We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for business, not sure about private trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel
Ranked #84 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Pecenany, Trencin, Slovakia
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good for business, not sure about private trip”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Bit longer check in as expected, too much paper work at the reception. But as usual in China, always helpful personnel guarding our heavy luggage, and brought to our rooms..
In the room first surprise, charge for internet 90RMB/day, in this kind of hotel I would expect to have it in price included.
Second surprise breakfast not included into the basic price..
Small pool, no sauna, but a decent equipped gym.
I must thank the front desk, I had a speech in their ballroom (that really looks like a ballroom, great,monarchy style) and forgot shaving equipment, got it in 5 minutes..
As spoken earlier, the ballroom is massive, good for impression, but the air conditioning made one of my co-travelers sick after 3 days...was too strong blowing on us. actually had myself to wear a shirt,vest and a jacket.
So good hotel for business, but a bit cold for staying with the family there...

Thanks,
Miroslav

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miroslav_Sagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheraonShanghai_HQ, Online Specialist at Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Miroslav_Sagan,

Thank you for sharing your pleasant stay experience with us at Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel. We are glad to know that our staff and services help to create a comfortable stay for you. Meanwhile we strongly suggest you to visit our brand website: www.sheraton.com/hongqiao. You may find some suitable promotions for your trip. Double Treats, which include breakfast buffet and Internet Services, might a good choice for you. Sincerely welcome you back with us to another pleasurable experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    333
    182
    44
    21
See reviews for
30
41
62
485
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leola, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Had a business in Hongqiao so stayed at this hotel. It is excellent. Hotel staff are friendly all around and speaks English very well. Speedy checked-in and checked-out. Will help you with tourism if you don't mind paying for their services. Room is very clean and very comfortable. Definitely Sheraton quality.

The local scene is nice. It is a "Korean-town" in terms of massive number of Korean Restaurants around the hotel. I've tried a couple of them and they are good. Also, it is not obvious but walk out the front door, turn right, turn right again at the street and walked for 5 minutes and across under the bridge is a hidden but massive mall. Worth your time to visit.

But, keep in mind it is very far from the tourist places in Shanghai such as the Bund, Oriental Pearl, etc. Shanghai is a huge city, Hongqiao is literally on the other end from such places. If your visit is pure tourism, you want want to consider the closer SPG brand hotels. Otherwise, this is a great hotel to stay in.

Why did I not give this hotel the 5th star? It's because I had bad experience with their Japanese restaurant. I was told they don't want to serve me well before their closing time, TWICE. The second time the person even said: "why don't you go eat Chinese instead", horrible. But this one bad experience shouldn't tarnish what is otherwise a great hotel.

Finally, the Chinese buffet might not be worth it as it tailors to Chinese with limited selections.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFoodCritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheraonShanghai_HQ, Online Specialist at Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your pleasant stay experience with us at Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel. We are glad to know that our staff and services help to create a comfortable stay for you. It is our great pleasure and obligation to make you feel "Home" away home. However we are so sorry to hear that you got a bad experience in our Japanese Restaurant. Your feedback has already been delivered to related department and necessary action will be taken to avoid this kind of issue happen again in the future. Again thanks for your highly recommand and we all sincerely welcome your back to enjoy another pleasureable stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Sheraton Hongqiao is very well located on Yanan Road. It has many malls closeby, a metro station within 7-8 mins walking distance and many vegetarian restaurants in the vicinity. The hotel itself lives upto the Sheraton standards - it is extremely clean, very helpful staff and full amenities. The rooms are spacious and the bathroom is also clean and equipped. The rooms have good wifi connection. Overall, a good hotel at a good rate.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the Yanan elevated road for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VSplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheraonShanghai_HQ, Online Specialist at Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Steve D,

Thank you for sharing your pleasant stay experience with us at Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel. We are glad to know that our staff and services help to create a comfortable stay for you. It is our great pleasure and obligation to make you feel "Home" away home. We highly suggest that you may log-in to www.sheraton.com/hongqiao to find more great deals on our official website. Also the perfect location is quite suitable not only for pleasure trip but also for business trip, just like you mentioned already. Again thanks for your highly recommand and we all sincerely welcome your back to enjoy another pleasureable stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I go to this hotel for over 10 years and although it is no longer brand new (there are certainly newer) I always find it comfortable and very functional . The rooms are right and even the bathroom I find right services are all good , except for the Italian restaurant chef that changing very often, does not have a consistent quality. The staff is normally professional , even if ultimanente I saw some newcomers who are a little too insistent on the tips. The concierge is quite active, even if you do not waste that much to give you good advice (often his advice are not really valid) Even the rates are quite good, although in my case have not yet been renewed business conventions . Unfortunately, internet and breakfast are sold at a high price and are almost never included in rates.
The breakfast is buffet in the room is very expensive and does not offer great things often prefer a quick coffee at the front STARBUCK . Beyond the fact that it is in a very central zono not , I recommend it for both business and pleasure, will be the area that I live for many years, but it offers everything you need , without being immersed in the chaos of the city center. Convenient HONGIAO the nearby airport and the new fast train station . I will return.

Room Tip: try to get spy floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverstroveronesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheraonShanghai_HQ, Online Specialist at Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Steve D,

Thank you for sharing your pleasant stay experience with us at Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel. We are glad to know that our staff and services help to create a comfortable stay for you. It is our great pleasure and obligation to make you feel "Home" away home. We highly suggest that you may log-in to www.sheraton.com/hongqiao to find more great deals on our official website. Also the perfect location is quite suitable not only for pleasure trip but also for business trip, just like you mentioned already. Again thanks for your highly recommand and we all sincerely welcome your back to enjoy another pleasureable stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed here on business and found it to be quite acceptable. The staff were always on the case and the choice of eating was good. The room had a bit of an old fashioned feel but I could not complain about the functionality of it - everything worked well and free wifi was included in my rate. It was a convenient location for where I was doing business so I'd certainly use again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CambridgeClimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2013

It's pretty near to the HongQiao Airport of Shanghai, the other one is PuDong (PVG). Staff there were very friendly and they even gave me upgrade since I'm a gold member of SPG hotel chain. I got a room with fantanstic view on the high floors. The room service folk is also kind-hearted. Generally, pretty good stay at this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jing Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheraonShanghai_HQ, Online Specialist at Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your pleasant stay experience with us at Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel. We are glad to know that our staff and services help to create a comfortable stay for you. Sincerely welcome you back with us to another pleasurable experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Excellent service, and the staff are quite pleasant and speak excellent english in most cases. Really convenient for business in the local area. Food is good, and there are also other options for dining in the nearby area. Beds are very good.

Room Tip: The rooms are fairly standard, but good sized. Noise isn't an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheraonShanghai_HQ, Online Specialist at Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your pleasant stay experience with us at Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel. We are glad to know that our staff, services and Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed help to create a comfortable stay for you. Also there are four different Restaurants providing you the best cuisines during your stay. Sincerely welcome you back with us to another pleasurable experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Rainbow Hotel Shanghai
Rainbow Hotel Shanghai
#139 of 5,069 in Shanghai
537 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
#86 of 5,069 in Shanghai
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Shanghai Gubei Garden
Shanghai Gubei Garden
#223 of 5,069 in Shanghai
103 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hong Qiao State Guest Hotel
Hong Qiao State Guest Hotel
#155 of 5,069 in Shanghai
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel

Property: Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel
Address: No.5 Zunyi South Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200336, China (Formerly Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#81 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#85 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#86 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 587
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between downtown Shanghai and Hongqiao International Airport, with easy access to Pudong International Airport via the city-wide freeway system, Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel provides a central location for travelers to meet and connect. The hotel boasts 587 warm and artfully designed guestrooms, including 100 superb suites known for their individually selected design and home ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Shanghai
Shanghai Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing