We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (999)
Filter reviews
999 results
Traveler rating
449
452
76
12
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
449
452
76
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrench concessionjapanese breakfasthuaihai roadart decostaff speakmain shoppingstar hotelcity viewbars and restaurantsbusiness tripenjoyed my staylobby areahotel is in a great locationrooms are cleanthe ground floorspent nightsmetro station
Filter
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 999 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2012

if you can afford it make sure you upgrade to a larger room with a garden view. It's not too much extra probably around $20 day. The only concern we had with the room was the bed , it's a typical Japanese style bed, i.e. hard. The food in the Cafe was outstanding quite a range of buffet items and if it wasn't there they would try and make something for you.
The staff were fantastic, always willing to help and not looking for a tip. The Hotel is located in the French quarter and yes you can walk around Shanghai from this location. Just like any other new location your a visitor and it shows so watch your valuables and don't do anything stupid.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandy_sandroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ypwang, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear guest, thank you for choosing Okura Garden Hotel(shanghai) and thank you for giving us the comments here.
We are very glad to know you like our location, it will bring our guests great convenience to better understand the city.
We hope you will stay with us again.

Thanks with regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We hadn't realized this was such a grand hotel when we booked it on Expedia. Having been staying in mainly boutique hotels on our current trip, we had enerally steered clear of the bigger chain style places. However - we were really delighted to have a bit of luxury around us for the las few nights of our one month abroad. The staff were incredibly helpful and polite, the hotel is very clean, and the room (we had to upgrade to a deluxe in order to get a big bed, rather than twin beds - which was the only negative surprise) was spacious and well equipped. The bathroom was great / funny - as it had the flashest electronic toilet I have ever seen, but also a crazy bath with a window in to the bedroom and out over the city.

The only downside was no wifi in the rooms - had to go to the lobby for that.

Well located near a metro stop, and rot in the shopping district. Good massage places nearby (I went to Samos), and good bars and restaurants on a kind of groovy street two streets back - Jinxian Road.

As per all other comments - the breakfasts were impressive.

Great spot. We paid about $250NZD per night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJMCD67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ypwang, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear guest, thank you for choosing Okura Garden Hotel (shanghai), our hotel is always committed to offer the best accommodation, best cuisine and best service to our guest. Your compliment is the best reward of our hard work. We do hope you can choose our hotel again during your next visit to Shanghai.
Thanks with regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I have stayed Okura Garden Hotel in a standard single room for a week. Overall, I liked this hotel and would highly recommend to anyone.

As the hotel is owned and managed by a Japanese hotel group, you may find here as a little Japanese village. I think real Italian food can be found only in Italy. Same rule applies here – real Japanese hospitality can be found only in Japan. Don't get me wrong – I have no complain here but felt the slightest discomfort in the several different occasions.

The interior is rather old but maintained well. The water supply is generous and you can fill up the bathtub within matter of minutes.

Food is outstanding. I have really enjoyed mouth watering warm Chinese and Japanese breakfast which served individually (not as buffet).

The hotel is located beside the South Shaanxi Rd. You won't get bored for taking a walk around the hotel - a shopping street (Huai Hai Zhong Lu) is just outside of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tochitsuteta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ypwang, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Thank you for choosing our hotel and share your own experience with us. Our hotel has a very good location which offers our guest a great access to the rest part of the city. We hope you will choose our hotel again during your next visit to Shanghai.
Thanks with best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed in June 2012 for the 4th time at the Okura garden Hotel Shanghai. Again a great experience.
Booking was quite easy, got all sorted through the internet and e-mails.Responses are quick and in clear.
Arriving very late at the hote in the evening,the check-in process was very fast. After 10 minutes I was in my room and the luggage was brought to the room.

Room was very spacious and had all the amenities you need ( and much more), a stocked refrigerator, ready to use hot water for tea or coffee. Every morning a news paper (China daily).Room got cleaned every day and has a turn-down service in the evening.
Breakfast was excellent ,all you think of was avaiable, lots of fruit and made to order meals.
Staff was excellent, very good in English and always ready to assist.
Restaurant at the top floor is great, good food and excellent service!
Hotel is located rather close to the old part of Shanghai, a taxi ride takes about 10' and cost you about 14 RMB to take you there ( Fangbang road)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lembii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ypwang, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Thank you for giving us the comments here. We are very glad to know that you like our hotel. Hope you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had an ok stay here. The hotel is not spanking new but perfectly serviceable. The reservation desk helped us quite a bit before our arrival as we were experiencing a lot of problems with obtaining the visa, and had to request the hotel to write in English and Chinese that we did indeed have a reservation with them, etc. The service after arrival was decidedly mediocre. We have particular issues with the concierge, as we have the impression that they are just pushing us to take whatever will give them highest commission, as they never made the reservations for any of the shows or restaurants we requested, but recommended somethng else, and where we ended up were not so great (but perhaps better than what we wanted?). We were also told that the hotel is in a very convenient location, but we didn't have this impression and struggled to get around, alternatively getting lost on foot or getting stuck in traffic in a taxi -- this is not necessarily the hotel's fault, of course, but again, the concierge is not giving useful advice.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blanquetteseguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ypwang, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear Guest:
We do appreciate your telling us these kind of things. We feel so sorry about the inconvenience that our concierge couldn't catch your request and do not give you the best information service. We will pay more attention about this kind of thing and recommend our guest the restaurant which with good reputation and tell our guest the approximate price.
We are expecting for your next visit and hope to see you again.

Thanks with best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews