We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good service, nice exec lounge”
Review of Hilton Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Shanghai
Ranked #58 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Los Altos, California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good service, nice exec lounge”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Felt at home here, which really helped with the transition to the busy city. Loved the exec lounge, which had better breakfast than the restaurant and a great view.
Expensive, no question, but great place.
I would have preferred to be in a different location as this one required a cab ride to go anywhere else. Marriott City Center is a better area.
Be sure to bring cash - Credit cards are not welcome outside of the hotel. Cabs all require cash

Room Tip: ask to use the exec lounge, even if it costs..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckw925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Hilton Shanghai.

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Shanghai and for taking the time to share your staying experience with TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you were pleased with our services and you have enjoyed your stay with us. Rest assured your comments with regards to our Executive Lounge have been shared with my team. The positive comments received are well appreciated as it gives us further encouragement to remain focus in our continuous effort to provide our guests with a comfortable stay experience.

We look forward very much to your next visit to Hilton Shanghai.

Yours sincerely,

Gerd Knaust
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    949
    1,074
    287
    88
    39
See reviews for
173
239
193
1,131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
north carolina
Level 6 Contributor
645 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

I chose the Hilton for a recent class I was running because I'm familiar with the brand and it was only the hotel list for my company. My company tried to have me move just two weeks before my event but I decided to stay and I'm glad I did.

The staff at this hotel is top notch, always willing to help you at all levels. When I was checking out, the hotel maid even volunteered to help me with my luggage.

The rooms are very clean with all the necessary amenities and mine was very quite. I was also able to get the darkness that I prefer. The room was comfortable size and the bathrooms are very clean and spacious.

The restaurants are also top notch although they are a little pricey. The business lounge was fantastic and well worth staying here for. The staff in the lounge is top notch as well and the food and drink offerings are very good.

The team supporting my class addressed all my questions and needs and helped me run and truly successful event. The daily food buffet which we paid for had great selections and all students appreciate the quality and the quick turnaround this gave us for getting back to class.

I look forward to using the Hilton again if we come to Shanghai.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Greetings from Hilton Shanghai.

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Shanghai and for taking the time to share your staying experience with TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you were pleased with our food and services and you have enjoyed your stay with us. Rest assured your comments about food, room, and the staffs in the lounge have been shared with my team. We greatly appreciate your comments and we will continue to encourage feedback from all our guests as this is a very important tool for us which will not only help us to continuously improve our services and facilities but also aid us rectify areas we failed in.

Let me assured you that Hilton's standards are high as ever at Hilton Shanghai and it is my hope that you will come visit us again. Please do contact me when you plan to visit Shanghai next so I may handle your reservation personally. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Shanghai.

Yours sincerely,
Gerd Knaust
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at this hotel multiple times & can always rely on a consistent guest experience. Great hotel for the western business traveler. The executive floors are worth the added cost as the service level provided by the staff is fantastic. The hotel is an older property, but is well maintained & clean.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank rhhjch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Shanghai and for taking the time to share your staying experience with TripAdvisor.

We are glad that you have enjoyed the services and the facilities provided. These positive comments are appreciated as it allows us to know that we are moving in the right direction.

Let me assured you that Hilton's standards are high as ever at Hilton Shanghai and it is my hope that you will come visit us again. Please do contact myself when you plan to visit Shanghai next so I may handle your reservation personally. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Shanghai.

Yours sincerely,

Gerd Knaust
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hongkong
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014

I was welcomed and addressed to in a perfect way. location of the hotel is ideal for airport bus, the old tempel and underground right middle in the hustle and bustle of the city. Tess at the executive lounge will fullfill any wish and she and her team looked after me that well that I will be back

Room Tip: the higher the floor the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackfranzmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Shanghai and for taking the time to share your staying experience with TripAdvisor.

It gives us great pleasure when we have guest commented that they had enjoyed their stay with us, especially with the services and facilities provided. Rest assured your compliments towards Tess and her team have been shared with the team. These comments gave great motivation toward our colleagues as we continue to cultivate excellence in the areas of services provided to our guests.

I do look forward to welcome you back the Hilton Shanghai on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Gerd Knaust
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Conveniently located near the Jing An Temple area, with easy access to the Subway, Hilton Shanghai is a good hotel for both business and family trips. The executive lounge on the 38th floor has superb city skyline views, and you may even see the Oriental Pearl tower on Pudong on clear days. Good value for your money!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Wei-Kuo Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Hilton Shanghai.

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Shanghai and for taking the time to share your staying experience with TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you were pleased with our services and facilities and enjoyed your stay. We greatly appreciate your comments and we will continue to encourage feedback from all our guests as this is a very important tool for us to help continuously improve our services.

Let me assured you that Hilton's standards are high as ever at Hilton Shanghai and it is my hope that you will come visit us again.

Yours sincerely,

Gerd Knaust
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baindt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Friendly and helpful staff. I have been many times there and was never disappointed. Unfortunately room rates are sometimes are too high for me ((Peak season or when hotel is amost full and I have to book by short notice).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ralf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Hilton Shanghai.

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Shanghai and for taking the time to share your staying experience with us.

I am delighted to hear that you were pleased with our services and you have enjoyed your stay with us. I greatly appreciate your comments and we will continue to encourage feedback from all our guests as this is a very important tool for us to help continuously improve our services.

Yours sincerely,

Gerd Knaust
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stayed only for 1 night, overall experience was good, I was upgraded to a panaromic King room (near the lift) unfortunately, so quite a bit of noise from the corridor. I came in from a red eye flight and desperately needed to check in - while I appreciate the early check in, the front desk staff (who seemed a little new) took more than 20 minutes for my check in, when there was no one else at the counter. After I checked into the room, spacious, clean and comfortable, I fell asleep for barely 10 minutes before getting rudely awakened by the phone - it was the same check in staff, who asked to verify my name and credit card details again!!! First experience marred by this - apart from that, room service delivery was prompt, food selection was good, breakfast and lunch buffet options were good too. Service staff were prompt and keen to help. All in all a good business hotel with a spacious lobby and excellent meeting space. Would give them a try again some time soon, given its good rates and good location around Jing An Temple and French Concession.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cat3ine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Hilton Shanghai—I hope this message finds you well on your journey onwards!

I do appreciate that you took the time from your day to share your experiences with us. As a valuable guest of ours, we are especially grateful that your comments are positive on hotel location and your stay experience. Still, I believe our front desk staff service could be improved without hassling more upon your arrival. It shows weakness on service part and will be taking into training process immediately.

Good to know that you will visit us again if in any future plan, and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future and encourage you to contact me directly should you need any assistance with your reservations!

With kind regards,

Gerd Knaust
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#53 of 5,069 in Shanghai
589 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#38 of 5,069 in Shanghai
2,582 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Jing'an
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
#51 of 5,069 in Shanghai
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Shanghai

Property: Hilton Shanghai
Address: No.250 Hua Shan Road,Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#37 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#44 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#46 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#58 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#84 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 714
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished Hilton Shanghai hotel towers impressively above the city's former French Concession and is located in the heart of Shanghai's business and entertainment districts. Within walking distance of Shanghai's exclusive shopping streets, Nanjing Xi Lu and Huaihai Lu, this prestigious Shanghai hotel is close to Shanghai attractions such as Jing'an Temple and Jing'an Park. Pudong International Airport is a 50-minute drive away and Hongqiao Airport is only 20 minutes from the hotel. Hold your next conference in one of the 18 meeting rooms or choose the elegant Grand Ballroom at this Shanghai hotel. All contemporary Hilton Shanghai hotel Guest Rooms offer a spacious work area, wireless Internet access and large windows offering views of the city. Choose and Executive Room for access to the 38th floor Executive Lounge. After a busy day, relax in the spa, enjoy a game of squash or work out in fitness center at the Hilton Shanghai hotel. Choose from one of the hotel's 8 restaurants and bars and Dine on fresh seafood at People on Water, the Ningbonese Chinese cuisine restaurant and enjoy views of the impressive Shanghai skyline from the level 39 Penthouse Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Hilton International Shanghai
Shanghai Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing