We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location on The Bund”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Ranked #33 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
268 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Great Location on The Bund”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Visited on business in March. Location of the hotel is great only a short walk to the pedestrian mall and literally across the road from the bund and the river recreation areas. The hotel service was very god and although only had breakfast here and snack late on the first night the food was good. Unfortunately left a credit card on check out and did not have time to return from the airport to retrieve it. The staff obligingly destroyed the card at my request though had 2 opportunities to return it before my transport to the airport. Would recommend this hotel for business and leisure travellers.

Room Tip: Most rooms seem to provide a good outlook but would recommend the club wing for better views across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LengraMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear LengraMelbourne,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. We are glad that your stay with us was renewing and memorable. Thank you for recommending us to others too. We do hope to be of service to you again and look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Bund Center Shanghai. Safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center, Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,088
    718
    150
    38
    25
See reviews for
200
413
126
718
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

New hotel, impeccable amenities, clean room, suite layout. There isn't much to add to the other positive reviews. Our breakfast was included in our package and this hotel's restaurant was also great. It has a large varied offering and anything from standard Chinese to standard Western was available.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Scott M,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you truly enjoyed our hotel facilities, breakfast offerings and room. We hope that you will once again make plans to visit Shanghai with your friends and look forward to welcoming you back to renew your experience at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai. Wishing you safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I got an excellent room -- nice suite-style layout. Bathroom area was clean, spacious, overall very nice. Bed was way comfortable ... knocked out peacefully night-after-night during my stay there.

Great location as well, easy access to the Bund. If you're into night snacking, there's lots to eat along Guangdong Lu and thereabouts at night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Lillian W,

Many thanks for choosing to stay with us at The Westin Bund Center and for having taken the time to write about our hotel. We are delighted that you liked our room and location. Please feel free to stay in contact with us via email or you may wish to subscribe to our mailing list to receive our monthly e-news on our website.

We hope that you will return to renew your experience at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai. Until then, have a wonderful summer and stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center, Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Only a couple blocks from the Bund, this newish hotel is well located, only a few blocks from Nanjing Road and the subway stop. It is a newish hotel, so very typically Westin in quality and service. Shanghai has many terrific hotels, but this can be a good choice in terms of price. I would not recommend staying in Pudong unless you have business there as it is quite isolated and sterile.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanbill16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear alanbill16,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with our friends on TripAdvisor. The team and I are delighted to read your review and for giving us a full score. We are glad that your stay with us was renewing.

We do hope to be of service to you again and to welcome you back to The Westin Bund Center Shanghai. Wishing you and yours safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center, Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We have spent 9 nights here this month, in two different rooms. We have been well looked after and very comfortable in this excellent 5 star hotel. Most staff have some English, and all staff have been most helpful and attentive. Taxis are cheap and plentiful in Shanghai, and the concierge and his staff are always there to see you into your taxi and to give directions to the driver in Chinese. The huge breakfast buffet is eagerly anticipated each morning. We have nothing but praise for this great hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Barbara C,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you truly enjoyed our hotel facilities, breakfast offerings and service. We hope that you will once again make plans to visit Shanghai with your friends and look forward to welcoming you back to renew your experience at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai. Wishing you safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My experience at the Westin Bund was of a higher quality than I expected. The factors that accounted for this were:
1. The hotel aesthetics and location
2. The friendliness and proficiency of the staff
3. Diverse cuisine choices: Asian, Italian, European, and American
The hotel is breathtaking in its aesthetics - restaurants, exercise rooms, swimming pool-what more could one ask. To my surprise, most of the tourist attractions were within a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel. This saved me many RMB. The rooms were tended to every day with spotless results.
We purchased an option for the breakfast buffet. It was a good investment. If you decide on this, please check out Ms. Svetlana Persova; She is a veritable fount of knowledge on customs in China and places of interest in Shanghai. She was one, among a number, of the assistant managers that were very helpful in every respect. I recommend the Westin Bund highly.
Charles Anderson
New Jersey, USA

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Charles A,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. The team and I are both humbled and delighted to read your wonderful review and for giving us a full score. We are glad that your stay with us was renewing and truly appreciate you for recommending us to others. I will be sharing your review with the team especially with Lana as I am sure that she will be happy to know she has made your stay even more memorable.

We do hope to be of service to you again and look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Bund Center Shanghai. Safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center, Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
127 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

A short walk from the iconic Bund, the Westin is a good choice for both leisure and business travellers visiting Shanghai. You can walk to the Bund, Nanjing East Road walking street and Yuyuan market.

For the weary walkers, there are also many foot reflexology outlets nearby. Rooms in the north block are probably better than the south block.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dangoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Dangoh,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience with our friends on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you liked our location and find it easily accessible. We hope that your travels will once again bring you back to Shanghai and look forward to welcoming you back at The Westin Bund Center. We wish you safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#36 of 5,059 in Shanghai
2,540 reviews
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,901 reviews
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bund Center Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bund Center Shanghai

Property: The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Address: No.88 Henan Middle Road, Bund Center, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#16 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#25 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#33 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#147 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Bund Center Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai is a city with a colorful past, a fast-paced present and a promising future. It is a fascinating city for every visitor. The Bund is a collection of relics of the past that imbues Shanghai with its vigorous energy today. In the middle of this all is our hotel, The Westin Bund Center, Shanghai.On level one, we have our lobby lounge, Heavenlies, serving fresh coffee and beverages all day, and The Stage offering an all international buffet. Also located on level one is our fresh deli shop, Treats, which features delicious sandwiches and take-away beverages. On level two, we have our sleek bar, Niche, open in evenings, and our Italian restaurant, Prego, open for lunch and dinner. Finally, we have our specialty restaurant, Crystal Garden, on level five serving Chinese, Japanese and Thai specialties. Our Spa & Fitness facilities are spread out over level three and five, combined by a beautiful spiral staircase. For secretarial services, you can visit our business center on level three. We provide guests with complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Bund Center Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Westin Hotel Shanghai
Westin Shanghai
Westin Hotel Bund Center
Shanghai Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing