We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel. Great value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #22 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Excellent hotel. Rooms are very large, beds are very comfortable. Bathroom beautiful and large. Great towls. Breakfast was excellent as well. The staff is very helpful and seems like they hire only or mostly English speaking people which is very helpful in comunication.
Location is great and atmosphere is fantastic. It is not a new hotel but well maintained.
2 exceptions:
The carpet in the room could use upgrade and the A/C does not work well enough. We called the engineer who changed something but we could not get it down to our satisfaction. The temp in the room varied between 22-24 C. We like it colder.
Other then that, it was remarkable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esty34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and happy with our great location during your trip. Also really nice to hear you enjoyed the breakfast buffet and many thanks for your comments.

We truly value your loyalty and can't wait to welcome you back and experience our best service, hopefully very soon!

Sincerely yours,
The Public Relations Team at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,143)
There are newer reviews for Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

482 - 488 of 1,143 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

Great property with a convenient location near Nanjing Rd. Excellent gym facility, incredible buffet breakfast and tons of closet space in the rooms for longer stays. This was my first stay in Shanghai and I was very happy with this property as my choice. The room rate was very affordable for the quality of service received.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greg1856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and happy with our great location during your business trip.

We truly value your loyalty and can’t wait to welcome you back, hopefully very soon!

Sincerely yours,
The Public Relations Team at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed with my family (including 2 small children) while my partner had a conference at the hotel. The night we arrived we were in a room with additional beds for children - far, far too small for our needs. The rooms aren't overly large - the usual bed, chair, dining space set up. They had some nice touches for the children - child size robes, milk and biscuits with their names on them.

We wanted to upgrade to the one bedroom suite for the rest of our stay. We then had to wrangle over the rate - they told us because it was a conference we would have to pay the corporate rate which was actually much more per night than the rate we could get off the website. Which we pointed out to them. Anyway, eventually the rate was agreed - but it shouldn't have been that hard.

With small children who go to bed quite early we ate often from room service at night. I can categorically state the room service needs some attention with regard to quality. The children's menu steamed chicken and veg - overcooked, tough chicken, 2 vegetables - not ideal trying to get children to eat it. They charged us something like $14AUD for a milkshake and the cup wasn't even full. Oddly, the western food off the menu like hamburgers or pizza was usually ok, but the Chinese food - rubbery wontons, noodles with beef an veg - 3 pieces of beef (I counted) and bok choy. Hmmm. And really expensive - certainly at the upper end of the usual 4/5 star hotel prices. A pity I was stuck and couldn't dine out in the evenings.

The children were sleeping on the fold out sofa in the lounge room - it had to be the thinnest, lumpiest, most uncomfortable mattress. I got room service to put extra doonas underneath to soften it a bit. The children were fine - they seem to sleep well anywhere, but if you are an adult don't plan on the sofa bed, ask for a rollaway.

The pool was in good condition, indoor as it was a little chilly out. All definitely set up for adults.

Also, this was a bit of a walk to Nan Jing Road and not really anything particularly interesting nearby.

All in all, probably a good hotel for business but not for the rest of us and certainly not with children.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belonderful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai. We certainly appreciate and welcome your honest feedback. Please accept our sincerest apology for the in-room dining and children's sleeping experiences. Your valued comments have already been shared with our Food and Beverage and Housekeeping teams for further review and immediate improvement.

Here at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, we pride ourselves on our personalized service and being a family friendly hotel. Your experience is unfortunately far below our usual high standards. Please do feel free to contact us on the e-mail address below and we can review your stay in a more personal manner. Looking forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely yours,
The Public Relations Team at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Traveling for business, it's one of the best choice for Shanghai. I had a corporate fare and considering this the value for money was Outstanding. Executive lounge included, any type of facilities inside the Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhStrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and happy with our great location during your business trip.

We truly value your loyalty and can't wait to welcome you back and experience our best service, hopefully very soon!

Sincerely yours,
The Public Relations Team at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Perfect setting for a business trip. Practical, very good buffet-restaurant on ground level, excellent japanese restaurant on first floor. What a pity I had no time to test the SPA. You don't get the perfect Shanghai-view (to the Bund-skyline), yet you're close to Nanjing road to explore China's view of a consumer society. And the construction works around the hotel should be finished one day ...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bettina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and happy with our great location during your business trip. Also really nice to hear you enjoyed the breakfast buffet.

We truly value your loyalty and can't wait to welcome you back and experience our Spa, hopefully very soon!

Sincerely yours,
The Public Relations Team at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I was surprised at the great rate we received to start. Room was excellent. Work out faciltity was more than adequate. Breakfast was included and had one of the nicest selections I have seen anywhere around the world.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntlToyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and happy with our great location during your trip.

We truly value your loyalty and can't wait to welcome you back and experience our best service, hopefully very soon!

Sincerely yours,
The Public Relations Team at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Four seasons is a good hotel. But with the prices I expect a little more than "good". The room was very nice, the upkeep of the room excellent. The gym was OK, but occasionally lacked towels and/or cold water. While I was in Shanghai the weather was beautiful, the terrace outside the pool was "out of service", no sunbeds, no chairs avalable. I went out anyway and sat on one of the wooden beds, with no mattres. I could see the poolguard observe me, but where was the offer of a mattress, or even asking if I need a drink or something? It seems like the chinese did as they were told, but had not really understood the consept of service to its guests. Food was OK, but not great, except for the wonderful breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us recently. Please accept our sincerest apology for the lack of Four Seasons service at the Health Club during your stay. We pride ourselves on personalized service and your experience is unfortunately far below our usual high standards. Your valued feedback has been shared with our Health Club staff for immediate improvement. Also really nice to hear you enjoyed the breakfast buffet. We truly value your loyalty and can’t wait to welcome you back, hopefully very soon!

Sincerely yours,
The Public Relations Team at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai at Pudong
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#5 of 5,112 in Shanghai
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai

Address: 500 Weihai Road, Shanghai 200041, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an , Nanjing West Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#22 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#32 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#46 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#178 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $213 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 422
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Four Seasons Shanghai
Shanghai Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing