We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Four Seasons Shanghai China Impressive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #26 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Four Seasons Shanghai China Impressive”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I was surprised at the great rate we received to start. Room was excellent. Work out faciltity was more than adequate. Breakfast was included and had one of the nicest selections I have seen anywhere around the world.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntlToyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and happy with our great location during your trip.

We truly value your loyalty and can't wait to welcome you back and experience our best service, hopefully very soon!

Sincerely yours,
The Public Relations Team at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    297
    92
    27
    18
See reviews for
92
119
54
445
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Four seasons is a good hotel. But with the prices I expect a little more than "good". The room was very nice, the upkeep of the room excellent. The gym was OK, but occasionally lacked towels and/or cold water. While I was in Shanghai the weather was beautiful, the terrace outside the pool was "out of service", no sunbeds, no chairs avalable. I went out anyway and sat on one of the wooden beds, with no mattres. I could see the poolguard observe me, but where was the offer of a mattress, or even asking if I need a drink or something? It seems like the chinese did as they were told, but had not really understood the consept of service to its guests. Food was OK, but not great, except for the wonderful breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us recently. Please accept our sincerest apology for the lack of Four Seasons service at the Health Club during your stay. We pride ourselves on personalized service and your experience is unfortunately far below our usual high standards. Your valued feedback has been shared with our Health Club staff for immediate improvement. Also really nice to hear you enjoyed the breakfast buffet. We truly value your loyalty and can’t wait to welcome you back, hopefully very soon!

Sincerely yours,
The Public Relations Team at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

To be clear, I stayed at this hotel on business and was not paying myself. Yay!

Everything is fine and dandy with nice rooms and excellent service. I really have no idea about it's position as I only had half a day to explore. The Shanghai Museum is about a 20 minute walk and worth the walk.

If I have an issue, it is the food. The breakfast is fine without ever threatening to be original. It was the in-room dining that failed to impress. One evening I ordered fried chicken with lemon sauce. It was fried chicken with lemon sauce and not much of it. No rice. No vegetables. Wary, the following night I ordered wok fried vegetables. Does a bunch of Bok Choy count as vegetables? I think not.

In short, I shall not return.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and your precious comments. Please accept our sincerest apology for in-room dining experience not meeting your expectations. Your comments already shared with our Food and Beverage team for further review and improvement as appropriate.

We pride ourselves on personalized service and your experience is unfortunately far below our usual high standards. Our location is perfect or both business and leisure. We hope that will not stop you choose to staying with us again in the future.

Sincerely yours,
The Public Relations Team at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The staff is amazing. Concierge was extremely helpful. Our rooms was big and the room amenities were fantastic. My child love the kids amenity - Well Done. Four Seasons knows how pamper kids. Not to forget the breakfast buffet - Unbelievable.

Thank You ALL
Esra

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esrabayru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and happy with our great location during your business trip.

We truly value your loyalty and can’t wait to welcome you back, hopefully very soon!

Sincerely yours,
The Public Relations Team at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Location and staff made this a wise choice for a stay in Shanghai. Deluxe room was more than a comfortable experience. The staff was courteous and the food at the Breakfast Buffet was quite tasty. The Spa and gym facilities were top notch. The Concierge staff and front desk staff were very accomodating. No complaints to offer- would stay there again without hesistation.

Room Tip: High Floor Deluxe was quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLDTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and happy with our great location during your business trip.

We truly value your loyalty and can’t wait to welcome you back, hopefully very soon!

Sincerely yours,
The Public Relations Team at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

This is my first English review so international readers please apologize for any shortcomings in expression as I am German. Hence, as the majority of travelers should be English, this is in English as I would like to thank the hotel manager by translating on my own.

China can be disappointing. You travel to a five star hotel because you know that below might be critical. Even though, you see that everything seems to be five star and the reality might be worse-below two star.

I have seen hotels which were shiny glossy nice but when you lived in them, you are disappointed because the very basics did not work.

My first time in Four Seasons Shanghai was not my first time in Shanghai or China. But it was the first time, I really felt comfortable. Actually I am not that kind of luxury seeking. But when luxury impression is followed by poor groundwork, I do not like it.

Four Seasons Shanghai is located in my downtown. Actually there is not a real downtown but I consider two places as good for staying. The Bund is a good place if you need to make business in Pudong or go out to the bars in this area. The Luwan District or French Concession is good if you want to see some China and some Old French imperialistic style.

Apart from the top notch luxury venues like Park Hyatt....I liked the Four Seasons because:

...the room was always clean, very clean and even clean in spaces which people like to forget, even in the bathroom

...the rooms are very silent though some construction is always going on in Shanghai, even close to the big hotels

...service is excellent, people speak a very good English and are approaching you in a very open way without being pushy

...hotel is not smelling( Important when you have been in China and you don't get away the naphtaline or toilet flavor from your nose)

...restrooms and every corner is clean

...breakfast is very good, even expensive with about 35dollars

..wifi is included and works okay

...even if you don't tell yor friends that you like shopping in places where you pay 10 percent of original price and even if you know that you do not need that, the Nanjing 580 market is in a 15min walking distance

...clean and well priced massage venues, restaurants and bars are nearby


so if yo need stable quality and a good sleep, this is a perfect place which I like to recommend as I have seen places with high Tripadvisor scores but low quality ( I do have approx. up to 100 hotel nights every year in different countries and cities)

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DocMeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and happy with our great location during your business trip.

We truly value your loyalty and can’t wait to welcome you back, hopefully very soon!

Sincerely yours,
The Public Relations Team at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The Four Seasons Shanghai is a very nice business hotel which is also suitable for holidays. It is very conveniently located in the center and provides all necessary amenities including 4 restaurants, great Spa, a gym and a nice bar. Quality of food is very good everywhere. The most outstanding feature is the welcoming staff, always ready to help and perfectly friendly. I always feel at home when I come back to this hotel. Hotel Management is very visible and present, whch I believe has a very positive impact on the overall atmosphere. This is one of the few hotels in the world I can whole-heartedly recommend.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that does not over-look the building site next to the hotel to avoid its noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Udo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and happy with our great location during your business trip.

We truly value your comments and can’t wait to welcome you back, hopefully very soon!

Sincerely yours,
The Public Relations Team at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
#3 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Jing An Shangri-La, West Shanghai
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#6 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Address: 500 Weihai Road, Shanghai 200041, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an , Nanjing West Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#26 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#32 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#46 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#166 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 422
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Four Seasons Shanghai
Shanghai Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing