We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Sheraton!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel
Ranked #84 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
“Top Sheraton!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Great hotel and great staff! This hotel is a pride for the Sheraton Brand. Everything seems to be extremely well organized and presented. Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and I will definetely come back with my first occassion. The hotel is huge, with at least 500 rooms and sometimes can get really crowded everywhere, but the staff manages somehow to keep the operation smooth and swell. My room had a vintage design (seems to be a very common word describing this hotel ! :) ), with everything working properly. To be honest I cannot think of any negative aspect of my stay here, and I will try just to ellaborate the positive things that impressed me.

- the bellboys are doing a great job, they are everywhere, smiling and jumping to assist everybody. Jackson, the concierge is also performing really good, managing to reccommend us some places to move around and eat. ( SH is a very cosmopolitan city with plenty of things to do). Also the location of the hotel is not quite bad, so you can jump in a taxi and be everywhere in less than 15 - 20 min.

-the front office team is simply amazing, moving very fast. The check in was really smooth and I got also a free upgrade ( cool right?). The foreign front office manager (Rado?!) has everything organized, quite hard to surprise him with any demand. Thanks a lot Rado!

- the italian restaurant is delicious, plenty of food in the plate and good wine selection.

I am really looking forward coming back to this establishment, and I hope that the service will stay at the same level as it is now. China sometimes gets really patchy with the service, but in this hotel it is not the case! Good job!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angellino A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheraonShanghai_HQ, Online Specialist at Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your pleasant experiences with us at Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel. We are delighted to know that our staff and services helped in making your visit enjoyable. Meanwhile, we take our guests comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.We look forward your coming back for another pleasurable experience with outstanding services. Life is better when shared!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    333
    182
    44
    21
See reviews for
30
41
62
485
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ningbo, China
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Arrived around 8pm as walk-in guest, go the SPG counter asked for a room and get offered a very good rate (including bkfst) for me and my wife and son. Great lady at reception very nice smile, perfect english and extremly kind. By the way from concierge, reception, restaurant you will only find people ready to help, i had a chinese GPS i immediately find someody to help me to setup dire tions.
Bkfst is fantastic and at the egg station they prepare what do you want.
Rooms (SPG floor) as said early are not new, but also doesn t look bad it is really a vintage effect, but everything working perfectly.
Location is also good, with plenty of shooping, restaurants (laoway lu) and the best carrefour for imported products in Shanghai.
A perfect stay...will definitely return...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyfamilyNingbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheraonShanghai_HQ, Online Specialist at Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the stay and dining here. Your generous encouragement will help us to keep improving our services standard in the future. Sincerely welcome you back to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was clean and service was good. Great restaurants, massage, and shopping within the block. Laundry service returned items same day and in good condition. Breakfast was excellent (huge variety from around the world)

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank IndyandBeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheraonShanghai_HQ, Online Specialist at Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comfortable experiences with us at Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjou the dining and stay here. We will keep improving and sincerely welcome you to stay with us in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed many Sheraton Hotels in the world. Some of them I can barely to remember what the hotel look like. But not this one. Hearing from the staff here, this hotel has a almost twenty-year history. I rather prefer "vintage" to "aged" to describ this hotel. Really a good example standing for sheraton brand. I like the lobby bar because it is near by a garden. You can easily get quite a view when enjoying the tea break in the afternoon. Near to Hongqiao Airport. So it is a good choice if you need to get a early flight in the morning. I will choose this hotel next time I came to Shanghai.

Room Tip: Some side of rooms can enjoy a view of Park. quite nice in good weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony_Lau_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheraonShanghai_HQ, Online Specialist at Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comfortable stay experiences with us at Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel. We are glad you enjoy your time in Lobby Lounge. Your encourgement will keep us improving our services in the future. Sincerely welcome you back to stay with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanjing, China
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Although hotel is old, but let a person is very comfortable to live.They know how to care guest and make us feel warm.Location was convenient to me, close to airport and my customer.have a beautiful view on the highway, In Shanghai this International city, to find a quiet place to relax it is the most laudable in this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanChen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheraonShanghai_HQ, Online Specialist at Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your pleasant experience with us at Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoy your time here. We will keep improving our sevices and sincerely welcome you to come back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Location was convenient to me, close to airport and my customer.
Room was OK but nothing special, you still have a beautiful view on the highway...
Had dinner at the Thai buffet near the lobby. This was not Thai food ! Below average and highly priced at 300 RMB + 15% taxes. Italian on 27th floor was great though. Morning breakfast disappointing and poor service. "Decaf latte" is a request that seems to be beyond standards.
Have stayed in many Sheraton hotels in the world and I am a SPG gold member. You expect western standards when you go to this kind of place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tchrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheraonShanghai_HQ, Online Specialist at Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your stay and dining experiences with us at Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel. We are very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the Thai Food promotion and breakfast at Café Bistro. We will settle the problem as much as we can to create a nice stay and dining experiences for you. Thanks again for your important feedback and sincerely welcome you back to another experience with qualified service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
On The Move
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed a week during a business convention held at Intex Shanghai Convention Hall, which is just next door from the hotel.

The area is not near to most tourist's attractions such as Yu Garden, People's Square or the Bund river bank area, but mainly a business district, so expect to pay RMB 30-50 and 15-25 minutes every time you take a cab to get to somewhere interesting from the hotel - but that's not hotel's fault. If you're a tourist, there are many hotel options in the western side of the city anyway.

However if you're staying on business and working around this area, this is a great hotel making you feel "back home", especially for those of you from US, by means of signs, logos, decors, and overall atmosphere.
Rooms are pretty much the same looking as its US counterparts, and providing good wifi and English TV channels.
Regarding the internet in China, the Facebook, Twitter and Google searches are blocked by the government so if you have a strong will to use them, I strongly recommend to sing up to a VPN service before entering China and use that VPN connecting to access those blocked websites or SNS.

The breakfast buffet becomes quite crowded around 8AM that you'll need to wait in line, so recommended to have if earlier.

Like : I am not usually a fan of hotel food, but the Chinese restaurant on the second floor was very good, that I ended up going three times during the stay, even after discovering local nice restaurants. My Chinese colleagues agreed it was good too so I'm confident on that.

Dislike : It seems that there is a shuttle bus from Shanghai Hongqiao airport (SHA) to the hotel, but unfortunately not from Shanghai Pudong airport (PVG) where I arrived.
The journey from PVG is either 40 minutes and RMB 200 taxi ride, or the Maglev train plus a taxi ride, which is a hassle when traveling with two or more luggages....Really wish the hotel provided a shuttle from PVG.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank super_summilux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheraonShanghai_HQ, Online Specialist at Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your pleasant experience duiring your stay with us. Your detailed feedback is important to us. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed your dining experience at our Chinese Restaurant Emerald Garden. There are also other three different style restaurants in the hotel. They are Japanese Restaurant-Hanano, Italian Restaurant-Giovanni's and Café Bistro. Besides, we are sorry to have kept you waiting for breakfast. We will arrange more helpers during rash hour to improve the breakfast efficiency. The hotel doesn't provide a shuttle transfer to both two airports at moment. we will let you know if we are going to have it in the future. We sincerely welcome you to come back again to our hotel in your next visit to Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Rainbow Hotel Shanghai
Rainbow Hotel Shanghai
#139 of 5,069 in Shanghai
537 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
#86 of 5,069 in Shanghai
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Shanghai Gubei Garden
Shanghai Gubei Garden
#223 of 5,069 in Shanghai
103 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hong Qiao State Guest Hotel
Hong Qiao State Guest Hotel
#155 of 5,069 in Shanghai
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel

Property: Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel
Address: No.5 Zunyi South Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200336, China (Formerly Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#81 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#85 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#86 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 587
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between downtown Shanghai and Hongqiao International Airport, with easy access to Pudong International Airport via the city-wide freeway system, Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel provides a central location for travelers to meet and connect. The hotel boasts 587 warm and artfully designed guestrooms, including 100 superb suites known for their individually selected design and home ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Shanghai
Shanghai Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing