We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, fantastic service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Ranked #45 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I stayed at the Westin Bund for a business trip and had a fantastic stay. The rooms are very clean, tastefully designed, and have a very modern design. The bathrooms are beautiful and and equipped with soaker tubs, a nice touch. I loved the accomodations.
I was particularly impressed by the high level of service that I received at this hotel. I have severe allergies to certain foods, and the management of the hotel were extremely helpful in ensuring that I could eat safely at the hotel. They went well above and beyond my expectations - they advised the restaurant chefs prior to my arrival. The associate director of food/beverage greeted me upon arrival and provided his cell number and availability to me at any time for any food or allergy concerns/needs that I had. I had a few encounters with restaurant staff that did not speak english fluently during muy stay, but I was able to navigate any issues by contacting the restaurant managers on duty.
I also received impeccable service from the concierge, who were extremely helpful with directions and recommendations. They even helped me communicate about alterations with a clothing seamstress/tailor from whom I had purchased some apparel from.
I was blown away by the service and wonderful, comfortable stay I had at this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,095)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,241 - 1,247 of 2,096 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2011

Beautiful accommodations just 2 blocks - easy walk - to the bund. Plenty of space in the Deluxe room, with King, and deep bath tub with separate shower and separate toilet stall. Excellent on-site eateries including a deli, dim sum weekend brunch buffet, Italian restaurant, snazzy lobby bar with pian music, and much much more. Has to be THE best breakfast buffet I've experienced. Some of the highlights: traditional Chinese foods which are not greasy at all, or traditional Western faire which was very fresh, great assortment of breads, delicious French pastries, serve yourself from the fresh-squeezed orange juice machine, plenty of fresh cut melons and fruits. The only down-side is the staff is not up to speed on tour information -- it's best you come prepared with info from the web.

Room Tip: use spg.com if you are a member, or Expedia had great deals too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripper1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

A beautiful hotel. Typical dark wood colours in the rooms. Very clean with all the trimmings. Breakfast is fantastic and staff are very good. Some language barrier issues just like everywhere, but staff seem happy to be working here.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelgypsyisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

After spending a few nights at the Sheraton in HK my next destination was the Westin in Shanghai, I chose the Westin to keep within the Starwood group as I'm an SPG Gold Member.

I made the booking at the last minute and got a pretty good rate and the check-in was easy.

The room was quite small, smaller than the Sheraton, and the cleanliness was to a lower standard, particularly the bathroom which had some water in the bath tub and holes in the bath robe. There also wasn't enough toilet paper and I had to call housekeeping.

The bed was very very comfortable!

Overall not to the standard I'd expect from a Westin.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TreyZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Westin is well located near the Bund with great rooms – large bathtub, good size lounge area and the Westin heavenly bed. Views toward the Bund from some rooms. There is a Starbucks in the lobby of the office building, connected to the hotel –very handy. Staff speak good English and are very helpful with taxis.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thatmarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

This is a superb property located right at the heart of Shanghai City Center. 3 minutes walk and you are at the bund. 5 minutes walk in another direction and you are at Nanjing Road. 5-10 minutes walk will take you to two different MRT stations. You can even take a leisure walk (20 minutes or so) to Yu Yuan Garden.

Take a club room (but i think other rooms are pretty good as well). Mine was a corner room so you have a L shape window giving you a wider city view. The bathroom is enormous and relaxing at the bathtub enjoying the day or night scene is nice. However, there is really nothing much to shout about on the city view. The rooms are of westin standard, nothing short. Great breakfast at the ground floor but the choices are rather limited at the Club Lounge. Evening cocktails at the Club Lounge is very good, and the food is good enough even for dinner.

I find service standards in most establishments in Shanghai to be mediocre at best, and same goes to this hotel. Check in was fast, but service was cold.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreatGTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Great room, good location, really good club. Brunch is impressive.

Room Tip: Never let the bellman go until you are satisfied with your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsavdsav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#37 of 5,146 in Shanghai
2,701 reviews
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#8 of 5,146 in Shanghai
2,051 reviews
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#53 of 5,146 in Shanghai
2,078 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bund Center Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bund Center Shanghai

Address: No.88 Henan Middle Road, Bund Center, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#16 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#45 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#147 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $155 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Bund Center Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai is a city with a colorful past, a fast-paced present and a promising future. It is a fascinating city for every visitor. The Bund is a collection of relics of the past that imbues Shanghai with its vigorous energy today. In the middle of this all is our hotel, The Westin Bund Center, Shanghai.On level one, we have our lobby lounge, Heavenlies, serving fresh coffee and beverages all day, and The Stage offering an all international buffet. Also located on level one is our fresh deli shop, Treats, which features delicious sandwiches and take-away beverages. On level two, we have our sleek bar, Niche, open in evenings, and our Italian restaurant, Prego, open for lunch and dinner. Finally, we have our specialty restaurant, Crystal Garden, on level five serving Chinese, Japanese and Thai specialties. Our Spa & Fitness facilities are spread out over level three and five, combined by a beautiful spiral staircase. For secretarial services, you can visit our business center on level three. We provide guests with complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Bund Center Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Westin Hotel Shanghai
Westin Shanghai
Westin Hotel Bund Center
Shanghai Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing