We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine hotel for business - not so great for tourists”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #21 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
belonderful
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“fine hotel for business - not so great for tourists”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed with my family (including 2 small children) while my partner had a conference at the hotel. The night we arrived we were in a room with additional beds for children - far, far too small for our needs. The rooms aren't overly large - the usual bed, chair, dining space set up. They had some nice touches for the children - child size robes, milk and biscuits with their names on them.

We wanted to upgrade to the one bedroom suite for the rest of our stay. We then had to wrangle over the rate - they told us because it was a conference we would have to pay the corporate rate which was actually much more per night than the rate we could get off the website. Which we pointed out to them. Anyway, eventually the rate was agreed - but it shouldn't have been that hard.

With small children who go to bed quite early we ate often from room service at night. I can categorically state the room service needs some attention with regard to quality. The children's menu steamed chicken and veg - overcooked, tough chicken, 2 vegetables - not ideal trying to get children to eat it. They charged us something like $14AUD for a milkshake and the cup wasn't even full. Oddly, the western food off the menu like hamburgers or pizza was usually ok, but the Chinese food - rubbery wontons, noodles with beef an veg - 3 pieces of beef (I counted) and bok choy. Hmmm. And really expensive - certainly at the upper end of the usual 4/5 star hotel prices. A pity I was stuck and couldn't dine out in the evenings.

The children were sleeping on the fold out sofa in the lounge room - it had to be the thinnest, lumpiest, most uncomfortable mattress. I got room service to put extra doonas underneath to soften it a bit. The children were fine - they seem to sleep well anywhere, but if you are an adult don't plan on the sofa bed, ask for a rollaway.

The pool was in good condition, indoor as it was a little chilly out. All definitely set up for adults.

Also, this was a bit of a walk to Nan Jing Road and not really anything particularly interesting nearby.

All in all, probably a good hotel for business but not for the rest of us and certainly not with children.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belonderful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai. We certainly appreciate and welcome your honest feedback. Please accept our sincerest apology for the in-room dining and children's sleeping experiences. Your valued comments have already been shared with our Food and Beverage and Housekeeping teams for further review and immediate improvement.

Here at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, we pride ourselves on our personalized service and being a family friendly hotel. Your experience is unfortunately far below our usual high standards. Please do feel free to contact us on the e-mail address below and we can review your stay in a more personal manner. Looking forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely yours,
The Public Relations Team at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    302
    93
    28
    18
See reviews for
94
121
55
464
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Traveling for business, it's one of the best choice for Shanghai. I had a corporate fare and considering this the value for money was Outstanding. Executive lounge included, any type of facilities inside the Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhStrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and happy with our great location during your business trip.

We truly value your loyalty and can't wait to welcome you back and experience our best service, hopefully very soon!

Sincerely yours,
The Public Relations Team at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Perfect setting for a business trip. Practical, very good buffet-restaurant on ground level, excellent japanese restaurant on first floor. What a pity I had no time to test the SPA. You don't get the perfect Shanghai-view (to the Bund-skyline), yet you're close to Nanjing road to explore China's view of a consumer society. And the construction works around the hotel should be finished one day ...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and happy with our great location during your business trip. Also really nice to hear you enjoyed the breakfast buffet.

We truly value your loyalty and can't wait to welcome you back and experience our Spa, hopefully very soon!

Sincerely yours,
The Public Relations Team at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I was surprised at the great rate we received to start. Room was excellent. Work out faciltity was more than adequate. Breakfast was included and had one of the nicest selections I have seen anywhere around the world.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntlToyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and happy with our great location during your trip.

We truly value your loyalty and can't wait to welcome you back and experience our best service, hopefully very soon!

Sincerely yours,
The Public Relations Team at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Four seasons is a good hotel. But with the prices I expect a little more than "good". The room was very nice, the upkeep of the room excellent. The gym was OK, but occasionally lacked towels and/or cold water. While I was in Shanghai the weather was beautiful, the terrace outside the pool was "out of service", no sunbeds, no chairs avalable. I went out anyway and sat on one of the wooden beds, with no mattres. I could see the poolguard observe me, but where was the offer of a mattress, or even asking if I need a drink or something? It seems like the chinese did as they were told, but had not really understood the consept of service to its guests. Food was OK, but not great, except for the wonderful breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us recently. Please accept our sincerest apology for the lack of Four Seasons service at the Health Club during your stay. We pride ourselves on personalized service and your experience is unfortunately far below our usual high standards. Your valued feedback has been shared with our Health Club staff for immediate improvement. Also really nice to hear you enjoyed the breakfast buffet. We truly value your loyalty and can’t wait to welcome you back, hopefully very soon!

Sincerely yours,
The Public Relations Team at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

To be clear, I stayed at this hotel on business and was not paying myself. Yay!

Everything is fine and dandy with nice rooms and excellent service. I really have no idea about it's position as I only had half a day to explore. The Shanghai Museum is about a 20 minute walk and worth the walk.

If I have an issue, it is the food. The breakfast is fine without ever threatening to be original. It was the in-room dining that failed to impress. One evening I ordered fried chicken with lemon sauce. It was fried chicken with lemon sauce and not much of it. No rice. No vegetables. Wary, the following night I ordered wok fried vegetables. Does a bunch of Bok Choy count as vegetables? I think not.

In short, I shall not return.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and your precious comments. Please accept our sincerest apology for in-room dining experience not meeting your expectations. Your comments already shared with our Food and Beverage team for further review and improvement as appropriate.

We pride ourselves on personalized service and your experience is unfortunately far below our usual high standards. Our location is perfect or both business and leisure. We hope that will not stop you choose to staying with us again in the future.

Sincerely yours,
The Public Relations Team at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The staff is amazing. Concierge was extremely helpful. Our rooms was big and the room amenities were fantastic. My child love the kids amenity - Well Done. Four Seasons knows how pamper kids. Not to forget the breakfast buffet - Unbelievable.

Thank You ALL
Esra

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esrabayru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and happy with our great location during your business trip.

We truly value your loyalty and can’t wait to welcome you back, hopefully very soon!

Sincerely yours,
The Public Relations Team at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
#2 of 5,059 in Shanghai
599 reviews
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Jing'an
Jing An Shangri-La, West Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#5 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,436 reviews
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Address: 500 Weihai Road, Shanghai 200041, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an , Nanjing West Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#21 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#32 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#46 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#168 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 422
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Four Seasons Shanghai
Shanghai Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing