We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch service and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #37 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
456 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Top notch service and great location”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We hadn't realized this was such a grand hotel when we booked it on Expedia. Having been staying in mainly boutique hotels on our current trip, we had enerally steered clear of the bigger chain style places. However - we were really delighted to have a bit of luxury around us for the las few nights of our one month abroad. The staff were incredibly helpful and polite, the hotel is very clean, and the room (we had to upgrade to a deluxe in order to get a big bed, rather than twin beds - which was the only negative surprise) was spacious and well equipped. The bathroom was great / funny - as it had the flashest electronic toilet I have ever seen, but also a crazy bath with a window in to the bedroom and out over the city.

The only downside was no wifi in the rooms - had to go to the lobby for that.

Well located near a metro stop, and rot in the shopping district. Good massage places nearby (I went to Samos), and good bars and restaurants on a kind of groovy street two streets back - Jinxian Road.

As per all other comments - the breakfasts were impressive.

Great spot. We paid about $250NZD per night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJMCD67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ypwang, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for choosing Okura Garden Hotel (shanghai), our hotel is always committed to offer the best accommodation, best cuisine and best service to our guest. Your compliment is the best reward of our hard work. We do hope you can choose our hotel again during your next visit to Shanghai.
Thanks with regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    415
    69
    10
    10
See reviews for
103
92
105
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Japan
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I have stayed Okura Garden Hotel in a standard single room for a week. Overall, I liked this hotel and would highly recommend to anyone.

As the hotel is owned and managed by a Japanese hotel group, you may find here as a little Japanese village. I think real Italian food can be found only in Italy. Same rule applies here – real Japanese hospitality can be found only in Japan. Don't get me wrong – I have no complain here but felt the slightest discomfort in the several different occasions.

The interior is rather old but maintained well. The water supply is generous and you can fill up the bathtub within matter of minutes.

Food is outstanding. I have really enjoyed mouth watering warm Chinese and Japanese breakfast which served individually (not as buffet).

The hotel is located beside the South Shaanxi Rd. You won't get bored for taking a walk around the hotel - a shopping street (Huai Hai Zhong Lu) is just outside of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tochitsuteta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ypwang, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel and share your own experience with us. Our hotel has a very good location which offers our guest a great access to the rest part of the city. We hope you will choose our hotel again during your next visit to Shanghai.
Thanks with best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecht-BE
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed in June 2012 for the 4th time at the Okura garden Hotel Shanghai. Again a great experience.
Booking was quite easy, got all sorted through the internet and e-mails.Responses are quick and in clear.
Arriving very late at the hote in the evening,the check-in process was very fast. After 10 minutes I was in my room and the luggage was brought to the room.

Room was very spacious and had all the amenities you need ( and much more), a stocked refrigerator, ready to use hot water for tea or coffee. Every morning a news paper (China daily).Room got cleaned every day and has a turn-down service in the evening.
Breakfast was excellent ,all you think of was avaiable, lots of fruit and made to order meals.
Staff was excellent, very good in English and always ready to assist.
Restaurant at the top floor is great, good food and excellent service!
Hotel is located rather close to the old part of Shanghai, a taxi ride takes about 10' and cost you about 14 RMB to take you there ( Fangbang road)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lembii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ypwang, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for giving us the comments here. We are very glad to know that you like our hotel. Hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had an ok stay here. The hotel is not spanking new but perfectly serviceable. The reservation desk helped us quite a bit before our arrival as we were experiencing a lot of problems with obtaining the visa, and had to request the hotel to write in English and Chinese that we did indeed have a reservation with them, etc. The service after arrival was decidedly mediocre. We have particular issues with the concierge, as we have the impression that they are just pushing us to take whatever will give them highest commission, as they never made the reservations for any of the shows or restaurants we requested, but recommended somethng else, and where we ended up were not so great (but perhaps better than what we wanted?). We were also told that the hotel is in a very convenient location, but we didn't have this impression and struggled to get around, alternatively getting lost on foot or getting stuck in traffic in a taxi -- this is not necessarily the hotel's fault, of course, but again, the concierge is not giving useful advice.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blanquetteseguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ypwang, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Guest:
We do appreciate your telling us these kind of things. We feel so sorry about the inconvenience that our concierge couldn't catch your request and do not give you the best information service. We will pay more attention about this kind of thing and recommend our guest the restaurant which with good reputation and tell our guest the approximate price.
We are expecting for your next visit and hope to see you again.

Thanks with best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Rooms straightforwardand comfortable with decent views Excellent aircon. Good location close to metro and shops. Coffee shop OK but overpriced (especially for breakfast). Swimming pool a bit dull but a good place to relax.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcoPolo888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ypwang, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear guest
Your advice is very important for our hotel. It will help us to improve our service level in the future. We promise that we will pay great attention with your advice.
Thanks with best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The hotel is in a convenient location near a couple of different shopping and restaurant areas in Shanghai. The room has excellent facilities, and the staff is very competent. What I liked most is the breakfast. There are three restaurants (Japanese, Chinese and Western), and I tried two of them. The Western buffet is very good, but the Japanese breakfast (set menu) is great. One drawback is the lack of Wi-Fi in the rooms, but internet service via an Ethernet connection is free and was sufficient for me.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xcschlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ypwang, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you for choosing Okura Garden hotel Shanghai. We are so happy that you liked our breakfast service. And we are up-grading our internet system now, so next stay maybe you could enjoy Wi-Fi in the room.

Thanks with regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed in Shanghai for a night and got a chance to stay at Okura Garden. It is again a centrally located property with good connectivity. A good business hotel withe excellent rooms and service. It has great VFM proposition and was even better given the upgrade I received. The hotel has nice dining options (3 restaurants in total). The view from the hotel is great (not that matters a lot). The wi-fi was again sorely missing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paarkhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ypwang, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
We do appreciate your important feedback to us. We have a very good location in the downtown area which offers our guest a great access to the part of the city. We do expect to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Jin Jiang Hotel
Jin Jiang Hotel
#97 of 5,105 in Shanghai
703 reviews
Former French Concession
Jin Jiang Tower Hotel
Jin Jiang Tower Hotel
#122 of 5,105 in Shanghai
591 reviews
Zhongshan Park
Hotel Nikko Shanghai
Hotel Nikko Shanghai
#235 of 5,105 in Shanghai
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
#21 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,112 reviews
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#59 of 5,105 in Shanghai
2,461 reviews
Former French Concession
InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai

Property: Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.58 Maoming South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200020, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Huaihai Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#37 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#47 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#51 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#98 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 485
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Garden Shanghai
Shanghai Okura Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing