We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chinese hotel with American Name”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel
Ranked #84 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I thought this hotel would be of the Sheraton level of the US. It's not, the rooms are outdated, they charge for poor Internet access in the room, the room temperature cannot be controlled, and the desk staff acts put out if questioned. I was here for two days and could have tolerated most items but not controlling the temperature is very annoying. If the room gets hot you cannot cool it...very disappointing.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank 3CTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LenaZhuang, Manager at Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

"Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We apologize for your uncomfortable experience and agree that there is always room for improvement, thus refurbishment plans are being implemented in phases. "

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (886)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

272 - 278 of 886 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Returning there for the third time since it is well located for what I have to do in Shanghai. It's one hour drive from Pudong Airport and when you have to travel during peak hours could even be more... with a tai costing around 200/250 Huan, they will try more but that is the current level.
Strnge a Hotel like Sheraton will ask money for WiFi, which then does'nt work in an optimal way (kick out of the system at repeated occasions). The breakfast is standard, slightly disappointing...
When on business it serves it's purpose !

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LenaZhuang, Manager at Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

"Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel. Your feedback is important to us. We sincerely apologize for your stay was short from warm and comfortable. We are continually working to improve our service. Look forward to hearing back from you and wish you allow us to let you re-experience.
Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My coworkers recently stayed there as part of our 3 nights business trip to Shanghai. After having a fantastic stay with Westin Ningbo, the Sheraton service paled in comparison. Staff in the Executive Lounge was passive and non helpful. We were not offered any drinks when we sat down and when asked about train schedule, the reply was that it was done by Business Center and hence, beyond the knowledge of their staff. In contrast, Westin Ningbo lounge staff were quick to investgate all possibilities and make suggestions to someone who may not be familiar with the area... which I thought was the whole point of the Exectuive Lounge staff/concerige support!?

The breakfast spread was extensive but it was not very tasty at all. We had two breakfasts and by the second day, I didn't want to eat anything anymore. The Cantonese dinner in the Jade Court on the 2nd floor was delicious, however.

The location of this hotel is quite fantastic. The room was dated. I was upgraded to a suite as a SPG Platinum member but the fixtures in the suite need refreshing. The bed however is surprisingly comfortable and all of us had a great night sleep in our own room.

When I mentioned the service issues to the mananger on duty, he apologized profusely and was quick to offer remedies. However, the indifference is quite palpable and perhaps the staff were overworked or underpaid? Not quite sure.

If you are in town for a quick visit and need to stay near Hongqiao for the airport or train station, then this is a good option. Otherwise, there are plenty other SPG properties in Shanghai (my favorite being Westin) that offer better service and quality.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ueynah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LenaZhuang, Manager at Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us at Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel. Your feedback is important to us. We sincerely apologize for your stay was short from warm and comfortable. We are continually working to improve our service. Look forward to hearing back from you and wish you allow us to let you re-experience. Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Rooms, Service, Reception. Bell desk are in line with a 4 star Hotel.
Tried the buffet it's a balanced kitchen type with several Chinese specialties but also western style food. Although it misses some China flavor.
What I also find quite not at a level of a 4 star is to make you pay for the internet connection
BETTER AVOID THE AIRPORT SHUTTLE SERVICE IT'S 3 TIMES MORE EXPENSIVE THAN A REGULAR TAXI! (780 Y against 250 Y).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LenaZhuang, Manager at Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us at Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel. Your feedback is important to us. Our buffet has an international spread with a mix of Asian offering including Chinese & Japanese. For a more Chinese flavor we invite you visit Emerald Garden on our second floor. Sincerely, Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Again stayed at the Sheraton Shanghai Honqiao on a business trip. Same feelings as always. Check in is slow (even though there are no lines) so staff need training and receptions managers should be aware because there are many desk clerks but only one or two are willing to help guests. This time there were 8 people behind the desks, no one was looking at the guests and only two were helping with check in/out. Among those 8, I could notice that there were two "supervisors" or reception managers.
Besides that, room was clean (stayed in the Club Level) and breakfast in the lounge good as always. I get a feeling that each time I come here the service level of medium staff (reception, lobby, concierge etc...) is a little worst. Please pay attention to that.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FPFTVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LenaZhuang, Online Distribution Assiatant Manager at Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel. Your feedback is important to us. I am sorry to hear of your experience and apologize that there was no follow up on such an important matter. I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly and assist. Please contact Front Office Manager at Frontoffice.01056@sheraton.com so we may discuss this further. Sincerely,
Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Being a regular guest, stay here is just like a routine life. The staff really looked after me through the years. Especially Ted at front office is very humble and helpful.
what i like the most here is the italian restaurant Giovannis is the best in town, very decent italian food.
overall hotel is bit aged, but very tasteful, classic...

Room Tip: as spg plantinum card holder, the most time being upgrade to deluxe suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZX L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LenaZhuang, Online Distribution Assistant Manager at Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your pleasant experience at Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed your dining experience at our venues. We look forward to welcome you back to another pleasurable experience with excellent service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Hotel is very clean. Staff is very nice, but some still struggle with English. Bed is very hard. If you are use to soft top mattress, you will not sleep well here. Rooms can be hot and you can not control the temps. Breakfast is great -- a fantastic selection. Starbucks is across the street in the office building!!!! Plenty of restaurants within walking distance as well.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stl2570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LenaZhuang, Online Distribution Assistant Manager at Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing with us your comments on your recent stay in our hotel. We regret to hear that your stay was not fully satisfied. The concerns you’ve raised have been brought to the attention of related departments. As a number of Sweet Sleeper Beds are aged, they are undergoing a revamp process, this is being carried out in batches due to the large number required. We deeply apologize for any discomfort and inconvenience caused.
Please be reassured that ongoing improvements are being carried out to better serve our guest. We hope we get the chance to welcome you back to Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel and make you feel you belong.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
#90 of 5,146 in Shanghai
757 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel
Waigaoqiao
Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Rainbow Hotel Shanghai
Rainbow Hotel Shanghai
#153 of 5,146 in Shanghai
539 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Shanghai Gubei Garden
Shanghai Gubei Garden
#203 of 5,146 in Shanghai
107 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel

Address: No.5 Zunyi South Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200336, China (Formerly Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#81 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#85 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#109 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $98 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 587
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between downtown Shanghai and Hongqiao International Airport, with easy access to Pudong International Airport via the city-wide freeway system, Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel provides a central location for travelers to meet and connect. The hotel boasts 587 warm and artfully designed guestrooms, including 100 superb suites known for their individually selected design and home ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Shanghai
Shanghai Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing