We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Shanghai
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (839)
Filter reviews
839 results
Traveler rating
408
272
118
20
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
408
272
118
20
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews st regis the executive lounge century avenue large bathroom business hotel excellent hotel four seasons fitness center taxi china starwood concierge chinese doorman bund subway marble
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
316 - 321 of 839 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Only had two nights at the St. Regis but was very pleased with the ammenities and the accomodations. Didn't use the restuarant or the bar in the hotel. Hotel's Club floor was very nice, breakfast was a good variety of local and western tastes.

Suite was spacious and housekeeping was outstanding. Came back to the States a few weeks later and was appalled at how lazy we have become when it comes to sweating the details in hotels.

Staff was very friendly and most had very good english skills (which is more than I can say of my Mandarin). Felt comfortable, safe and well taken care of while I was there, could easily have spent longer there.

Drawback, it is a good 10 minute cab ride to the main area of Pudong near the river and the Bund. However it is very close to the SHFE and many other financial and trading companies.

Room tip: If you can afford it or have the points, upgrade to a suite.
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sterlingzinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson_Wei, Manager at The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2011

Dea Sterlingzinc

Thank you for your comments following recent stay at the St Regis Shanghai. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us with in one of the luxurious suite with the friendly and attentive service received from our associates. We also thank you for your comments regarding the breakfast offering at our Executive Lounge. Adding to that, located on 39th floor, our Danieli's Italian Restaurant, also offers authentic Italian flavors with spectacular city views, we believe you'll definitely enjoy it next time when you are back to our hotel. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back for your next trip to Shanghai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Nice hotel. Courteous staff. Good continental breakfast buffet. I was able to watch live cricket (IND v ENG) game (no sound) in my room television during the cricket world cup. Pictures say a 1000 words.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sokaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson_Wei, Manager at The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at the St Regis Shanghai. We were so glad to hear of your outstanding comments regarding the overall service. We very appreciate your comments as this gives us the opportunity to show our delicious food that you truly enjoyed. We have also noted your comments regarding TV channels and would like to inform you that you could watch TV programs all over the world through SATV. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

The Shanghai St Regis is located in Pudong, the newest section of Shanghai, with one tall skyscraper taller than the next. The area, while impressive has none of the historic charm or character.
The hotel itself, is a showpiece. The butler service was fantastic, with caffee latte brpught to our suite in the morning by a well groomed and well mannered butler.
The in house restaurant had excellent breakfasts and varied and very good dinner buffets.
The suite was magnificent with comfortable bed and good closet space.
For a bit of an adventure, go to a restaurant frequented by locals and have the concierge write out dishes that you might like, as you may not find an English speaking waiter.
The western area of Shanghai features many western expats, and very good shopping.
The driving in Shanghai is hair raising, and have your destination written out by the concierge before you get into a taxi.
A magnificent hotel in an exciting city.
Be sure to visit and stroll along the Bund, the older waterfront section of Shanghai.

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank safaridoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson_Wei, Manager at The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you for your comments following your stay at the St Regis Shanghai. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in one of luxurious suites with the friendly and attentive service received from our Associates; it is our pleasure for our guests to enjoy the finer things in life. We also thank you for your comments regarding the breakfast&dinner offering and we can assure you have been addressed by our Executive Chef. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the St Regis Shanghai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed at the St Regis Pre / Post our Chinese/Japan & South Korean cruise and was pleasantly surprised at the high quality this hotel offers. Although the hotel in situation in Padong Business side of town which is on the other side of the river and quite a distance from the main drag, please don't try and walk in to town.. ie The Bund. I would definately recommend a stay here, when you walk into foyer the staff can't do enough to please but not in that over powering way. The foyer is great size and you get a real sense by the open plan layout of the quality and what the hotel offers. Then there is the buffet breakfast, everything & more to choose from & to suit both Western & Asian pallet.... I couldn't imagine anyone ever ever complaining that there wasn't any thing to eat.

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Springermad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson_Wei, Manager at The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you for your most positive feedback regarding your stay. We were very pleased to learn that our food had exceeded your expectations, particularly in regards to your experience in our Saints breakfast buffet and overall service received from our Associates.And,our hotel just has 10-mins walk way to line2/4/6/9 if you choose subway as your transportation way to Puxi.Finally, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Loved our accommodations!!! Let me start by saying that from the moment you are dropped off at the St. Regis, the TLC begins. Attention to detail in every way. The bell men helped us with our luggage, naturally, but also made sure that the fares were just and because we did not have Chinese currency guided us to the front desk to change our USD.
Check in was a breeze and the rooms awesome!!
A wonderful buffet breakfast and an outstanding executive lounge were welcome amenities throughout our three great stays in the past year.
We had superior service with any and every request and received great advice from the front desk and bell staff for everyone of our many questions.
The bell men gave us a card that literally said, return us to the ST. Regis in mandarin and checked off our destinations on that same card to use throughout our day; and wrote in Chinese any additional requests or information we needed.
I loved our stay.
The hotel was beautiful and the people friendly and so very helpful.
I completely felt like home every time we returned and walked through the revolving door.
I cannot wait to return!

Room tip: Put in your requests-close to elevator, high floor & your wishes will be granted!
Date of stay: January 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starrinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson_Wei, Manager at The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you for your most positive feedback regarding your stay. We were very pleased to learn that we exceeded your expectations, particularly in regards to your experience in our Executive Lounge and overall service received from our Associates. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews