We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent location, great service, but small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #42 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a great hotel. The location is a little far from the Bund, Nanjing road, and Xintiandi, but is still right in the middle Shanghai and within walking distance of plenty of restaurants, stores. A Shanghai underground station is less than a block away.

The service was excellent, especially the car/taxi service; the staff took time to find a driver who spoke some English so that his basic English and my basic Mandarin could combine to get me where I was going on time.

As a Japanese hotel chain, Okura hotels do of course have small rooms. Overall, though, it's a great hotel. I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gambaru_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ypwang, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for choosing Okura Garden Hotel(shanghai), your evaluation and advice are very important to our hotel. We do hope that you can choose our hotel again, we will extend our sincere and warm welcome as always.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (930)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 930 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

I have never written a review before even though i've been a member for years. What prompted the review was the excellent service provided by the staff, especially by Mr. Feng.

At check -in, i had realized that I left my wallet in the cab. Mr. Feng went above and beyond his call of duty to help track it for me. Originally i was told that it's virtually impossible to recover it since the driver never gave me a receipt. Mr. Feng then proceed to review the image recorded by the camera out front and was able to make out the license plate number and cab company's name. He didnt just stop there as he went ahead to call the cab company for me to get me in touch with the driver. luckily i was able to recover my wallet thanks to Mr. Feng's for being proactive.

This is my third stay at the Okura and I have always found it to be clean and welcoming. Bathroom is nice, no leaks. One of the very few hotel that have the toilet seat warmer.

Garden path is nice for jogging, though short. but there are other parks nearby for the avid joggers.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wheezy-pie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ypwang, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for choosing Okura Garden Hotel (shanghai), our hotel is always committed to offer the best accommodation, best cuisine and best service to our guest. Your compliment is the best reward of our hard work. We do hope you can choose our hotel again during your next visit to Shanghai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Dripping toilets, tiny beds, the staff behind the counter are just plain rude and arrogant. Standard room here means a small single bed, be careful of this when you book. Reception staff offer the chance to upgrade to a suite if you want a double bed. And now there's a gang of people in the room at past midnight trying to fix the toilet while I'd like to get some sleep. Never again !

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank IrishmanInAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ypwang, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for choosing Okura Garden Hotel (shanghai), we are very sorry about the inconvenience that we have brought to you during your stay; we will try our best to improve our service in the future. We do hope you can choose our hotel again during your next visit to Shanghai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights over last weekend.

Hotel is located a 3mins walk from the main shopping belt as you can see from other reviewers.

Check-in on last Thurs at 0900 was a little slow (must be a new employee) but things went like clockwork after that !! I did the check-in for 3 rooms.

My other guest checked the next day at 0900 and they did not have a room until 4 in the afternoon.

Rooms above 21st floor are accorded 5% discount at the hotel's shopping arcade.

Our room was very clean - housekeeping service was excellent.

TV was confusing as you need to go to the main menu to select either the chinese or english channels.

Love the shower - pressure was good and temp control was great.

The pillows were of the right "softness".

Breakfast - they served the best "wanton mee soup (without the wanton !!) North of Hong Kong !! The noodles were so crunchy - our party consisted of a Korean, an Indonesia and 4 Singaporeans + we all loved it. Each of us have several bowls each morning.

Lots of other food which should please everyone.

The Concierge recommended us the Congen Massage (around the corner - 3rd Floor in the shopping complex above Gucci). If you like a bone crunching time - ask for Number 10 (She is a 5 star masseur) - she will soothe away all your aches ! Our party of 4 all agreed their service was impeccable. Very clean place.

I forgot and left my watch on the table after the massage + they deliver it back to me within the hour. It may be a cheap Casio watch but we were greatly impressed they took the effort to please.

Bell Service was bang-on-time (I checked out at 05:15 and requested for bell service at 05:10) and they had a security on the ground time next to the guest lift throughout the night to ensure guests safety.

Check-out service was over in 3 minutes (this time I did the check-out for all 4 rooms).

Management's attention to details is very evident. Great job.

Highly Recommended !!!

Room Tip: Garden Room's view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank titaniumbronze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Location was great, next to the best shopping area in shanghai. The room was clean and nice, a traditional 5 star hotel (not those luxury kind). The service and attitude from front desk wasn't great, but ok....

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shanghaisingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ypwang, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for choosing Okura Garden Hotel (shanghai). About what you have mentioned on the website, we will try our best to offer the best service in the future. Thank you again for your valuable advice to our hotel. We do expect to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai is highly recommendable. It is comfortable by all means. The service is in top. The view over shanghai is fantastic. In the hotel there are excellent restaurants. The atmosphere is nice and quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ypwang, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for choosing Okura Garden Hotel (shanghai), our hotel is always committed to offer the best accommodation, best cuisine and best service to our guest. Your compliment is the best reward of our hard work. We do hope you can choose our hotel again during your next visit to Shanghai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The Okura Garden Hotel is a lovely hotel overlooking a beautiful garden and in a great location in Shanghai. The property is beautifully maintained, comfortable, and the multiple restaurants provide a wide variety and very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjamnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Jin Jiang Tower Hotel
Jin Jiang Tower Hotel
#135 of 5,159 in Shanghai
604 reviews
Former French Concession
Jin Jiang Hotel
Jin Jiang Hotel
#107 of 5,159 in Shanghai
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#35 of 5,159 in Shanghai
2,752 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel
Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel
#85 of 5,159 in Shanghai
892 reviews
Zhongshan Park
Hotel Nikko Shanghai
Hotel Nikko Shanghai
#1,124 of 5,159 in Shanghai
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.58 Maoming South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200020, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Huaihai Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#42 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#47 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#51 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#109 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $130 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 485
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Garden Shanghai
Shanghai Okura Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing