We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #71 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel is really well located, near to Nanjing Rd., so it's a good option if you want to take a walk around Shanghai. The breakfast is also excellent, there are many options available. The room is Ok, the bathroom is great, the hotel itself is a little old but also very classy.
About the staff, I appreciate the service provided by the Chinese staff. About the foreigners "working" in that place, I have to say that the tall blond chubby guy should smile a little and talk instead of pointing with the finger that I need to talk to the Chinese staff in order to solve an issue. Not polite at all, I hope the management have the chance to read this. Useless staff, if you ask my opinion.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Nanjing Road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmendeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,026)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

358 - 364 of 1,026 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

This hotel has wonderful breakfasts, very nice rooms, beautiful marble bathrooms, and a superb staff. It is only one block from the walking street, right in the center of where we wanted to be. It is a little walk to the subway, about 10 minutes, but that is OK. By the way, the subway is the way to get around Shanghai unless you love being stuck in traffic.

Room Tip: Include breakfast with the room when you book because it is expensive otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKNDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here in May in a club level room.

The buffet breakfast was excellent, just what we needed to start our day! The hotel is in an excellent location across from the main mall and it was easy to get around. The nearest rail station is one block away. There is a Starbucks cafe located downstairs in the lobby which is convenient and there are plenty of places to eat across the road.

The rooms were clean and the staff were friendly. One of us had a birthday while we were staying there and we returned that night to find a birthday cake in the room which was a lovely surprise!

We would definitely stay here again if we returned to Shanghai.

Room Tip: Would recommend a room facing the mall which is much nicer than the views from some of the rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Erik R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I absolutely liked my stay at Howard Johnson hotel in Shanghi. Such a great location, easy access to the touristic places such as the Yuyuan Garden, The Bund , people's square and Shanghi Buildings. Ask for a room with the street view, it really has a fantastic and lively view specially at night. All in all, the hotel is clean, classy with very nice facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LKhamis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed here on a stopover for one night and did intend to stay for 4 more nights on the way home but we had a problem with the aircon and trying to sleep in 27 deg or with the window open was not on. Shame really as the hotel is in a great location, is up to the mark in every other respect. Rooms of good size and comfortably appointed, free wifi and a great breakfast. Service was okay but when we complained about the aircon we were told it was broken and to open the window!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I was staying for a week for buisness, rooms r very clean, ask to get the rooms with view to the street otherwise u will get the backsideside.
All activities r very close u can take underground for every place in Shanghai.
Bund is just 10 minutes walk, brands mall is just 5 minutes.
grate breakfast with lots of food variety.
very please spa, pool, Jeem, jaquzi,

Next visit I will book again.

It is my forth time in Shanghai and the most enjoyed

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YAVISAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#49 of 5,146 in Shanghai
848 reviews
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#60 of 5,146 in Shanghai
1,325 reviews
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#54 of 5,146 in Shanghai
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#52 of 5,146 in Shanghai
789 reviews
People’s Square
Majesty Plaza Shanghai
Majesty Plaza Shanghai
#234 of 5,146 in Shanghai
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.595 Jiujiang Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#50 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#60 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#66 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#69 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $98 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai is an international five star hotel in the heart of downtown Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Howard Johnson Shanghai
Shanghai Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing