We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (999)
Filter reviews
999 results
Traveler rating
449
452
76
12
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
449
452
76
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrench concessionjapanese breakfasthuaihai roadart decostaff speakmain shoppingstar hotelcity viewbars and restaurantsbusiness tripenjoyed my staylobby areahotel is in a great locationrooms are cleanthe ground floorspent nightsmetro station
Filter
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 999 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Normally when I stay in China I stay in one of the Hotel Groups Intercontinental or similar but for this business trip our Shanghai based customer advised us to stay at this hotel for convenience and value for money
The room was great and like most in China large and well equipped with wireless internet supplied Free of Charge again like most hotels in China
Service in the Bar and the coffee shop was good with all staff having a reasonably good command of English.
Only downside was check in where as iften is the case in China it was along winded and frustrating experience but the check out experience was surprisingly good
Overall good value for money and for business it is well located and well managed

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalcolmR52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ypwang, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Dear guest, thank you for stay in our hotel, Okura Garden Hotel (shanghai) is always committed to offer the best accommodation, best cuisine and best service to every guest. We pay great attention to you opinion and we will try to improve our service in the future. Thank you for your important advice and we hope you will choose our hotel again during your next visit to Shanghai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

My husband stayed here for two nights on our travels to Shanghai and other cities in China. It is definitely the most spectacular hotel we have ever stayed in. The rooms were outstanding, the bar on the top floor, fantastic, only problem was the smoking but that aside, the view was stunning. The facilities in the hotel were top notch as were the restaurants. Fantastic breakfast that left nothing to the imagination. A definite must when visiting this amazing city. The bathrooms will knock your socks off. This is such a beautiful city, why not enjoy it in this truly beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Thank you for choosing our hotel. We do appreciate that you like our hotel so much. We have a really nice garden in front of our hotel. We believe you do enjoy the view of both our garden and our city. We sincerely expect for you next visit. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We spent 6 nights at the Okura and found it the top of the line of Okura hotels and we're familiar with 8 of them in this Japanese chain. Clearly a luxury hotel with superb service, a great location, and a fascinating building with garden in the former French concession. But if this is a 5-star hotel, the Shangri-La is clearly a 6 or 7-star.

We chose the Okura for its location and because we wanted good Japanese food and a swimming pool. We weren't disappointed -- far from it. My husband started out negotiating for a junior suite and was given a price far lower than he anticipated. And when we arrived, we found ourselves in a full suite on an executive floor! So the guidebooks are right -- do negotiate as the hotels in Shanghai are very competitive.

The room had everything we wanted and more, from thick robes to Japanese yukata, free use of the pool -- the longest I have ever seen in a hotel -- use of the executive salon, offer of free laundering of a shirt or blouse every day of the stay, free internet, generous amounts of fruit in the room. And while we could have had a simple breakfast in the salon, the full breakfast buffet came with our room. Amenities were L'Occitane, sheets and the duvet were soft and cozy.

The only thing we weren't happy with was the bed, which was very hard by any standard but we are told this is common in China. The pillows were old-fashioned polyester, and my husband liked them, I would have preferred something softer. Unfortunately, the air-conditioning blew right onto the bed, but we solved this by turning it down or off at night.

Comments are that the hotel isn't as high-tech as the newer luxury hotels. True. The Internet connection was by Ethernet, which actually I prefer. The upside was that we didn't have to try to figure out how to turn lights on and off or draw the drapes. (These were a luxurious silk, lined against the light, and opened and closed with a flick of the hand pulling them along the rail.)

The bathroom arrangement was ingenious. There was a double washbasin, a separate cubicle for the toilet, and a large, enclosed area for the shower and tub. The shower was outside the tub. So you could take a bath, or a very good shower, or you could bathe Japanese style by washing outside the tub first and then soaking in the tub.

We were grateful to find that the water really is purified so that we could drink the tap water. And it tasted good -- no chlorine taste, nothing musty, no strange minerals, just good plain water. And the air was scrubbed, which we noticed the minute we stepped inside the hotel.

We enjoyed the breakfasts. There were foods for Japanese, Americans, Germans, Chinese, and more. It was fun to try Chinese breakfast foods without eating an entire Chinese meal. Omelets were made to order, there was excellent bread, salads (and both Japanese and German potato salad), oatmeal, Japanese foods that I would consider for dinner, and more than I can itemize or remember. My only disappointment was with the fruit. Much of it was canned or odd fruits without a lot of nutrition. There were fresh bananas and watermelon and stewed prunes. But we had plenty of fruit because there was a small fruit basket in our room of really edible and delicious fruit, including apples, a Valencia orange, kiwi, and more. And this was replenished every day, even our last.

We had 4 meals at the Japanese restaurant Yamazato. All were better than anything I can get in Honolulu, and the beer was great and the orange juice fresh. I highly recommend this restaurant, especially if you find the Chinese food typical of Shanghai too oily and sweet for your taste. We also had one room service meal and one supper in the Rose Cafe. I found the sandwiches very good, but my husband wasn't satisfied either with his ramen or his spaghetti.

English and Japanese are both second languages of the hotel. Probably most employees prefer English. When we first arrived, a young woman at Reception greeted us in voluble but unintelligible English, but everyone else we met spoke from adequate to excellent English.

Although the air in Shanghai is rated among the best in Asia, after 4 days of sunshine, we found it too dusty and polluted to walk outside. And I have asthma so appreciated both the hotel's air and the ability to get exercise in the pool. Few people were using it in the daytime and it was great for swimming lengths. Impeccably clean but showing signs of wear. Bring a swimming cap if you don't want to borrow one of the caps the hotel has you use.

Although this hotel has a breathtaking lobby, the rooms aren't as glitzy as in the Shangri-La,which we checked out, but the Okura is cozier and it's right in the middle of the many things most people want to see, and a walk of less than 5 minutes to the nearest subway entrance. I really highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Negotiate for an upgrade when you book!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanmccallum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ypwang, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

Dear guest:
Thank you for choosing our hotel and share your own experience with us. Our hotel has a very good location in the downtown area which offers our guest a great access to the rest part of the city. We do appreciate that you like our Japanese restaurant. We will pay more attention to the fruit according to your request. We do hope you can recommend our hotel to your friends. We will do better in your future visit.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

My second visit to this lovely Japanese chain hotel. One of the best location in town, easy to reach anywhere in the Shanghai city. Around 5 minutes walk to the nearest station. I do usually just take taxi though as the taxi fare is just so cheap in Shanghai anyway.

Initially booked the normal room. Found it a way too small and I asked for an upgrade which cost RMB 200 and it is definitely well spent :) The upgraded room is much much bigger and more comfortable. So do go for an upgrade.

Breakfast is great with wide range of selection. The hotel itself is a bit old fashion but maintained pretty well. The Japanese amenities are an added value to customer. Staff are always nice and speak good English.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ypwang, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Thank you for staying with us. We do appreciate that you like our hotel’s location and room facility. Our hotel is located in the French Concession which is the center of the downtown area. And as a Japanese hotel, we pay great attention to the guest’s needs. Once again thank you for choosing our hotel. We will do a better job in your future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

The staff was very helpful and spoke English. Our room was a normal sort of hotel room, with the exception of the interesting Japanese toilet (which thank God had directions in English). Very good amenities and toiletries in the room. Fantastic view of the city (We were on the 14th floor in the back.) We ate in the Rose cafe for breakfast each morning. They had a good buffet service with food from three cuisines, English, Japanese and Chinese. Very good service in the restaurant! They had an afternoon tea room also. Two other restaurants in the hotel (which we didn't eat at, but were told by others in our group were good.) Many stores in the hotel with the usual types of items on the high end. Only hotel we were in that sold silk carpets. Loved the garden and the walk in the front. Felt safe walking in the neighborhood also. Super bar on the 33rd floor with a fantastic view of the city - especially at night. Good restaurants and stores within walking distance. Located in the French Concession area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ypwang, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Thank you for choosing our hotel, we do appreciate that you share your own experience with us. Our hotel is always committed to offer the best A.C.S to our guests. A for accommodation, C for cuisine, and S for service. And all the staff in our hotel is well trained, especially the language skill. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews