We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,018)
Filter reviews
1,018 results
Traveler rating
461
456
79
12
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
461
456
79
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews french concession japanese breakfast huaihai road art deco classic hotel staff speak main shopping city view bars and restaurants compared to other hotels business trip rooms are clean lobby area the ground floor few minutes walk very nice hotel excellent location
Filter
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 1,018 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Location was great, next to the best shopping area in shanghai. The room was clean and nice, a traditional 5 star hotel (not those luxury kind). The service and attitude from front desk wasn't great, but ok....

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shanghaisingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ypwang, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for choosing Okura Garden Hotel (shanghai). About what you have mentioned on the website, we will try our best to offer the best service in the future. Thank you again for your valuable advice to our hotel. We do expect to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai is highly recommendable. It is comfortable by all means. The service is in top. The view over shanghai is fantastic. In the hotel there are excellent restaurants. The atmosphere is nice and quiet.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ypwang, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for choosing Okura Garden Hotel (shanghai), our hotel is always committed to offer the best accommodation, best cuisine and best service to our guest. Your compliment is the best reward of our hard work. We do hope you can choose our hotel again during your next visit to Shanghai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The Okura Garden Hotel is a lovely hotel overlooking a beautiful garden and in a great location in Shanghai. The property is beautifully maintained, comfortable, and the multiple restaurants provide a wide variety and very enjoyable.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjamnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The hotel is in a great location amidst impressive gardens. When I arrived early in the morning they had no record of my early check-in and initially told me I would have to wait until at least 10:00 as they were full. Fortunately though I had printed out my confirmation which clearly stated early check-in, and miraculously within 5 minutes they were able to check me in and provide an upgrade - so plus points for that. The provided room was very large and very clean, and the air conditioning/heating actually worked - a big plus compared to other hotels in Shanghai. The bathroom was also large and clean, although there was a slight smell of drains that permeated the space. The biggest downside with the room (is the bed, which is rock hard and very uncomfortable. The other negative of my stay is the quality of the room service food, absolutely the worst food I have tasted - generally swimming in oil, cold and served on greasy plates complete with finger marks, as well as being hugely overpriced.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seanyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed here for the first time this week, centrally located, good service and immaculate rooms . Don't miss the sky bar , has amazing views of the city . Downside is no Wifi in the rooms which I found ridiculous , had to go down to the lobby to check mails etc which wasn't really good . Would have expected this as standard as cant imagine a hotel not to have wifi in rooms.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ravi21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews