We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, amenities and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Ranked #38 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Westin from 12th April to 14th April for a wedding weekend gateaway in Shanghai. We love our stay with Westin - beautiful and spacious room (the tub especially). Lovely view and the breakfast and happy hour at executive lounge was of high standard.

We ordered room service at a late night (around 2am) and the food was great.

Overall, we are very satisfied with our stay and will recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank g0travellerg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear g0travellerg0,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Bund Center Shanghai and we are honored that you stay with us for your wedding weekend. Both the team and I are thrilled that you’ve given us a full score. Meanwhile, it is also delighted for us to hear that you appreciated our room, Westin Executive Club Lounge and especially the in room dining. We offer private in-room dining 24 hours a day and seven days a week.

g0travellerg0, thank you as well for recommending us to other travelers. Please feel free to stay in contact with us should you feel that we can be of any assistance in making your next stay with us even more memorable. Wishing you safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,074)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

782 - 788 of 2,074 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

I stay at the westin in the bund shanghai for 2 days. Breakfast is great in quality and variety, the room is big, and the location is perfectly in the bund. The staf is well communicate in english. From this hotel to the bund is walking distance in 5 minutes, and to nanjing street is 10 minutes walking.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aariawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear aariawan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay experience with us. We are honored to know that you appreciated the quality and variety of breakfast, room, location and the service we offered. We always try to make each guest feel better than when you arrive!

Please feel free to stay in contact with us should you feel that we can be of any assistance in making your next stay with us even more memorable. Wishing you safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I am staying in Westin for a long period (2-3 months), hence I have quite a bit of comprehensive experience with this hotel. Honestly, for the money that they charge you, this hotel is NOT worth it, for the following reasons:
1. Internet signal is poor, poor, poor. My working team has 5 people staying in this hotel and everyone complains about the poor internet connection. They just can't get it fixed

2. The hotel will ask you to move out of your room if the government comes in and block a floor. They will absolutely move you to entertain the government

3. Everything is extremely expensive, from room service to dry clean...The price tag is just outrageous and probably will break most company's allowance

4. Is it really that close to anything? Right around the hotel are just some shabby small restaurants. The closest commercial street is Nanjing East Road, and that is a 10 minute walk. You will definitely feel isolated here

5. Front desk ladies are beautiful, yes, but their smile is rather fake and if you are demanding, they will not be nice to you...

Nice part about this hotel:
1. Breakfast is decent
2. Housekeeping people do a really good job
3. Gym and swimming pool are nice

Room Tip: If you are staying for a long time, ask for a big room. They do have big rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mei D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Mei,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Bund Center Shanghai and for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay with us. The whole team and I are disappointed to hear that your experience had not been a most fulfilling one and truly apologize for the shortfalls during your stay. Your unsatisfactory WIFI experience has been brought up to the attention of our IT director to investigate. We would also like to apologize for the room move, which was outside of our control.

I would greatly appreciate if you would contact me directly so that we can better meet your requirements and restore your confidence in our service and facilities. I can be reached directly through andreas.trauttmansdorff@westin.com. We hope that the incident will not deter you from remaining our guest. Wishing you safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Another good stay, 3rd in 12 months. The hotel is reliable and in keeping with the Westin experience. Hotel location is convenient for most of the CBD areas. Internet access is was very slow, even by standards in China.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Richard,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Bund Center Shanghai again and for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us. It is delighted for us to hear that you appreciated the Westin experience and the hotel location. However, I am sorry to know your stay experience had not been a most fulfilling one regarding to the WIFI speed. I apologize for the shortfalls you encountered. Your valuable feedback has been brought to the attention of our Director of IT to investigate and make improvements.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and please feel free to let us know if we can be of any assistance to make your next stay better. Wishing you safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

the hotel is well located.

next to that... i can't say much... rooms seem small, hairdryer was a lethal weapon, service and reception was luke warm at best.

no character, businesshotel. if that is what you want: fine!
(drinks in the bar are excessively expensive! )

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SimonDesmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear SimonDesmet,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback on your recent stay. We're delighted to know that you appreciated our location. However, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. Your valuable feedback is important for us to identify areas that require our focus and attention. We do hope to be able to welcome you back in the future and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance to make your next stay better. Wishing you safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Spent 2weeks in the westin hotel, walking distance from pedestrian shopping street and few blocks from the bund.

The rooms are specious (deluxe room) with huge windows and very nice view. Bathrooms are also spacious and full cabinet inside bathroom.

Friendly staff and amazing service in hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank HJ1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear HJ1974,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Bund Center Shanghai and for sharing your feedback regarding your 2 weeks’ stay experience with us. I am very pleased to hear that the location of our hotel worked out well for you. We are also delighted to know you appreciated our friendly staff service as well as the room. In order to give every guest an amazingly restful night of sleep, we have Westin Heavenly Beds and signature Westin White Tea bath amenities and Rainforest shower in every room.

Do please feel free to let us know if we can be of any assistance to make your next stay even better. Wishing you safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

It is really a great hotel and also takes a distinctive situation which near to the Bund and Nanjing road as the same.
The hotel is at the western side of the Bund and you can simply transfer to the eastern side by the boat any time .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Ayman B,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us and for giving us a full score. It is always a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay experience with us. Thanks for appreciating our hotel location. The Westin Bund Center Shanghai is conveniently located in the downtown area, very close to the Bund and Nanjing Road as you mentioned as well as several cultural landmarks and famous Yu Garden.

We do hope to be of service to you again and hope that our concierge team can share more tips with you regarding interesting sights near the hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#37 of 5,112 in Shanghai
2,664 reviews
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#9 of 5,112 in Shanghai
2,009 reviews
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#54 of 5,112 in Shanghai
2,036 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bund Center Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bund Center Shanghai

Address: No.88 Henan Middle Road, Bund Center, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#16 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#38 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#138 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $157 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Bund Center Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai is a city with a colorful past, a fast-paced present and a promising future. It is a fascinating city for every visitor. The Bund is a collection of relics of the past that imbues Shanghai with its vigorous energy today. In the middle of this all is our hotel, The Westin Bund Center, Shanghai.On level one, we have our lobby lounge, Heavenlies, serving fresh coffee and beverages all day, and The Stage offering an all international buffet. Also located on level one is our fresh deli shop, Treats, which features delicious sandwiches and take-away beverages. On level two, we have our sleek bar, Niche, open in evenings, and our Italian restaurant, Prego, open for lunch and dinner. Finally, we have our specialty restaurant, Crystal Garden, on level five serving Chinese, Japanese and Thai specialties. Our Spa & Fitness facilities are spread out over level three and five, combined by a beautiful spiral staircase. For secretarial services, you can visit our business center on level three. We provide guests with complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Bund Center Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Westin Hotel Shanghai
Westin Shanghai
Westin Hotel Bund Center
Shanghai Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing