We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed feelings”
Review of Hilton Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Shanghai
Ranked #57 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed at the Shanghai Hilton Hotel last weekend (17/01-19/01). It was the first Hilton property built on the Mainland and, hence, it has grandeur as well as, unfortunately, a "dated" atmosphere in some quarters. Certainly, there are some definite pluses: as HiltonHHonors members, we were given an upgrade to a "Panorama Room" and a 4pm checkout - very nice! The complimentary breakfast in the huge, wonderfully airy restaurant on the ground floor was superb with a cornucopia of delicious choices and attentive service. Other aspects of our stay, however, literally left a lot to be desired. Room service is far from being efficient. We ordered several items, one of which, upon arrival, hardly resembled what was written on the menu. Upon inquiring, we were told that the menu had been changed but were assured that the "changed" dish would not appear on our bill. Though a satisfactory solution, the problem should not happen in a 5 star hotel. Upon ordering, guests should be advised about what is no longer on the menu. In fact, room menus should be changed immediately to reflect changes in the kitchen. The hotel is in the process of being refurbished and some parts are really showing their age. A most annoying aspect of this is that whole areas of the hotel smell of smoke. Actually this is a very uncomfortable issue since guests are still allowed to smoke inside. Most unsatisfactory in today's world when the dangers of second hand smoke are clear. We had already paid for access to the Executive Lounge but this was far less impressive, in terms of food and drink, than at other Hilton properties at which we have stayed. Nonetheless, the architectural design, furnishings, and night view of the lounge itself are magnificent. 2 other aspects of our stay where we felt disappointed and which did not measure up to a usual "Hilton Experience" were attention to detail and general staff attitude. Though two guests were registered, the toiletries provided would not have been enough for one. This was so even after the room had been done on the Saturday. We had to phone to get more soap and shampoo. Some of the staff, at the Concierge and, unforgivably, in the Executive Lounge were rather lackadaisical. Not a hotel that I would wish to visit again in a hurry!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzAussie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Greetings from Hilton Shanghai and thank you very much of taking your valuable time share your overall experiences with us!

After reviewed of your feedbacks, please accept our most sincere apologizes for all the failure in our part. I have highlighted your concerns regarding our hardware and service we are providing; all the shortness will be taken to the consideration of improvement in the future.

In particular, we understand that you feel a part of our rooms and overall atmosphere are not up to Hilton standard. We are working on improving this and we have renovated most of floors of guest rooms so far, by March 2014 we are able to provide renovated room for all of our guests.

I have also taken note of your constructive comments of overall team members attitude and the in room dining experiences, this is something that requires urgent corrective actions. Please rest assured that we will refresh our intensive training of the team to be consistent with international standards.

We value your business very much and we want you to continue to stay with us when travelling to Shanghai.
I hope my reaction to your remarks was to your satisfaction and I hope I will see you soon at the Hilton Shanghai!

with kind regards

Gerd Knaust
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    924
    1,056
    281
    86
    37
See reviews for
166
233
190
1,099
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Babylon, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2014

One of the best hotels in Shanghai--great location in the French Concession. Subway and shopping near by and a friendly, helpful staff. Concierge staff are wonderful --can arrange air and train bookings as well as car service and helpful suggestions on sightseeing and dining.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Happy New Year and thank you very much for taking your valuable time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

Your great comments, especially the compliments on hotel location, facilities and hotel concierge service. The constructive comments will be shared in concerned team and will encourage us to keep on that.

Last but not the least, The Hilton Team and I look forward to welcoming you back often in 2014.

With kind regards,

Gerd Knaust
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Maid was very cooperative in getting my bedding sorted out to suit my preferences. The breakfast buffet offers and excellent choice of international food. All the staff were very friendly and clearly looked out for you.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Gary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Happy New Year. On behalf of my team, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your compliments from your recent stay. We truly appreciate any feedback we get, as we use it as a significant tool in assessing our service.

I am so glad and appreciate for your great comments on our property location, guest room and breakfast. Your compliment on room maid, It will be surely shared in our concerned department and will encourage us to keep on that.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you have any additional comments or questions, as I would be pleased to hear from you. I look forward to welcoming you back in a prosperous New Year of 2014 soon!

Sincerely Yours,

Gerd Knaust
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The hotel is in an Excellent location and service is great. close to Highway and subway. in the middle of best shopping and attracttions in shanghai. it is always very busy so getting a reservation may not be easy. the SPA and restraunts in the hotel are first class

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Mo_The_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for spending your time on writing us a review here.

I am so glad that we have reached your expectation and our Team Members were taking good care of you during your stay. Your compliment words are extremely encouraging us and we will continue to do our best to serve our guests in the future.

Until then, please do not hesitate to liaise with me for any further assistance since I do look forward to seeing you often in 2014.

Warm wishes,
Gerd Knaust
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
无锡, China
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2014

travel when I was applying for working visa via Visa Department of German Consulate Shanghai in SOHO square. quite near, only 10 min. of driving. the hotel locates just in downtown. facility is good. staff friendly but can be more helpful. can be a choice for both tourism and biz trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Hao Dong X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you very much for writing us a positive review on Tripadvisor.

It is gratifying to know that our Team Members were taking care of you during your recent stay while our overall service standard and facilities have reached your expectation.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon. As always, we would like to maintain our service standard and make your future stays more comfortable.

Warm wishes,
Gerd Knaust
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The problem I have with Hilton is that there are always imperfections-broken water heater, A/C doesn't turn on, mini-bar isn't stocked, closet door doesn't close so light stays on all night....seemingly small issues but they matter and I do not want to spend my time complaining. I don't have these issues with Marriott.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Hilton Shanghai—I hope this message finds you well on your journey onwards.

Although I am disappointed to hear of your negative impressions of your recent stay with us, please know that we truly appreciate your feedback. I feel very sorry for the inconvenience caused due to room facilities issue and ensure it will be shared to concerned departments with necessary solutions taken immediately. I regret that we did not address your review until today. In addition, please be noted that we are currently under a part of rooms renovation from level 9 to 12. It might cause you any inconvenience but I believe it will improve hotel facilities and accommodate you better afterwards.

Please feel free to contact us further with any additional comments of plans to return, as we would be grateful for another opportunity to serve you better.

With warm regards,

Gerd Knaust
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

staying at the Hilton is always easy and enjoyable. The Hilton Shanghai is no different, great location, great breakfast, quiet, good bath and nice rooms. The only minor complaint is the hotel bar and minibar are overpriced for what you get. Anyway definitely worth staying for the assured level and quality the hilton provides.

Room Tip: get a bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ.metge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us here.

We truly value the feedback we receive from our guests, especially our loyal Members like you, as you are familiar with our values and service commitment. Your constructive comments regarding hotel location, rooms and breakfast are noted and it will be shared among our concerned department. In addition, price issue of mini bar and hotel bar will be also taken into our consideration.

My colleagues and I look forward to see you return to the Hilton Shanghai in the future.

With warm regards,

Gerd Knaust
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
#47 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#50 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
#55 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Shanghai

Property: Hilton Shanghai
Address: No.250 Hua Shan Road,Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#37 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#44 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#46 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#57 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#103 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 714
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished Hilton Shanghai hotel towers impressively above the city's former French Concession and is located in the heart of Shanghai's business and entertainment districts. Within walking distance of Shanghai's exclusive shopping streets, Nanjing Xi Lu and Huaihai Lu, this prestigious Shanghai hotel is close to Shanghai attractions such as Jing'an Temple and Jing'an Park. Pudong International Airport is a 50-minute drive away and Hongqiao Airport is only 20 minutes from the hotel. Hold your next conference in one of the 18 meeting rooms or choose the elegant Grand Ballroom at this Shanghai hotel. All contemporary Hilton Shanghai hotel Guest Rooms offer a spacious work area, wireless Internet access and large windows offering views of the city. Choose and Executive Room for access to the 38th floor Executive Lounge. After a busy day, relax in the spa, enjoy a game of squash or work out in fitness center at the Hilton Shanghai hotel. Choose from one of the hotel's 8 restaurants and bars and Dine on fresh seafood at People on Water, the Ningbonese Chinese cuisine restaurant and enjoy views of the impressive Shanghai skyline from the level 39 Penthouse Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Hilton International Shanghai
Shanghai Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing