We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #68 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Bangalore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I went there in March 2012. It was a perfect place to stay. Room was awesome and eveything was hygienic. It is right there in middle of city but yet it was a nice feeling to spend time here.
Breakfast was super cool although the cook never understood us.
Value for money - yes

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pushpamsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    486
    129
    24
    10
See reviews for
98
163
63
352
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mannheim
Level Contributor
74 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at the Hojo Plaza Shanghai for 6 nights. We were visiting Shanghai on business.

General: The hotel is well maintained. The check-in / check-out was efficient and friendly. The location on the east Nanjing Road is very central and a 10/15 minute walk to the Bund.

Room: the room was not luxurious, but was spacious and clean. There is a iron/ironing board, sufficient space for luggage and clothes, a safe, flat-screen TV, and free WiFi. My room was facing the East Nanjing Road. The noise from the street calmed down significantly after 10-11 pm, so that one could sleep without any problem. The light control console at the bed side needs some getting used to. The room was quite warm at night, and the air conditioning did not help much. Opening the window is possible, but not really an option considering the smog outside. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom had all amenities one could need and was clean. Cleaning staff did a good job.

Sport facilities: the pool was very nice. The gym was well equipped.

Restaurant: the breakfast had both chinese and continental (western) food. Quality and variety was good. Service was not spectacular but efficient and polite. Lunch buffet was varied and of good quality. We did not eat at the hotel in the evening.

Conference facilities: we used a conference room. Electronic equipment (projector) worked fine. The catering was ok and efficient. Only slight negative: only a very small window.

Overall, I was satisfied with the hotel. I would consider this hotel again for a business trip, but would opt for another hotel for a private trip. I cannot compare to other hotels in Shanghai or in China, but would consider this hotel as a good middle of the road business hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Springbank_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

If you are American, you probably have a vision of the HoJo as a simple budget hotel with cable TV, a small pool, and maybe some muffins and a continental breakfast. It is nothing of the sort in Shanghai -- this HoJo is FANCY!! The beds are nice, the lobby is elegant...it even has a Starbucks. You feel like you've booked 4-star accommodations.

Superb location for tourism...along East Nanjing road within walking distance of People's Square and The Bund. Staff speaks good English and you can get them to write down wherever you want to go in Chinese characters (VERY important if you ever take a taxi in Shanghai!). I greatly enjoy this hotel and would stay there again if passing through Shanghai.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrh825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portballintrae, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

The Howard Johnson, while not like the US chain, is a good standard hotel. The rooms are spacious and clean but the public areas are a bit souless. The bars have no atmosphere and the breakfast, while there was a lot of choice, was of a very low quality. The location is wonderful- within walking distance of the Bund, and directly across the street from the pedestrianized shopping area. I would definitely recommend it for good price and room value, but it is not opulent

Room Tip: As for a room overlooking the bund or ghe pedestrianized street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The Howard Johnson brand is nothing like back in the US. It is a luxury hotel brand in China. The location was fantastic for my one night stay as I could walk everywhere. The streets are bustling with shoppers and tourists. There are many restaurants, but I decided to be adventurous and go to a hot pot restaurant. The concierge recommended one nearby called three brothers, but no one spoke English, the menu was only written in Chinese, and they do not accept AMEX. This may not have been the best choice for me anyway since hotpot is best for two people or more. I left the restaurant feeling quite deflated. I decided to go back to the hotel and call room service, and I must say that my meal of tuna nicoise salad and Thai spicy noodles with a couple of bottles of Tsingtao lager was very satisfactory. The staff here is helpful and quite friendly. I may be back again to check out the Bund and the Pearl tower.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solegirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I didn't know that Howard Johnson hotels existed anymore. This is a very opulent hotel. When you first go in the doors you can smell the spices of China. Also, I had forgotten how much the people of Shanghai love jazz. I was greeted to a vocalist at the bar singing the Girl from Ipanema. The location is ideal--one block off of Nanjing Road, the shopping center of Shanghai, and about 4 blocks from the Bund. The breakfast was excellent and the service outstanding, but any restaurant that serves litchees and dragon fruit will always get my vote. Two minor complaints. There is no gift shop or sundry shop in the hotel. Also the air conditioning has a mind of its own, No matter where I set the thermostat, it would never go below 24 degrees Centigrade (80 degrees F). That's not comfortable sleeping for me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveChicago_Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

After 20 plus hours of travel I arrived at the hotel a bit glossy eyed looking to sleep. They put me in a small standard room adorned with a flea market picture of an American bald eagle. After all that travel to get there and see what is my national bird on the wall, Really? :) I found it amusing and thought I would share. :)
After a nap I called and asked if I could pay to upgrade to a larger room. They insisted on upgrading without a fee. Wow. So nice and unexpected.
They put me in a suite having a separate living and bedroom. It was exceptionally nice with a large marble bathroom as well.
The hotel is really nice. Surprisingly considering the reputation the chain has in the states. They had live music in the bar every evening. Great service!
BTW, yes, there are prostitutes everywhere in shanghai hotels, this hotel being no exception. The hotel does little to stop them. nit certain as to the whys behind that but I actually found watching them troll for customers so entertaining! Have fun with it and don't be offended if they approach you. It's what they do and you can't do anything about it. Just be polite and they will be in return.
Great hotel, great location. Definitely recommend.

Was this helpful?

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FuninPlaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#47 of 5,059 in Shanghai
805 reviews
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#39 of 5,059 in Shanghai
993 reviews
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#61 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
Majesty Plaza Shanghai
Majesty Plaza Shanghai
#187 of 5,059 in Shanghai
442 reviews
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#42 of 5,059 in Shanghai
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai

Property: Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.595 Jiujiang Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#48 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#50 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#66 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#66 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai is an international five star hotel in the heart of downtown Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Howard Johnson Shanghai
Shanghai Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing