We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strong business hotel. Love the Heavenly Beds!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Ranked #35 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Strong business hotel. Love the Heavenly Beds!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed in a lovely Executive Suite two nights this month for a business meeting. The suite was gorgeous, with a stunning, spa-like main bathroom (one with a killer view!), artfully-decorated bedroom, and adjacent living room. The decor was soothing and modern and the ambience restful. This was one of the nicest suites I've seen in some time and with the great signature Heavenly Bed, I slept quite well. Westin should be praised for the consistence with which the Heavenly Bed experience is delivered around the world -- always comfortable, plush bedding and pillows. Housekeeping was well done and timely, but respected my "do not disturb" signal when it was on.

The executive lounge was lovely as well. Business services and the meeting spaces our group used for our large meeting were excellent, including the large ballroom. The spaces themselves were well-situated, flexible. Conference support staff and AV crew attentive.

The main drawback for me in this property were the catered meals and buffets served during our event. I found most of the food to be under-seasoned, soupy, often oily or unappealing. Coffee service was a problem -- one which seems quite unecessary. The hotel provided espresso machines for coffee drinks, with tea service on the side. While a nice touch, the coffee machines are very slow, so at breaks our group had long lines waiting for coffee. However, no regular brewed coffee was available. Providing that on the side would speed the service tremendously as a large number of our guests would have preferred regular coffee (and no wait during a short break) to espresso drinks requiring a wait. Snacks and meals alike were largely unappealing, with the exception of lovely large platters of fresh fruits. In contrast to the buffets, the two room service meals I had -- one in the middle of the night (jetlag) and one upon arrival in the early evening -- were both outstanding, hot and flavorful.

Overall a good visit and I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: The Executive Suites are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaOnMyMind_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear GeorgiaOnMyMind_2010,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with our friends on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was renewing and appreciated our conference facilities. Nevertheless, we are disappointed to hear that your experience had not been a most fulfilling one and we sincerely apologize for the shortfall that you have encountered in regard to coffee service and food offerings during your meeting conference at our hotel. Your feedback has been shared with both our F&B and Culinary leaders for improvement and we thank you for highlighting them to us.

We do hope that your travel plans will once again bring you to Shanghai and trust that we will be able to welcome you back to The Westin Bund Center Shanghai. Wishing you safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,106
    734
    151
    38
    26
See reviews for
206
423
128
734
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed here two nights as part of our Viking River cruise. We were on the 25th floor and had a great view of the city. It was beautiful to see the city at night from the room with all the lights of the city on. The buffet was very good. I enjoyed having congee and other dim sum items every day. I had a massage and I will forever be disappointed with massages in the United States now. I felt so pampered! You drink tea before you go in. You shower and them have your feet soaked and massaged. The massage was so relaxing. After the massage you can shower. After the shower I was given more tea and a plate of fruit and vegetables. I loved the rain forest shower and big bathtub.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda85730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Linda85730,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you truly enjoyed your stay with us and trust that you left feeling better than when you arrived. We hope that you will once again make plans to visit Shanghai with your friends and look forward to welcoming you back to renew your experience at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai. Wishing you safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Quite a busy twin towered hotel with intriguing lobby, very well located and within walkable distance to bund. You could get at times rooms facing buildings and blocking view but could also get some interesting views of the bund radio tower that are really awesome to see through from your bath tub or large windows from bed. Breakfast was quite exotic, bar could be bit smoky. Small yet quite functional pool with visible inner sight glass, nice gym.. Most must visit places and restaurants within 20mins driving distance and plenty of taxi's available through the night. With language a barrier you wouldn't find it difficult to spot westin for its nicely lit crown atop. nice conferencing facilitates. Good on business trips. Consistent and good beds at all westin!!!

Room Tip: Check if you could rooms with view of bund and radio tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SenthilRamanathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear SenthilRamanathan,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for sharing your wonderful experience with our friends at Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that your stay with us was renewing and that you appreciate our location and facilities. Do let us know if we can be of any assistance to make your next trip to Shanghai more memorable. Wishing you safe travels. Stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was my 4th time visiting Shanghai and my first time staying at this hotel. The only drawback is that it is a 10 minute walk to the East Nanjing Road Station. We stayed on a business floor with access to the business lounge on the 5th floor. As well as free alchoholic beverages during happy hour, the food options were varied; both hot and cold as well as salad, small sandwiches, icecream, a cheeseboard, and a selection of desserts. Breakfast here was a good alternative to the breakfast buffet on the main floor. The main floor buffet had both a Western buffet and a Chinese buffet.

I used the swimming pool and the gym. This is the first hotel I've stayed at where there was a room dedicated to floor excerise, supplying exercise balls, resistance bands and steps. It also had ballet bars on either side of the room.

We actually stayed at the hotel twice, both at the beginning and end of our trip. Both rooms were well appointed and the beds, called Heavenly beds, really are heavenly to sleep in. There are a variety of English TV channels (I think 6), more than we've had access to in other 5 star hotels in Shanghai, great for when you first arrive and dealing with jetlag.

Shanghai is a walkable city and so, even though the hotel is not close to the subway, it is really interesting to walk through the streets to Nanjing Road; it gives you a different perspective to the city.

I would be more than happy to stay at this hotel again if I am lucky enough to return to Shanghai.

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking if you'renot a smoker. Don't assume you'll automatically be booked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReniePenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear ReniePenie,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us and for giving us a full score. We are delighted that on your 4th visit to the city, you have chosen to stay with us and more importantly, your stay was renewing and memorable. We also thank you for recommending us to others.

We do hope that your travel plans will once again bring you to Shanghai and trust that we will be able to welcome you back to The Westin Bund Center Shanghai. Wishing you safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center, Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The lobby and reception were bright with interesting sculpture/art and floral displays- what one expects from a Westin. Staff very helpful. Although not in a top level room and we could not see the bund, but got an interesting roof top view of the surounding area. Rooms were spacious and comfortable - made you not want to leave. Bathroom spa atmosphere I would dream to have at home- huge tub, rain forest shower, marble and glass and reception area in room, robes and slippers creat the luxury.
Upon entering room movement triggered lighing feature wall allowed you time to insert door key into lighting slot and get organized safely. Large area to park and open luggage.
Each level internal corridors overlook the lobby, piano bar and edge of the dining area. We stayed there as part of a Viking River Cruise land package and it was a nice place end to the trip. Only a short walk to the old town centre shopping or to the Bund (river front walk), Excellent breakfast and evening buffets, extensive choice of western and mixed Asian foods, good service. Eg., individual attention was provided when a member of our party with egg allergy and a vegetarian cnsulted the waiter. A Manager attended immediately, had individual meal options prepared and offered to make an individual desert option for the end of the meal. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for high level room towards the Bund if you want to look down the river. We were in a corner and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjm560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear pjm560,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. The team and I are delighted to read your wonderful review and for giving us a full score.

We are glad that your stay with us was renewing and truly appreciate you for recommending us to others. We do hope that you will again visit Shanghai with your friends and look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Bund Center Shanghai. Wishing you safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center, Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed in the corner room on the 24th floor, which offered a good view of the Bund. The bathroom tub also faces the Bund and I would have took a dip and soak in the view if not for the fact that the Crown Tower is just adjacent to my building, and I was informed by the front desk that it is possible for people in the Crown Tower to see into my room.

Room is well-appointed and quality as expected from a Westin hotel. There is a separate front desk at the lobby of my tower and it sure helped to beat the line in the main lobby. Sound proofing was a major concern for me as I could hear my neighbors doing their stuffs from my room.

Walking to the Bund took me only 5-10 mins, and I practically took only 30 mins to walk from the congluence of Huangpu River and Suzhou Creek back to my hotel. The only drawback of the location was that the nearest subway station is 2 major junctions away.

Room Tip: Get a high floor corner room but not the corner room that is adjacent to the Crown Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollandVBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear HollandVBoy,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with our friends on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was renewing and that you enjoyed our proximity to the bund. Nevertheless, we are disappointed to hear that your experience had not been a most fulfilling one and we sincerely apologize for the shortfall that you have encountered in regard to soundproofing. We will discuss with our Engineering team to see how we can further improve the soundproofing of our rooms.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you again at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai. Safe travels to you and stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan, Honduras
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Nice architecturally designed hotel with great views. Visited in April as part of a tour. Centrally located in downtown Shanghai just blocks from the Bund. I have been to Shanghai before and like to stay in this area. Spacious and clean rooms with plush beds. The staff is very helpful and tended to any of our needs. Except for the staff in The Stage Buffet.
At the time of our visit The Stage buffet was not up to the standards for this hotel. The lack of flavor and variety of the dishes was poor. The breakfast eggs were awful. Very difficult to get coffee or refills. Members of our party had to ask multiple people and times to obtain coffee. Being a frequent traveler I do not expect much. In reading more recent reviews it looks like The Stage buffet has improved. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1AdventureTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear 1AdventureTraveler,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience with our friends on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you appreciate our facilities, spacious rooms and location. We are, however, disappointed to hear that your experience had not been a most fulfilling one and we sincerely apologize for the shortfall that you have experienced at The Stage. Since your last visit in April, we have indeed implemented several initiatives to improve our service level and buffet offering at the restaurant.

1AdventureTraveler, we are glad to know that despite your experience at The Stage, you will be staying with us again. If there is anything we can do to make it even better, please do not hesitate to email us. Wishing you safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center ShanghaiThe Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#38 of 5,105 in Shanghai
2,621 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,976 reviews
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#55 of 5,105 in Shanghai
2,010 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bund Center Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bund Center Shanghai

Property: The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Address: No.88 Henan Middle Road, Bund Center, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#16 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#25 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#35 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#153 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Bund Center Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai is a city with a colorful past, a fast-paced present and a promising future. It is a fascinating city for every visitor. The Bund is a collection of relics of the past that imbues Shanghai with its vigorous energy today. In the middle of this all is our hotel, The Westin Bund Center, Shanghai.On level one, we have our lobby lounge, Heavenlies, serving fresh coffee and beverages all day, and The Stage offering an all international buffet. Also located on level one is our fresh deli shop, Treats, which features delicious sandwiches and take-away beverages. On level two, we have our sleek bar, Niche, open in evenings, and our Italian restaurant, Prego, open for lunch and dinner. Finally, we have our specialty restaurant, Crystal Garden, on level five serving Chinese, Japanese and Thai specialties. Our Spa & Fitness facilities are spread out over level three and five, combined by a beautiful spiral staircase. For secretarial services, you can visit our business center on level three. We provide guests with complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Bund Center Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Westin Hotel Shanghai
Westin Shanghai
Westin Hotel Bund Center
Shanghai Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing