We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Guxiang Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Charms Hotel(Shanghai)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Haoyunlai Hotel(Shanghai)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Reviews (1,064)
Filter reviews
1,064 results
Traveler rating
373
517
137
25
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
373
517
137
25
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnanjing roadgreat locationbusiness suitepeople's squareminute walkpedestrian mallcentral locationwalking distanceclean roomssuperior roompeople's parkeasy accesssteam roomhotel staffstar hotelbreakfast buffetthe air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
394 - 399 of 1,064 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed here for three nights on business. It was very centrally located in Shanghai so since we had to travel in and out of town to factories, we got caught in a lot of traffic. However, we were also there over the weekend and the hotel is very close to shopping and sight seeing. This was one of the most comfortable hotels we stayed at in China. The rooms are a little dated - a lot of dark wood but I didn't mind it. The room was large. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was large with lots of counter space. The A/C worked - hallelujah - since we didn't always have A/C everywhere we went in China. I personally got great service at this hotel. Service is something I don't pay a lot of attention to unless it's unusually good or bad and I thought the service at this hotel was terrific. The people at the front desk all spoke English so check in and check out was smooth and easy. As mentioned by others, the pub in the lobby is extremely pricey but it is convenient. And there is a Starbucks right off the lobby as well. Overall I was very impressed with this hotel and plan to return to it on my next trip to Shanghai.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front of the hotel. I got a room on the backside which looked out on ugly apartment buildings across the street.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jobethco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We flew into Shanghai airport and ignored the many people offering us taxis and shuttle buses. Instead we went to the taxi rank and asked to be taken to Howard Johnson Plaza. Which cost us 200 yuan instead of the 500 yuan quoted at the hotel desk in the arrival terminal! A speedy! drive direct to the grand entrance of the hotel where we were met by an
English speaking porter who was able to confirm the price with our driver and helped us give him a 25 yuan tip.
Our room was overlooking Nanjing road (their Oxford street) and we had a large panoramic view with two comfortable chairs to relax in.
We were very happy with our hotel choice and would thoroughly recommend people to stay here and do use the pool
To recover from the 10 hour flight and 1.5 hour journey from landing to arrival at hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David-Beckenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

They don't have a Howard Johnson like this in the States! Very luxurious hotel. The location was great! Nanjing Road was steps away and we walked to the Bund, People's Park and the Shanghai Museum. We even walked to the Yu Gardens. The subway is also close by. There is a Starbucks located in the hotel and we even found a "Paris Bakery" around the corner to get our croissants and desserts. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank princ64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This hotel is in a great location for tourists, just off the Nanjing road and 15 minutes walk from The Bund. Our room was very comfortable, in good condition and had everything we needed. Breakfast was fine and there was lots of choice. The staff were a bit more surly than we had become used to whilst travelling around China

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

A great spot just off Nanjing Road - the main pedestrian mall. Check-in was a breeze (my room was ready by 10am). The room itself was spacious and had a nice view overlooking Nanjing Road. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews