We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #42 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights over last weekend.

Hotel is located a 3mins walk from the main shopping belt as you can see from other reviewers.

Check-in on last Thurs at 0900 was a little slow (must be a new employee) but things went like clockwork after that !! I did the check-in for 3 rooms.

My other guest checked the next day at 0900 and they did not have a room until 4 in the afternoon.

Rooms above 21st floor are accorded 5% discount at the hotel's shopping arcade.

Our room was very clean - housekeeping service was excellent.

TV was confusing as you need to go to the main menu to select either the chinese or english channels.

Love the shower - pressure was good and temp control was great.

The pillows were of the right "softness".

Breakfast - they served the best "wanton mee soup (without the wanton !!) North of Hong Kong !! The noodles were so crunchy - our party consisted of a Korean, an Indonesia and 4 Singaporeans + we all loved it. Each of us have several bowls each morning.

Lots of other food which should please everyone.

The Concierge recommended us the Congen Massage (around the corner - 3rd Floor in the shopping complex above Gucci). If you like a bone crunching time - ask for Number 10 (She is a 5 star masseur) - she will soothe away all your aches ! Our party of 4 all agreed their service was impeccable. Very clean place.

I forgot and left my watch on the table after the massage + they deliver it back to me within the hour. It may be a cheap Casio watch but we were greatly impressed they took the effort to please.

Bell Service was bang-on-time (I checked out at 05:15 and requested for bell service at 05:10) and they had a security on the ground time next to the guest lift throughout the night to ensure guests safety.

Check-out service was over in 3 minutes (this time I did the check-out for all 4 rooms).

Management's attention to details is very evident. Great job.

Highly Recommended !!!

Room Tip: Garden Room's view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank titaniumbronze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (927)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 165 of 927 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

Location was great, next to the best shopping area in shanghai. The room was clean and nice, a traditional 5 star hotel (not those luxury kind). The service and attitude from front desk wasn't great, but ok....

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shanghaisingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ypwang, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for choosing Okura Garden Hotel (shanghai). About what you have mentioned on the website, we will try our best to offer the best service in the future. Thank you again for your valuable advice to our hotel. We do expect to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai is highly recommendable. It is comfortable by all means. The service is in top. The view over shanghai is fantastic. In the hotel there are excellent restaurants. The atmosphere is nice and quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ypwang, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for choosing Okura Garden Hotel (shanghai), our hotel is always committed to offer the best accommodation, best cuisine and best service to our guest. Your compliment is the best reward of our hard work. We do hope you can choose our hotel again during your next visit to Shanghai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The Okura Garden Hotel is a lovely hotel overlooking a beautiful garden and in a great location in Shanghai. The property is beautifully maintained, comfortable, and the multiple restaurants provide a wide variety and very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjamnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The hotel is in a great location amidst impressive gardens. When I arrived early in the morning they had no record of my early check-in and initially told me I would have to wait until at least 10:00 as they were full. Fortunately though I had printed out my confirmation which clearly stated early check-in, and miraculously within 5 minutes they were able to check me in and provide an upgrade - so plus points for that. The provided room was very large and very clean, and the air conditioning/heating actually worked - a big plus compared to other hotels in Shanghai. The bathroom was also large and clean, although there was a slight smell of drains that permeated the space. The biggest downside with the room (is the bed, which is rock hard and very uncomfortable. The other negative of my stay is the quality of the room service food, absolutely the worst food I have tasted - generally swimming in oil, cold and served on greasy plates complete with finger marks, as well as being hugely overpriced.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seanyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed here for the first time this week, centrally located, good service and immaculate rooms . Don't miss the sky bar , has amazing views of the city . Downside is no Wifi in the rooms which I found ridiculous , had to go down to the lobby to check mails etc which wasn't really good . Would have expected this as standard as cant imagine a hotel not to have wifi in rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ravi21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

When I come Shanghai which I do 4-5 times a year, I usually stay in Jing Jiang Hotel. Okura Garden Hotel is right across the street.  I like the Jing Jiang a lot. You can check my review about it.
This time I decided to try the more expensive Garden. The experience is not good.
The hotel lobby is a beautiful old building, used to be the French Club. Unfortunately the renovation of inside is unimpressive and tasteless. The furniture quality of lobby/reception area is low and uncomfortable, certainly not meet its 5 star ranking.
A three story open cafe behind lobby looks a bit better. But a few ugly food counters at the entry area are very obtrusive. The surrounding hallway aera has a few shops that all sell overpriced servileness. The decoration and display of the shops are disorder and tasteless, consistent to the overall setting of the hotel.
The room is a little of more satisfied, but not much. Furniture is better than lobby's. Bathroom is clean but very small. Here comes the worst part of the hotel: bed. The bed is very hard. Two small pillows provide little cushion.
The best part of the hotel is its location. The major part of the hotel was build in 80s of the last century. It was one of the 1st international hotels in shanghai since China opened its door. After an quarter of a century, it no longer deserves the top hotel rankings in Shanghai anymore. For those like its location, I think Jingjiang hotel across the street is a better chioce. It offers better hotel at lower price.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walk_in_snow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Jin Jiang Hotel
Jin Jiang Hotel
#103 of 5,146 in Shanghai
711 reviews
Zhongshan Park
Hotel Nikko Shanghai
Hotel Nikko Shanghai
#246 of 5,146 in Shanghai
296 reviews
Former French Concession
Jin Jiang Tower Hotel
Jin Jiang Tower Hotel
#131 of 5,146 in Shanghai
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
#23 of 5,146 in Shanghai
1,164 reviews
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#59 of 5,146 in Shanghai
2,493 reviews
Former French Concession
InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.58 Maoming South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200020, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Huaihai Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#42 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#47 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#51 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#107 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $132 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 485
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Garden Shanghai
Shanghai Okura Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing