We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and rooms are comfy if a little “old school” design”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #64 of 4,997 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
539 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
“Great location and rooms are comfy if a little “old school” design”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here for two nights at a weekend recently to try and take in the central area of Shanghai in a short time. As such the hotel was perfect for location because it is right opposite a pedestrianized shopping area which leads directly down to the bund. It is also nicely lit (like many buildings here) so it can be easily picked out when trying to get back to it!

The lobby is large, although the open area means it is impossible to be there in the evenings without hearing the cabaret singer who was there both of my nights. The rooms are quite old-school in regard to their design, with marble effects, heavy wooden doors and a lot of dark wood. It is good, but I personally prefer more open and freshness in the looks of hotels. Bathroom is a little smaller than I expected and the shower is just a standard shower head in the bath. The bed is very comfortable indeed though but neither my friend on another floor nor I ever figured out how to make the air con setting have any temperature other than 23 as the target.

Internet was included in our rate and it was fast and easy to connect. Breakfast was not included but there is a Starbucks within the lobby hotel and plenty of other places outside. On our fist evening we ate late in the one of the restaurants; the pub one looked poor, the Chinese one was way too noisy with (I presume) karaoke going on but the main one on the second floor (with the seafood buffet) was good – we ordered from the small menu and the food was very good. The staff were very attentive and polite - even if they didn’t believe me when I said I wanted chopsticks instead of a fork.

The rooms may not have been to my taste but I was only really in them to sleep and they were still very comfortable; the location is king though and it is nicely placed so as not to be hugely expensive but still have everything within reach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob_the_moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    475
    127
    24
    9
See reviews for
93
160
62
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

By western standards this was better than I expected. Rooms are clean and well kept. Location is far from shopping but there are some shops (ie walmart) within a 15 minute walk. Local street market vendors close by too.

Staff are friendly but not many can speak and understand English. We got by with the usual charades stuff.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayward888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
102 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Upgraded to a suite after joining their club membership. I was very pleased with how spacious the suite and bathroom was. The decor is a little dated if you generally go for contemporary hotels, but all in all the room served it function and was clean and tidy. I had a room overlooking Nanjing Lu and was very happy with the view. Location-wise, the hotel is close to Raffles - about a 5 minute walk to the metro. The staff was efficient and friendly. No complaints.

Room Tip: Join their hotel club membership and upgrade your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xksb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The HoJo as the staff affectionately call it is truly a five star hotel.

From the high quality of the rooms and their fittings to the magnificent Foyer area, it is all luxurious comfort.

The staff are most helpful and if you strike one not speaking English, they go to great trouble to find one that does. This is not the case for Shanghai in general as we found very few English speakers particularly amongst Police and Security Staff, where we had expected to find them.

Beware of succumbing to a casual coffee or drink in the Foyer unless you really need a second mortgage and go instead through the Foyer into the connected Starbucks. At first we thought that a Starbucks and a Five Star Hotel would be incongruous, but it worked.

The HoJo location was ideal with both shops and sightseeing close to hand.

There is always less to say about a well run five star hotel than a badly run three star one so suffice to say - if you want a very comfortable, conveniently located hotel in Shanghai with pleasant and helpful staff you do not need to look any further than the HoJo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPCNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
142 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was in Shanghai (on holiday) in 2007 in a package holiday. The hotel was not in the town centre but was good. This time hi was on a business trip. The hotel is near the icon view of Shanghai and you are able to walk between the "old" and the new Shanghai. It is an experience that you will not have much time to see it. The speed of change will not protect al those old street with local markets and shops aligned by functionalities (shoes, plumbing, food, etc,etc,) The HJP Shanghai is a modern and very pleasant hotel. Excellent breakfast, good gymnasium, good food and very pleasant room. Wireless internet available and free of charge.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FVentura357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent hotel , rooms are nicely furnished, breakfast Buffett offered a good variety of western and chinese selections, good location. Great service and also offered a great rate for converting Dollars to chinese currency.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location of the hotel is perfect for tourism - 3 minutes from Nanjing Road, 15 minutes to Shanghai Museum, 15-20 minutes to the Bund. Breakfast is a very good mix of Asian and Western cuisine with a lot of choices, Swimming pool is nice even though too shallow for my taste. Spa is also very nice, I had a foot massage which was very good.
My only complaint is related to the fact that on arrival (at 1:00 a.m.), having booked a superior room, we were given a smoking room which apparently was the only type of superior room left at that moment. As we could not sleep in it due to the smell we decided to take the only alternative given to us at that time i..e. a non-smoking "normal" room with twin beds. It was too late and we were too tired to argue more. The next morning, we went to the reception and asked for a compensation of the fact that we were given a room of lower level than we paid for and we were immediately upgraded to a suite on the superior floors. The suite was available at 10:00 so it was definitely available the night before so, in my view, the logical choice of the reception clerk should have been to upgrade us from the beginning instead of downgrading us. If she would have done so we would have been the happiest guests and my review title would have been "Perfect"

Room Tip: Smoking rooms smell terrible even for a smoker. Rooms facing Nanjing road have a nicer view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacanta_mare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#46 of 4,997 in Shanghai
776 reviews
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#34 of 4,997 in Shanghai
971 reviews
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#59 of 4,997 in Shanghai
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Majesty Plaza Shanghai
Majesty Plaza Shanghai
#176 of 4,997 in Shanghai
429 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#33 of 4,997 in Shanghai
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai

Property: Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.595 Jiujiang Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#50 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#63 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#65 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#66 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai is an international five star hotel in the heart of downtown Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Howard Johnson Shanghai
Shanghai Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing