool facilities are great, there is a spa (though I didn't spend any time there) and the breakfast buffet is huge, all-encompassing, and delicious.

The hotel isn't cheap, of course, but you get what you pay for. I have been in many hotels in China and this is one of very few to not have a smoker's reek about the whole building. If you ever say Lost in Translation you'll feel like you're living it at the Ritz. Great hotel and easy to recommend to anyone, regardless of their comfort level with being in China.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMBMaryland_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,843)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,043 - 1,049 of 1,843 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

I spent a few days in Shanghai last week. Two rooms, one suite for my wife and I, and a regular one for our teenage daughter. I worked and they had fun. The Ritz Carlton may not be the most moder hotel in Shanghai (like the Pudong Park Hyatt) but its location is unbeatable as is the service from the attentive staff. I visit Shanghai a few times per year, and I have no desire to change where I sleep

Room Tip: get either a club room with breakfast package or the least expensive room: decor inside the rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luganofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed 2 nights. The room was quite large and seemed quite clean. Bed was comfortable. We had breakfast with a wide variety of Western (egg station, bacon, sausage, salad, bread, cereal...) and Asian (congee, noodles, vegetables, steamed buns...) and we had dinner one night at Tables, buffet lots of seafood (snow crabs, shrimps, scallops), sushi, curry meat, noodle station, lots of selection!
Very large gym, lots of treadmills, ellipticals, bikes...
Close to lots of shopping on Nanjing Road. A fairly long walk to the Bund.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ylc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We enjoyed the Portman for 7 days. The room is big enough, good furnished, clean with
Coffee Maker etc.
The Club Level is excellent. The service is great, breakfast, lunch snacks.
On the last day they started Tea time. The evening drinks with really good choice of
food.
Especially the Manager is outstanding with his service.
We can compare the Club Level with many other 5* Hotels and this was the best!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susangermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We've stayed at the Portman twice in the last eight years so we have a little perspective on it. While we enjoyed both visits on this most recent one we thought that the property had started to show its age a bit and could use a little renovation.

I want to be careful hear because I don't want to seem to be knocking the place. We enjoyed our most recent stay. The Portman is in a great location. Service is impecable and the common areas are beautiful. It also has the advantage of having a Din Tai Fung dumpling restaurant just steps from the front door - once you taste their dumplings you'll recognize what an advantage this is.

It's just that the Portman no longer has the sparkle that it once had. It's systems are also becoming a bit dated (but then this is pretty much the case with almost all hotels over 10 years old that have not had a recent update - technology moves fast these days.

When we were there eight years ago it had just finished a major renovation and the systems seemed more contemporary. I'm not suggesting that it is need of another major renovation so soon, but a little TLC, yes. Perhaps it was just the room that we stayed in. Hard to know.

On our most recent trip to Shanghai a couple of weeks ago we stayed at a 5-star location on the Bund. While we liked the property better (it was amazing) we both felt that the Portman location was superior and more central to a variety of activities.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noclvrname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights in early March 2012 for a business meeting.

The hotel itself is inside Shanghai Centre on Nanjing Road, a great location as Nanjing Road is a great shopping street, you can walk all the way to the bund from here, it's not too far.

The hotel is a tad dated and very old fashioned in styling, although the service is excellent. The room was OK, maybe a little larger than the room I had at the Renaissance, but nothing amazing. Very clean, very efficient. The internet however was pretty slow and wifi was awful.

Breakfast was pretty good with a good selection, although very very noisy and busy at peak times. There are a couple of places to eat right next to the hotel, one Chinese restaurant on the 2nd floor to the right of the hotel as you look at it, and one Italian on the 1st floor again to the right. The Italian was pretty expensive, but nice, the Chinese place was a lot more reasonable and the food was excellent.

The conference room(s) we had were ok, but the buffet lunches were really poor, pizza for 16 people really? Three days in a row? Not good.

Overall, I don't think I'd choose this place again, it was double the price of the Renaissance for not a great deal more, only location would be ranked as better than Renaissance.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulo1179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin J, Quality Manager at The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review with regards to your recent stay. I am very pleased to learn that you have indeed had an enjoyable time with us and am very proud to hear how happy you have been with two of our Ritz-Carlton restaurants. Nevertheless, we deeply regret the buffet experience you had during your conference. It would be appreciated if you find it convenient to reach out to me via alvin.jia@ritzcarlton.com, so that I can learn more about your lunch experience and provide any additional assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Our 7 day stay at the Portman Ritz - Carlton Shanghai was wonderful. We were vacationing (not on business ) and found the location central to all parts of the city. Within the complex there are alot of shops, restaurants and bars including Din Tai fung and Green Massage - Also, grocery store downstairs with ATM. We had access to the executive level and found the food and beverages for breakfast, noon, dinner and snacks so wonderful that we ended up sometimes utilizing it more than eating out. Suited especially for business travelers not only to relax but also to conduct business, we found the executive loung staff there unbelievably helpful. Mandy, Alice, the gentleman from Switzerland , Sophie and virtually everyone we worked with during our week were so helpful. If they did not know the answer, they would come back to our table with an answer. I took a yoga class one night and found the instructor very good. The greeters at front and within the entrance were also very helpful and accomodating.

Room Tip: get a room that can utilize the executive level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
#25 of 5,205 in Shanghai
1,224 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Jing An Shangri-La, West Shanghai
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#7 of 5,205 in Shanghai
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai

Address: No.1376 Nanjing West Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China (Formerly The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#28 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#38 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#58 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#171 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $164 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a breathtaking 5-star luxury hotel - The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai. Our award-winning hotel in Shanghai, China sits in the upscale Nanjing Road entertainment, dining and shopping complex, enthralling guests with an unparalleled and impeccable accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Ritz Carlton Shanghai
Portman Ritz Carlton Shanghai
Ritz Shanghai
Shanghai Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing