We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hotel very nice located in Shanghai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #28 of 4,454 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Siglistorf, Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great hotel very nice located in Shanghai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai is highly recommendable. It is comfortable by all means. The service is in top. The view over shanghai is fantastic. In the hotel there are excellent restaurants. The atmosphere is nice and quiet.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ypwang, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for choosing Okura Garden Hotel (shanghai), our hotel is always committed to offer the best accommodation, best cuisine and best service to our guest. Your compliment is the best reward of our hard work. We do hope you can choose our hotel again during your next visit to Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    364
    60
    6
    7
See reviews for
75
69
88
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The Okura Garden Hotel is a lovely hotel overlooking a beautiful garden and in a great location in Shanghai. The property is beautifully maintained, comfortable, and the multiple restaurants provide a wide variety and very enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjamnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
249 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The hotel is in a great location amidst impressive gardens. When I arrived early in the morning they had no record of my early check-in and initially told me I would have to wait until at least 10:00 as they were full. Fortunately though I had printed out my confirmation which clearly stated early check-in, and miraculously within 5 minutes they were able to check me in and provide an upgrade - so plus points for that. The provided room was very large and very clean, and the air conditioning/heating actually worked - a big plus compared to other hotels in Shanghai. The bathroom was also large and clean, although there was a slight smell of drains that permeated the space. The biggest downside with the room (is the bed, which is rock hard and very uncomfortable. The other negative of my stay is the quality of the room service food, absolutely the worst food I have tasted - generally swimming in oil, cold and served on greasy plates complete with finger marks, as well as being hugely overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seanyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed here for the first time this week, centrally located, good service and immaculate rooms . Don't miss the sky bar , has amazing views of the city . Downside is no Wifi in the rooms which I found ridiculous , had to go down to the lobby to check mails etc which wasn't really good . Would have expected this as standard as cant imagine a hotel not to have wifi in rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravi21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

When I come Shanghai which I do 4-5 times a year, I usually stay in Jing Jiang Hotel. Okura Garden Hotel is right across the street.  I like the Jing Jiang a lot. You can check my review about it.
This time I decided to try the more expensive Garden. The experience is not good.
The hotel lobby is a beautiful old building, used to be the French Club. Unfortunately the renovation of inside is unimpressive and tasteless. The furniture quality of lobby/reception area is low and uncomfortable, certainly not meet its 5 star ranking.
A three story open cafe behind lobby looks a bit better. But a few ugly food counters at the entry area are very obtrusive. The surrounding hallway aera has a few shops that all sell overpriced servileness. The decoration and display of the shops are disorder and tasteless, consistent to the overall setting of the hotel.
The room is a little of more satisfied, but not much. Furniture is better than lobby's. Bathroom is clean but very small. Here comes the worst part of the hotel: bed. The bed is very hard. Two small pillows provide little cushion.
The best part of the hotel is its location. The major part of the hotel was build in 80s of the last century. It was one of the 1st international hotels in shanghai since China opened its door. After an quarter of a century, it no longer deserves the top hotel rankings in Shanghai anymore. For those like its location, I think Jingjiang hotel across the street is a better chioce. It offers better hotel at lower price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walk_in_snow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel was centrally located and in front of a big garden. Excellent service, immaculately clean room, centrally located and closed to where all the activities were. Beautifully-crafted architecture covered the hotel facade.

Easy walking distance to some very good western restaurants and bars. Subway station was nearby. A short taxi ride could bring you to almost anywhere in Shanghai.

Our clean and spacious room offered a panoramic view into the heart of Shanghai. The ambience of the hotel exuded a mixture of European and Japanese culture and feel. Overall, it was a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dtc2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Nice Clean Hotel in Ok area, lacks WIFI in Room, kind of old style but still clean and fresh. Is probably 15-20 years old. But Like I said still in nice shape. Beds are hard but ok. Sazanka Restaurant (Teppanyaki) upstairs kind of disappiontment. Orderd Shrimp and Scallops Dish, 1 shrimp 1 Scallop (Small) NOT appetizer, then they charge 600 RMB extra for just seating ??!!! for 4 persons so I paid 432 RMB (80 USD) for 1 Shrimp and 1 Scallop and some vegetables. Go around the corner insead were there are sevral great Japnese with nice big Toro steaks for less.
Its a pity as my Favourite restaurant in the world is Sazanka at Okura in Amsterdam. The skybar also is full of smokers wich make it smell like you know what. Go for Park Hyatt if you want a nice hotel in Shanghai or Les suites.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackHerrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#21 of 4,454 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 1,035 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Former French Concession
Jin Jiang Hotel
Jin Jiang Hotel
#85 of 4,454 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#25 of 4,454 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 884 reviews
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#31 of 4,454 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai

Property: Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai
Address: NO. 58 Maoming South Rd, Shanghai 200020, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Huaihai Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#28 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#47 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#51 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#92 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 485
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Garden Shanghai
Shanghai Okura Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing