We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Ranked #70 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Second time this year I stayed here and loved it - they even have a butler who brings you tea when you want it. They really understand business travellers.

Great rooms and good facilities - a beautiful hotel and I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyJohn64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio_Autuori, General Manager at The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your very positive review. Your generous compliment is definately a big source of motivation for the entire team.

Our staffs are trying their best to make the Hongta Hotel your home away from home. We cannot wait to welcome you back in the near future! Should you need anything for your next stay, please don’t hesitate to contact me at liu.zong@luxurycollection.com

My best regards,
Liu Zong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    233
    91
    12
    8
See reviews for
57
67
63
324
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed for 1 night, front desk and concierge very good, room service and FnB service staff very average and poor English, terrible service at breakfast oh sorry no service at breakfast. Overall it's a good value for money hotel although in desperate need of renovations...

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank enjoytravel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio_Autuori, Manager at The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am glad that you are very satisfied with our front desk and concierge. Thank you as well for feeding back on the service and English level of the in-room service and breakfast. I will personally take care of this issue and make sure we are back on track with our standards. Concerning the renovation, let me share with you that a full scale phase by phase renovation has been planned and it should take place in the very near future.
We look forward to have the chance to host you again soon and show our improvements. Should there be anything I can do for your next visit to Shanghai, please drop me a mail at liu.zong@luxurycollection.com.

With Regards
Silvio Autuori
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Great location, great service, rooms are very well kept and the staff speaks good english. Overall - highly recommended. The reception area is big with a nice mezannine floor.
View from the room includes some of the tallest skyscrappers of shanghai.
The irish pub nearby is an added advantage.
Breakfast was good too !

Room Tip: make sure you have got the wi-fi right from the butler cause it disconnects quite often.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jk_blr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio_Autuori, Hotel Manager at The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear jk_blr,

Thank you for your very positive review. I am very pleased of receiving such a good comment. It is also a big source of motivation for the entire team to whom I have already transferred this message.

At the Hongta Hotel we are always working hard to ameliorate our service, should your travels bring you back to Shanghai, please don’t doubt to contact me at silvio.autuori@luxurycollection.com so I can personally show our improvements.

Until then, Best Regards,

Silvio Autuori
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our stay was short, only one night as we were stopping in Shanghai between flights. We decided to try this hotel or no other reason than we wanted to try another property (we are traveling throughout China on Starwood points) .

When we arrived, we decided to upgrade to a club floor suite. With the two kids in tow having the extra room was a nice treat. I miss the days of me being platinum and getting some of these perks for free..l

What really impressed was the staff. Within minutes of entering the room, we had fresh fruit, tea and hot chocolate and flowers. Mere minutes later, the non feather bedding I had requested was on the bed. The list goes on and on...in fact, I reall don't think that we have ever had such great service...and definitely not for the dollars spent...

The staff in the lounge were wonderful to us and the kids (Jamie and Matthew missed them when we left!).

In the end, I guess the best compliment I can offer is that if our upcoming stay at the le Meridien is not at the same level, my wife has requested that we spend one more ( or two) nights before we head back to Canada.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjwarbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio_Autuori, Hotel Manager at The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Mr. Mjwarbeck,

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review. I am delighted to acknowledge that our clients enjoy their stay at The Hongta. Rest assured I will cascade your comments to the entire team.

Should your travels bring you back to Shanghai please contact me at silvio.autuori@luxurycollection.com. It will be a pleasure to host you again and provide you with an ameliorated experience.


Best Regards,
Silvio Autuori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I have stayed at the Shanghai Hongta twice on business. It is within the Pudong area and about RMB18/10 mins taxi ride to Lujiazui (ie. CBD of Pudong). Without traffic it is just 35-40mins away from the Pudong airport.

This hotel used to be a St Regis hotel and is now a Starwood Luxury brand hotel. Service is quite good. Don't be fooled by the reception which is a bit local. The rooms are actually quite nice. During my last stay the hotel gave me a free upgrade (see photo).

I think the rate is about HK$1100 per night which is very reasonable in Shanghai's standard. If you have read my recent critical report on Shanghai Four Seasons (which charges RMB2500 per night) you will know why I rate Hongta highly.

I have tried the breakfast at Hongta. Selection is ok and taste is also quite good.

Overall, because of the local name the hotel has it is often underrated but in fact this hotel offers very high quality at its price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio_Autuori, Hotel Manager at The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Jason S,

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review. The entire team is extremely motivated by your kind comments.

Should your travels bring you back to Shanghai please do contact me at silvio.autuori@luxurycollection.com. It will be my pleasure to provide you with even better experience.

Until then, best regards

Silvio Autuori
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We got 4 rooms for the upcoming GSM Asia exhibition. As I understood we got the more upgraded rooms, which more nothing be amazing. the swimming pool is great for late night swims (to obtain the jet lag), and the breakfast will have all you need, both western and local.

The hotel is located on the business area in Shanghai.

Room Tip: check if it's you can upgrade it to the business rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio_Autuori, Hotel Manager at The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Eran K,

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. It is always a pleasure to know that our clients enjoy their stay at The Hongta and that our daily efforts are worthy.

I certainly look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Silvio Autuori
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

overall great experience with regards to room, cleanness, service in general.
Main areas that does are not satisfying are the Breakfast variety for a luxury hotel (it is very basic) and the Jym is extremely tight and you can hit the celling very easily if you do not pay attention

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelivinig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio_Autuori, Hotel Manager at The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear LoveLiving,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is very satisfactory to apprehend that you had an overall great experience. It is always a pleasure to know that our guest enjoy their stay at The Hongta Hotel.

Since your last visit, we have improved our breakfast buffet and we hope that you will have the chance to experience it.

As per the Gym, we are planning a total hotel restoration which will include also the gym area and, thanks to your advise, we will look into a higher ceiling.

The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Silvio Autuori
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
#41 of 5,069 in Shanghai
571 reviews
Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong
#114 of 5,069 in Shanghai
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
World Expo
Sheraton Grand Shanghai Pudong Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai

Property: The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Address: No 889 Dongfang Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200122, China (Formerly The St. Regis Shanghai)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#40 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#45 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#53 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#68 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#108 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Starwood APAC, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Regis Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing