We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plush towels and bread pudding for breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Ranked #69 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
San Mateo
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Plush towels and bread pudding for breakfast”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

This used to be a St. Regis a few years back. Appears they haven't updated the decor and furnishings since. I think because of this it really isn't the same as a St. Regis if that kind of thing matters to you.

Excellent service, especially during breakfast. I'm a PITA and wanted to sit by the window and they were really accommodating. Good is good and get this: they've got bread pudding with vanilla sauce for breakfast.

The butler service, a holdover from the St. Regis days, is nice but not critical differentiator. Service, again in this respect, is excellent.

Rooms are good sized, well appointed. The view is not bad but if you're coming here for holiday keep in mind it's not on the Bund so you're getting a "city view".

Bathroom is good sized and well appointed. Bath towels are the standout: beach towel sized and plush.

Definitely recommended if you're traveling here on business.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ElGuapo43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liu_Zong, General Manager at The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us such a generous review.I am delighted to acknowledge that you are overall satisefied with your stay at our hotel.


Thank you again for your kindness and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

My best regards,
Liu Zong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    233
    91
    12
    8
See reviews for
57
67
63
324
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I was there on an official trip and stayed for 5 nights. Overall it is a comfortable place to stay but not great. Rooms is very well decorated but the view from my balcony was a bit disappointing. Reception area is good and check-in and Check-out process was smooth.

I did not have food there except for breakfast, which was extremely good. Service by the staff waiting in on us was great.

Location of this place is nice and cabs are available at anytime and the hotel staff helps with it. Tariff was also very affordable.

Overall i was quite satisfied with this Hotel and would visit again, if needed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABHISHEK1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liu_Zong, General Manager at The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us such a generous review.I am delighted to acknowledge that you are overall satisefied with your stay at our hotel.

Here, I would like to share with you that we are in the process of planning renovations.I do hope you could enjoy this after the project is completed.

Thank you again for your kindness and support. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

My best regards,
Liu Zong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

My second stay in this hotel and I'll definitely come back for a third time. Kind staff, good infrastructure and nice restaurant/bar.
It just takes a few minutes to the next subway station from that you can reach the city centre for 3 RMB within minutes.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liu_Zong, General Manager at The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such a generous review. I am delighted to acknowledge that you are satisfied with your stay at our hotel and would like to choose us again.

Thank you again for your kindness and continuous support. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

My best regards,
Liu Zong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

The hotel is about 5 min walk to a nearby subway station so it's convenient for travelers who prefer public transportation. Room is very large and super swanky with mahogany panel and doors. A mix of old world and contemporary design give guess a sense of coziness. Staffs were helpful but not truly friendly as you would expect from a luxury collection hotel! The breakfast at the executive floor was sumptuous and delicious with fresh produce. Next door to the hotel is a truly upscale but reasonable Shanghai cuisine restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathantran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liu_Zong, General Manager at The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for taking time to write us review. I am pleased to know that you are alomost satisfied with your stay at our hotel.

Rebuilding a young and energetic team with an attitude of going extra miles to assist the guests is our number one priority of hotel operation. I thank you for your comments, which serves a good voice of customer and is the expectation that I can personally communciate to my team for a better service delivery.

Once again, thank you for your time and comments. We look forward to having you back again soon.

My best regards,

Liu Zong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

It is indeed a luxury hotel, with the best point being the size of the rooms. I think the only thing that kept me away from a 5 is the hospitality. But I guess after visiting so many hotels in india the bar is high up.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rahul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liu_Zong, General Manager at The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such a generous review. I am delighted to acknowledge that you are satisfied with your stay at our hotel. Your compliment is definitely a big source of motivation to the entire team.

Thank you again for your kindness. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

My best regards,
Liu Zong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel all together 4 days. It was good experience. Good location. Good service.
Comfortable bed. Excellent service. We rooms at executive floor. Executive lounge was comfortable. Breakfast buffet was on 39th floor. Most of the time we were out of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mdo1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liu_Zong, General Manager at The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such a generous review. I am delighted to acknowledge that you are satisfied with your stay at our hotel. Your compliment is definitely a big source of motivation to the entire team.

Thank you again for your kindness and continuous support. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

My best regards,
Liu Zong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed for 8 nights on a business trip to Shanghai. The hotel is great. Older style but big rooms, excellent service and most of the staff speak pretty good english. The only downside is the location which is really out of the way. Taxis for what ever reason quite often don't seem keen to go there so sometimes it takes a bit of an effort to find a cab to go back to the hotel but that is not in anyway the hotels issue. I would definitely stay there again when I next go to Shanghai

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BradCS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liu_Zong, General Manager at The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such a generous review.I am delighted to acknowledge that you are satisfied with your stay at our hotel.It is a great honor for us to be your next stay in Shanghai. Your compliment is definitely a big source of motivation to the entire team.

Thank you again for your kindness and continuous support. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

My best regards,
Liu Zong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
#39 of 5,069 in Shanghai
570 reviews
Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong
#112 of 5,069 in Shanghai
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
World Expo
Sheraton Grand Shanghai Pudong Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai

Property: The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Address: No 889 Dongfang Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200122, China (Formerly The St. Regis Shanghai)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#39 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#45 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#53 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#67 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#113 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Regis Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing