We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, good location”
Review of Hilton Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Shanghai
Ranked #57 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, good location”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed only over a Saturday night in a standard room as did not expect to spend a lot of time in the Hotel. Rooms good size and no complaints. Breakfast was very good for China compared to other hotels here. Thought the staff spoke good English and were all (without exception) very polite, friendly and extremely helpful, even looking up places on the internet for me then writing down instructions in Chinese for the taxi driver. How would we manage here without this help?
Would stay here again as thought the price reasonable for what I received.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian9992013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to write review on Tripadvisor by submitting your impression of our hotel.

I pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time at your recent stay in Hilton Shanghai. Your great comments on room facilities as well as service part will definitely encourage us to continue focusing on guest satisfaction at any time in the future. All related department will be shared with your mentioned comments.

Please feel free to contact me directly for any future reservation or other assistance. We are confident your future experiences with us will be continuously satisfactory.

with kind regards,

Gerd Knaust
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    934
    1,060
    283
    88
    39
See reviews for
167
233
192
1,114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

As a Hilton Diamond, I was given a lovely room and access to the Executive Lounge. My room was perfect and the staff in the Executive Lounge made every visit enjoyable. In the evening, I would purchase a salad in the Atrium Shop and bring it to the Lounge were I could enjoy the refreshments and desserts. The omelets at breakfast were the best I had in China.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to write a review on Tripadvisor by submitting your impression of our property.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments, especially on our new Executive lounge and Atrium food issue. It will be definitely shared in our concerned team and it will encourage us to continue focusing on what our guest care for in the future.

Please feel free to contact me directly for any future reservation or other assistance, My colleagues and me are looking forward to seeing you in many future visits.

With kind regards

Gerd Knaust
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I stayed at the Hilton Shanghai for business. I agree that the hotel, overall, looks a little tired but service was great - sent a car to pick me up at the airport and someone was waiting to greet me at the front door when I arrived. Always very friendly when I talked with the concierge who pointed me in the right direction. Location was so-so; wish there were more options near the hotel but a cheap cab ride to the Bund and Yu Gardens. My room was on the 30th floor - and it was great that it was windy while I was there because I could actually see Shanghai (the pollution was blown away) - but that left a high pitch whistling sound in the room from the wind.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seattlebartlettpears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your most recent stays with us!

We truly value the comments and feedback we receive from our guests, especially our loyal Members like you, as you are familiar with our values and service commitment. In particular, I am grateful to know the details that you enjoyed most during your stay such as arrival experience by our concierge team as well as guest relation officers. Your comments regarding the condition of our rooms will also be noted for improvement. I am pleased to inform you that we are currently undergoing major renovations to update our facilities. I hope that you find a positive change upon your next visit.

My colleagues and I look forward to see you return to the Hilton Shanghai in the future! Please do not hesitate to contact me directly with any additional questions, comments or concerns you may have, as I would be happy to hear from you.

With warm regards,

Gerd Knaust
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This hotel is pretty good, but I thought that my deluxe room was a little tired. Also its design was not exactly ergonomic as the wardrobe was a considerable distance from the bed area and one needed binoculars to see the TV. We held a conference in the hotel earlier in the year and then I had an executive room, which was superior to the deluxe and probably worth the extra expense it you are on business. Service was not bad and the general layout and service provision of the hotel is OK. My overall impression was reasonably good but not exceptional for a Hilton.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your schedule to submit your impressions of your stays with us. We truly appreciate feedback from our regular guests as an important means to understand what our guests value most and what could be improved upon.

With this said, I am pleased to inform you that we have begun the second phase of our renovations and hope that you find a distinguishable change in our rooms once our improvements are complete. Still, I am very happy to hear that my colleagues are serve you well during your stay!

If you have any questions, comments or concerns, do not hesitate to contact me directly. Otherwise, my colleagues and I look forward to having you back soon!

with kind regards

Gerd Knaust
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Hilton is one of the earlier quality hotels in Shanghai, many new ones so they have to compete and they do. If you can get the Executive lounge treatment, it adds a great evening relax with wine and food and beer-free! Good breakfast, great location, metro across the street in the park and beautiful temples nearby. In the French concession, 2 stops from Nanjing East shopping mecca.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Hilton Shanghai—I hope this message finds you well!

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of your most recent stay with us. We truly appreciate any and all of our guests' feedback as an important tool in our improvement and understanding what our guests value most.

From your comments, I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us overall.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our property soon. Should you have any additional comments or questions, do not hesitate to contact me directly, as I would be eager to assist!

Warm wishes,
Gerd Knaust
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is a hotel that is exploiting its location. Value for money and quality of service is very average. Asked for a glass of water at the bar was denied and was required to purchase a small bottle for RMB 55 plus lobby charges. Internet service is poor

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank bhusawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your detailed impressions of your stays with us. We truly appreciate your assessment on our service and facilities over repeated stays.

I am very pleased to hear that our location suited your trip. However, your comments on inter net has been well-noted for our review.

My colleagues and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Until then, please feel free to contact me directly should you have any additional comments or questions.

with kind regards

Gerd Knaust
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Very good hotel. Very clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Very close to Nanjing Road and Jinan Temple. About 30 minutes to Honqiao airport and railway station. Very convenient for business trips.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Matthias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for submitting a review of your most recent stay with us. Your feedback is very much appreciated: we are always eager to know what our guests value most during their visits.

From your comments, I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially in regards to our staff and location. Our service is our primary focus and it is encouraging to hear that our efforts have been worthwhile.

Please know that I would be happy to hear from you further with any detailed comments. Otherwise, my colleagues and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

with kind regards

Gerd Knaust
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#52 of 5,059 in Shanghai
579 reviews
Jing'an
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
#49 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,124 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#36 of 5,059 in Shanghai
2,540 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Shanghai

Property: Hilton Shanghai
Address: No.250 Hua Shan Road,Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#37 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#44 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#46 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#57 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#90 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 714
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished Hilton Shanghai hotel towers impressively above the city's former French Concession and is located in the heart of Shanghai's business and entertainment districts. Within walking distance of Shanghai's exclusive shopping streets, Nanjing Xi Lu and Huaihai Lu, this prestigious Shanghai hotel is close to Shanghai attractions such as Jing'an Temple and Jing'an Park. Pudong International Airport is a 50-minute drive away and Hongqiao Airport is only 20 minutes from the hotel. Hold your next conference in one of the 18 meeting rooms or choose the elegant Grand Ballroom at this Shanghai hotel. All contemporary Hilton Shanghai hotel Guest Rooms offer a spacious work area, wireless Internet access and large windows offering views of the city. Choose and Executive Room for access to the 38th floor Executive Lounge. After a busy day, relax in the spa, enjoy a game of squash or work out in fitness center at the Hilton Shanghai hotel. Choose from one of the hotel's 8 restaurants and bars and Dine on fresh seafood at People on Water, the Ningbonese Chinese cuisine restaurant and enjoy views of the impressive Shanghai skyline from the level 39 Penthouse Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Hilton International Shanghai
Shanghai Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing