We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Four Seasons, Although...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #24 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
117 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Very Good Four Seasons, Although...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

...I think one or half notch below what you would typically solid expect from a Four Season around the world. The location was my biggest complain, it's far from most tourist attractions. Service was also below expectations. Hotel staff at the front desk and concierge were not helpful and actually felt like they had an attitude issue, quite strange as I've never had this issue at other Four Seasons hotels.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNG1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasons_Shanghai, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments posted on TripAdvisor relating to your stay with us of late last year. We naturally are concerned to read your feedback relating to concierge and front desk service and apologize for any inconveniences caused and would appreciate more details in order to address the shortcomings.

Thank you in advance and I can be contacted at peter.weber@fourseasons.com.

Sincerely,
Peter Weber
General Manager
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    288
    90
    25
    18
See reviews for
88
109
54
429
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

My wife and I stayed here during our 5 day visit in Shanghai. This hotel is centrally located with easy access to most of the neighborhoods in Shanghai. As expected from a Four Seasons hotel, they provide well appointed rooms with excellent service. The gym and pool area are quite nice and the breakfast buffet is amazing! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich9909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for liking our gym, pool and breakfast. Sincerely look forward to welcoming you back. Should you have any questions and concerns, please contact us directly through pr.shg@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

Very friendly staff. Excellent food and service, and very welcoming atmosphere. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a room as high up as possible, the view is pretty spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lasse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

I had a really amazing stay at the Four Seasons the last two weeks in Oct. The service was top notch and friendly and everyone was super helpful. I was sad to leave! It was my first time in Shanghai (or China) so I was very worried about the language barrier, and the hotel staff helped a ton. The airport transfers, executive club and fitness center all added to the overall experience. Additionally, there are a lot of dining options in the hotel itself, when on business and quite busy it was nice to have this as an option. While Shanghai is huge, I also found the Four Seasons to be pretty close to everything I needed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rripaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
We are glad that you enjoyed staying with us. We are honored to be part of your fantastic first China Trip through providing our rooms, airport transfer, execuive club and fitness center to enhance your travelling experience. We will strive to maintain our best service and facilities to exceed guest expectation. Sincerely look forward to welcoming you back. Should you have any questions and concerns, please contact us directly through pr.shg@fourseasons.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

This is a typically excellent Four Seasons Hotel, with excellent rooms, excellent service, and excellent facilities. The location is very near downtown on the Puxi side of the river and in walking distance to most places that people visit and do business in that part of town. The pool is also very nice.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Manager in Training at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
We are so happy that you enjoyed stay with us. Sincerely look forward to welcoming you back. Should you have any questions and concerns, please contact us directly through pr.shg@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Business trip so only used room and breakfast. Both very good. Bed very comfortable. Separate walk-in shower. Very good service.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GAKill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alassio, Italy
Level Contributor
166 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

Competition for best hotel in Shanghai is tough and at amazing levels, and the Four Season has a good shot at it, adding top level service to fine facilities.

After using hotel's limo car transfer from the airport, I was greeted by name at the reception and formalities were over in one minute. In the room, as it was early morning, a freshly squeezed orange juice and a couple of fresh pastries were waiting for me. Great staff performance went on throughout my stay.

Room is not large, with very comfy king size bed and full sized marble bathroom. Top toiletries (L'Occitane etc) and bathrobe.

Great fitness centre with a 20m indoor pool that made me want to resume my swimming, spacious relax areas, and great changing and dressing area, great to drop by if you check out in the morning but actually only leave in the evening like I did. All with the staff support that you'd expect.

Downsides? As I said, room size is not huge, and then the breakfast choice while large and good quality, is not at the level of, for example, the Shanghai Shangri La.

Great value for money in my case thanks to a competitive corporate rate. Definitely one of the places to stay in Shanghai.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberto_NW_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for liking our limo service, room, bathroom and its amenity and fitness center.We will strive to continuously enhance guest dining experience and exceed guest expectation. Sincerely look forward to welcoming you back. Should you have any questions and concerns, please contact us directly through pr.shg@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
#3 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Jing An Shangri-La, West Shanghai
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#6 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Address: 500 Weihai Road, Shanghai 200041, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an , Nanjing West Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#24 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#32 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#46 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#168 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 422
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Four Seasons Shanghai
Shanghai Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing