We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A East-Meets-West Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai to your Saves list
Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.58 Maoming South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200020, China (Former French Concession)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Name/address in local language
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #31 of 4,318 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A East-Meets-West Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel was centrally located and in front of a big garden. Excellent service, immaculately clean room, centrally located and closed to where all the activities were. Beautifully-crafted architecture covered the hotel facade.

Easy walking distance to some very good western restaurants and bars. Subway station was nearby. A short taxi ride could bring you to almost anywhere in Shanghai.

Our clean and spacious room offered a panoramic view into the heart of Shanghai. The ambience of the hotel exuded a mixture of European and Japanese culture and feel. Overall, it was a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dtc2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    353
    60
    6
    7
See reviews for
70
65
84
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Nice Clean Hotel in Ok area, lacks WIFI in Room, kind of old style but still clean and fresh. Is probably 15-20 years old. But Like I said still in nice shape. Beds are hard but ok. Sazanka Restaurant (Teppanyaki) upstairs kind of disappiontment. Orderd Shrimp and Scallops Dish, 1 shrimp 1 Scallop (Small) NOT appetizer, then they charge 600 RMB extra for just seating ??!!! for 4 persons so I paid 432 RMB (80 USD) for 1 Shrimp and 1 Scallop and some vegetables. Go around the corner insead were there are sevral great Japnese with nice big Toro steaks for less.
Its a pity as my Favourite restaurant in the world is Sazanka at Okura in Amsterdam. The skybar also is full of smokers wich make it smell like you know what. Go for Park Hyatt if you want a nice hotel in Shanghai or Les suites.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackHerrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niederdorla
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I had reserved a normal double room but decided to upgrade to a suite, ie bedroom plus living room and bathroom. The Japanese receptionist handled my request very well and efficiently and I thought the price for the upgrade was reasonable. The concierge desk at the Okura is exceptionally well run, particularly bearing in mind that they are far more than luggage handlers, but handle the taxi organisation and restaurant bookings and such ancillary services.

This is in sharp contrast to the Chinese restaurant at the Okura where service is haphazard and suffers from the same lack of English language training that is so infuriating throughout all of Shanghai. The food is quite good however the service needs to be improved. Not so at the Japanese restaurant where both the food and service were excellent. However, the Okura is fantastically well placed in terms of exploring Shanghai's restaurants, being in the French Concession area. It is actually a better area than the Bund which also has a few good restaurants close by, however, a number of them are of the ultra haute cuisine variety. The Chinoise Story restaurant is just outside the Okura and is very good, but there is a huge choice of restaurants close by.

We had a stunning view from our room right across the garden of the hotel, so if the view is important to you ask for a garden facing room. The Japanese department store was not very interesting, quite a small choice. I made the mistake of buying mooncakes in the Japanese bakery which is not really reccommended. However, the cafe has a good choice of cakes.

One of the highlights of the room was the modern Japanese toilet which was brilliant I am thinking of installing one at home.

I sampled a massage which was OK, but here the hotel is a bit let down, the Spa is nowhere near the level of the Banyan Tree, but then few places are. The pool is just OK.

I thought the breakfast was very good indeed, a good chance to sample Japanese and Chinese varieties, however, the egg station is very well run too so westerners too will enjoy breakfast here. I like the general old world feel of the breakfast restaurant and the whole hotel.

Generally I really liked this hotel, the Japanese really manage it better than many other places and the location is fantastic. The concierge and reception are superb. If only service in the Chinese restaurant were a bit better.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite and get a garden facing room, the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deltamars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Very affordable and excellent hotel. Staffs are kind and helpful. I have to say the Japanese manage the hotel very well. Rooms are small but they've been well refurnished. There are more and more new hotels with super modern facilites appearing in nowaday Shanghai but for Okura garden Hotel,I am never gonna worried about the services here. I was very much satisfied.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KHgerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ypwang, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel. Our hotel is always committed to offer the best service to our guest. We do appreciate your compliment. We hope you will choose our hotel during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 5 days during some hot days in Shanghai. Set amongst some well-maintained gardens. The room was comfortable and well appointed. Staff were attentive, welcoming and spoke English well. The buffet breakfast was of a good quality offering Chinese and western food. The hotel is in a nice area of Shanghai, away from the hustle and bustle of the Bund (taxi about 25RMB) and not far from good restaurants and nightclubs in the French Concession area. Only complaint was that I was told that they charged to use the swimming pool and gym. This should have been complimentary for guests.

Room Tip: Stayed in a room overlooking the city rather than the gardens which was not a problem. Room was qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hideho50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ypwang, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for choosing Okura Garden Hotel(shanghai). We do appreciate that you like our hotel. Now if you join our Okura club(free of charge), you can use the gym for free. Once again thank you for choosing our hotel, we are expecting for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

if you can afford it make sure you upgrade to a larger room with a garden view. It's not too much extra probably around $20 day. The only concern we had with the room was the bed , it's a typical Japanese style bed, i.e. hard. The food in the Cafe was outstanding quite a range of buffet items and if it wasn't there they would try and make something for you.
The staff were fantastic, always willing to help and not looking for a tip. The Hotel is located in the French quarter and yes you can walk around Shanghai from this location. Just like any other new location your a visitor and it shows so watch your valuables and don't do anything stupid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy_sandroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ypwang, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for choosing Okura Garden Hotel(shanghai) and thank you for giving us the comments here.
We are very glad to know you like our location, it will bring our guests great convenience to better understand the city.
We hope you will stay with us again.

Thanks with regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
282 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We hadn't realized this was such a grand hotel when we booked it on Expedia. Having been staying in mainly boutique hotels on our current trip, we had enerally steered clear of the bigger chain style places. However - we were really delighted to have a bit of luxury around us for the las few nights of our one month abroad. The staff were incredibly helpful and polite, the hotel is very clean, and the room (we had to upgrade to a deluxe in order to get a big bed, rather than twin beds - which was the only negative surprise) was spacious and well equipped. The bathroom was great / funny - as it had the flashest electronic toilet I have ever seen, but also a crazy bath with a window in to the bedroom and out over the city.

The only downside was no wifi in the rooms - had to go to the lobby for that.

Well located near a metro stop, and rot in the shopping district. Good massage places nearby (I went to Samos), and good bars and restaurants on a kind of groovy street two streets back - Jinxian Road.

As per all other comments - the breakfasts were impressive.

Great spot. We paid about $250NZD per night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJMCD67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ypwang, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for choosing Okura Garden Hotel (shanghai), our hotel is always committed to offer the best accommodation, best cuisine and best service to our guest. Your compliment is the best reward of our hard work. We do hope you can choose our hotel again during your next visit to Shanghai.
Thanks with regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#21 of 4,318 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 962 reviews
Former French Concession
Jin Jiang Hotel
Jin Jiang Hotel
#83 of 4,318 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 640 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
Hotel Nikko Shanghai
Hotel Nikko Shanghai
#221 of 4,318 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Jing'an
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
#32 of 4,318 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 974 reviews
Former French Concession
InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai

Property: Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.58 Maoming South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200020, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Huaihai Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#31 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#47 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#51 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#67 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 485
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Garden Shanghai
Shanghai Okura Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing