We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Guxiang Hotel Shanghai
Nearby Hotels
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$232
$216
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Kunlun Jing An(Shanghai)
$141
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$153
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$390
$324
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,068)
Filter reviews
1,068 results
Traveler rating
373
520
138
25
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
373
520
138
25
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoward johnsonnanjing roadgreat locationbusiness suitepedestrian mallpeople's squareminute walkcentral locationwalking distancesuperior roomeasy accesssteam roomthe air conditioninghotel staffstar hotelbreakfast buffetvery nice hotel
Filter
Updating list...
432 - 437 of 1,068 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The HoJo as the staff affectionately call it is truly a five star hotel.

From the high quality of the rooms and their fittings to the magnificent Foyer area, it is all luxurious comfort.

The staff are most helpful and if you strike one not speaking English, they go to great trouble to find one that does. This is not the case for Shanghai in general as we found very few English speakers particularly amongst Police and Security Staff, where we had expected to find them.

Beware of succumbing to a casual coffee or drink in the Foyer unless you really need a second mortgage and go instead through the Foyer into the connected Starbucks. At first we thought that a Starbucks and a Five Star Hotel would be incongruous, but it worked.

The HoJo location was ideal with both shops and sightseeing close to hand.

There is always less to say about a well run five star hotel than a badly run three star one so suffice to say - if you want a very comfortable, conveniently located hotel in Shanghai with pleasant and helpful staff you do not need to look any further than the HoJo.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MPCNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was in Shanghai (on holiday) in 2007 in a package holiday. The hotel was not in the town centre but was good. This time hi was on a business trip. The hotel is near the icon view of Shanghai and you are able to walk between the "old" and the new Shanghai. It is an experience that you will not have much time to see it. The speed of change will not protect al those old street with local markets and shops aligned by functionalities (shoes, plumbing, food, etc,etc,) The HJP Shanghai is a modern and very pleasant hotel. Excellent breakfast, good gymnasium, good food and very pleasant room. Wireless internet available and free of charge.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FVentura357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent hotel , rooms are nicely furnished, breakfast Buffett offered a good variety of western and chinese selections, good location. Great service and also offered a great rate for converting Dollars to chinese currency.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location of the hotel is perfect for tourism - 3 minutes from Nanjing Road, 15 minutes to Shanghai Museum, 15-20 minutes to the Bund. Breakfast is a very good mix of Asian and Western cuisine with a lot of choices, Swimming pool is nice even though too shallow for my taste. Spa is also very nice, I had a foot massage which was very good.
My only complaint is related to the fact that on arrival (at 1:00 a.m.), having booked a superior room, we were given a smoking room which apparently was the only type of superior room left at that moment. As we could not sleep in it due to the smell we decided to take the only alternative given to us at that time i..e. a non-smoking "normal" room with twin beds. It was too late and we were too tired to argue more. The next morning, we went to the reception and asked for a compensation of the fact that we were given a room of lower level than we paid for and we were immediately upgraded to a suite on the superior floors. The suite was available at 10:00 so it was definitely available the night before so, in my view, the logical choice of the reception clerk should have been to upgrade us from the beginning instead of downgrading us. If she would have done so we would have been the happiest guests and my review title would have been "Perfect"

Room Tip: Smoking rooms smell terrible even for a smoker. Rooms facing Nanjing road have a nicer view
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacanta_mare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We can only describe this hotel as fantastic! This is not your typical US HoJo. It is the perfect blend of location, space, luxury, western comfort and price value!

We stayed there twice in our 17 day trip to china. First night and the last 4. All I can say is that when I got there on my very first day in China, I though to myself that this trip was not going to be as difficult as many people describe it. I was expecting communication problems, hard beds, and uneatable food. This HoJo is the exact opposite.

We missed it all throughout our trip in China, and when we finally came back for the last 4 nights we felt relived and like at Home. I must comment on how a big of a part of this positive experience is due to the staff. They are amazing!

Room Tip: Ask for free upgrades!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfanmty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews