We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“All you need in Shanghai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Bund Center Shanghai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Ranked #24 of 4,457 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“All you need in Shanghai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The Westin Heavenly bed is hard to beat. Nice location hear the Bund, good or morning runs and excellent dining at No. 3, 5 and 18. Bathroom is well equiped with large shower head with matching water quantity. Good upgrade policy for SPG Gold card holders. Free wifi with reasonable speed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    989
    657
    136
    32
    19
See reviews for
178
375
112
633
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just came back from my business trip and had the opportunity to stay in this fabulous property for 3 nights. Everything from service to room facilities to breakfast quality to workout facilities, this hotel is truly a 5 star quality. Staff speaks good English and is always there to assist you. Breakfast spread was average but really yummy. Only disappoint was the indoor pool where more that 3 people just cannot swim. Fitness center had all the tools and there is one dedicated yoga room too. One advice t hotel would be to add more english tv channels. Bathroom was as big as the bedroom. From location perspective, I will consider this whenever I am in shanghai next

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank qb76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We relly liked the westin in shangahi. From the time we walked into the lobby we felt comfortable. It has a good feeling. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly. The location is only a few blocks from the bund. We enjoyed our stay and would go back definitely. Even the italian restaurant there is good. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I jumped from another hotel to the westin and spent the weekend there. Love the hotel location where I can walk to nanjin road, yu garden, the bund etc. while another hotel i stayed before is quite far out of the bund area and taxi drivers don't know the address and it's frustrating. Staff at the westin were great, comparing to other 5-star hotels in china, especially concierge staff. I understand that the hotel is quite old, like 10 more years old? so the room and the hotel decor quite confuse me. Overall, it was a very good stay and will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Donk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
173 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We just stayed there and were there three years ago. We will always stay there when we are in Shanghai. It combines superbly the typical Westin style with a Chinese flavour and the result is much better than a normal Westin, we love the place.

We are SPG Platinum and both times they gave us Junior suit and they are perfect, space to work and space to sleep and the possibility to separate the two. Hotel is beautiful and the staff wonderful. Nothing is too much trouble, one of our favourite hotels in the world. Well located for the Bazar and gardens.

Club is wonderful and great food. You have to see the jelly fish tank!!

Spar is also wonderful, one of the best massages and ambience.

we can not wait to return.

Stay there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AandM5864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were tired of relatively small rooms being provided to us on the arranged tour so we made it a standard practice to check the room before agreeing to it. In this hotel that practice really paid off since the upgraded room at a mere $40 per day more was almost a suite with separate lounge, bedroom and bathroom. Clean with very good service and nice food in the restaurants. Close to everything. Well woth the money.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KenGAtOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We were at the end of China trip and after our experiences with some six Chinese hotels we asked to see our room before checking in. The room that had been booked for us by our travel agent was not large enough to accommodate us (hubby and I) and our especially large luggage comfortably. For a small additional fee we were upgraded to a mini-suite which was very, very nice. The views were very pleasant. The foyer in this hotel is immense and was a very pleasant environment for a quiet glass of wine and a chat about our day. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 4,457 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
South Bund
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bund Center Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bund Center Shanghai

Property: The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Address: Bund Centre NO. 88 Henan Middle Rd, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#16 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#24 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#119 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Bund Center Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai is a city with a colorful past, a fast-paced present and a promising future. It is a fascinating city for every visitor. The Bund is a collection of relics of the past that imbues Shanghai with its vigorous energy today. In the middle of this all is our hotel, The Westin Bund Center, Shanghai.On level one, we have our lobby lounge, Heavenlies, serving fresh coffee and beverages all day, and The Stage offering an all international buffet. Also located on level one is our fresh deli shop, Treats, which features delicious sandwiches and take-away beverages. On level two, we have our sleek bar, Niche, open in evenings, and our Italian restaurant, Prego, open for lunch and dinner. Finally, we have our specialty restaurant, Crystal Garden, on level five serving Chinese, Japanese and Thai specialties. Our Spa & Fitness facilities are spread out over level three and five, combined by a beautiful spiral staircase. For secretarial services, you can visit our business center on level three. We provide guests with complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Westin Bund Center Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Westin Hotel Shanghai
Westin Shanghai
Westin Hotel Bund Center
Shanghai Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing