We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just for biz. Never for pleasure.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel
Ranked #78 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Just for biz. Never for pleasure.”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The hotel is fine if you're in town for business. But if you're in Shanghai for pleasure, there are way better options to stay. Sheratons are not the best hotels in the world, but they're quite consistent delivering comfort and some peace for the hard-battled traveler. This one, is not up to that standard on my opinion.

Firstly, the service is a little too Chinese. Not enough English speaking staff when needed. The quality of the toiletries is okay but not great (the toothpaste looks like fake Colgate). The gym closes at 11pm.

If you have your SPG card, you can get into an exclusive SPG floor. That's cool. At least you can get some points.

Room Tip: SPG card holders get rooms at special floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LenaZhuang, E-Commerce Specialist at Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel. Your feedback is important to us. With regards to your comment on the toothpaste, please be assured that it is real. Our supplier has verified. On going training is being carried out to improve our associates communication skills to serve you better. We look forward to hearing back from you and hope you allow us to let you re-experience Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    336
    182
    44
    21
See reviews for
33
41
64
492
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Have stayed at least a dozen times and always a solid bet. Rooms are more traditional and comfortable. Good eating options near hotel. Subway nearby gives access to city. Best to stay if Minhang, gubei or Honqiao are your working areas.

Try pedestrian street restaurants only 5 minutes away by taxi. Also good indoor market called Hongqiao Pearl market on Hongmei road has all your souvenir and "copy" needs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAWSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Excellent rooms, quite upscale for even a Sheraton.
Cigar bar was wonderful, which ot usual for shanghai.

Sweet sleeper bed was comfy. Room amenities were very nice.
Close to hongqiao airport.

Overall a great night for transit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pvcnco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Great location, just on the corner from a metro station, trough which you are conected to the rest of the city
Hotel is nice , clean , mostly business but you can see also regular tourists

This is the first hotel that I' ve been to where you must use swimming hat in the pool, so if you dont have it you can take it from the hotel but they may be out of them......
Hotel has few restourants but the prices are a little bit high so you may chesk the prices before you go.... the restourant on the top flors has great view during the night and I recomend it

Staff is good but sometime less informed abouth flights and some other things so dont count much on them for some informations

it is easy to catch a cab from there but also have in mind that taxi drivers dont know very good english so they may drive you to a wrong address... always carry with you a card with the address of the hotel or map at least

Internet in the rooms is free and also in the lobby of the hotel, mini bar is not free so you pay for drinks you take....

Room Tip: Ask for the room that looks on the Pudong area from 10th floor and up
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanjaKostic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LenaZhuang, E-Commerce Specialist at Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear JanjaKostic,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your dinner at our Italian Restaurant Giovanni’s located on our 27th floor and found it convenient to go to the metro from our hotel.
Do watch out for more exciting restaurant and room promotions such as packages including free in-room internet.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Life is better when shared!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Excellent staff but the hotel need to make major improvement if they want to compete with Renaissance. The building looks old and wall is dirty. The Internet connection is slow and gets disconnected frequently.

Try Renaissance next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masato T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LenaZhuang, E-Commerce Specialist at Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Masato,
Thank you for sharing with us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are indeed making improvements to our facilities to better serve our guests. On going refurbishments in our guest rooms have affected internet signal in some areas. Our Front Office will pay more attention when arranging rooms during this period.
We apologize any inconvenience caused and look forward to welcoming back from you and wish you allow us to let you re-experience Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed here 4 nights on business. Overall the hotel is a good standard, even if it is looking a little old and in need of a gentle makeover.
The important thing is that rooms are clean and always look inviting for travellers. And then there is the free rubber duck to float in your bath if you are so inclined and the complimentary slippers which were supplied daily. A nice touch is the complimentary newspaper Shanghai Daily in English hung on the outer door knob every morning.
Breakfast is fine without being fabulous, but the lounge food menu and drinks are not cheap. Paid £60 for 2 burger and chips and 3 cold drinks, Coke and local ginger ale.
Overall, very convenient for Shanghaimart expo and tower building, just 5 to 10 minutes leisurely walk away. Just dont be slow crossing the road because generally the cars do not stop for you on pedestrian crossings and if you wait for them to stop you will be there a long long time

Room Tip: Anything in the preferred guest range, above 10th floor. I stayed on 18th floor and no road noise to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Pros:

- Great breakfast buffet
- Attentive service
- Clean rooms and environment
- Accomodating hotel
- Not far away from SHA Airport

Contras:

- Not really centrally located if you often need to go to Shanghai central
- Service could be improved
- Rooms look tired (stayed in a suite) and would certainly need refurbishing
- Internet is not for free

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psychoactive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LenaZhuang, E-Commerce Specialist at Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your breakfast and found it convenient to go to the airport from our hotel.
We agree that there is always room for improvement, thus we conduct regular training for our associates and refurbishment plans are being implemented in phases.
For your next visit, you may want to try our Escape package that includes breakfast, use of internet, upgrade to a primier room and late check out.
We look forward to hearing back from you and wish you allow us to let you re-experience Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
#86 of 5,105 in Shanghai
749 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Rainbow Hotel Shanghai
Rainbow Hotel Shanghai
#147 of 5,105 in Shanghai
537 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waigaoqiao
Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Shanghai Gubei Garden
Shanghai Gubei Garden
#205 of 5,105 in Shanghai
105 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
#56 of 5,105 in Shanghai
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel

Property: Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel
Address: No.5 Zunyi South Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200336, China (Formerly Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#76 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#85 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#87 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 587
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between downtown Shanghai and Hongqiao International Airport, with easy access to Pudong International Airport via the city-wide freeway system, Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel provides a central location for travelers to meet and connect. The hotel boasts 587 warm and artfully designed guestrooms, including 100 superb suites known for their individually selected design and home ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Shanghai
Shanghai Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing