We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average stay in November” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Shanghai
Ranked #51 of 4,971 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Average stay in November”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is a hotel that is exploiting its location. Value for money and quality of service is very average. Asked for a glass of water at the bar was denied and was required to purchase a small bottle for RMB 55 plus lobby charges. Internet service is poor

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank bhusawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your detailed impressions of your stays with us. We truly appreciate your assessment on our service and facilities over repeated stays.

I am very pleased to hear that our location suited your trip. However, your comments on inter net has been well-noted for our review.

My colleagues and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Until then, please feel free to contact me directly should you have any additional comments or questions.

with kind regards

Gerd Knaust
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    893
    1,034
    276
    85
    35
See reviews for
160
226
186
1,059
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Very good hotel. Very clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Very close to Nanjing Road and Jinan Temple. About 30 minutes to Honqiao airport and railway station. Very convenient for business trips.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Matthias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for submitting a review of your most recent stay with us. Your feedback is very much appreciated: we are always eager to know what our guests value most during their visits.

From your comments, I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially in regards to our staff and location. Our service is our primary focus and it is encouraging to hear that our efforts have been worthwhile.

Please know that I would be happy to hear from you further with any detailed comments. Otherwise, my colleagues and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

with kind regards

Gerd Knaust
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

I have been going through this facility on transit over the last 8 years or so. All aspects of the facility are good. They damaged the tennis court to start with and the executive lounge does not have any vegetarian option of the grill. Service level is good. Often when you ask they go the extra mile. However the fact that you have to ask sometimes makes you wonder whether they have it right at all times. Overall I would say its good to very good depending on length of stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sendhil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Hilton Shanghai—I hope this message finds you well on your journey onwards!

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of your most recent stay with us. We truly appreciate your feedback as an important tool in our improvement and development.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you have any additional questions, comments or concerns, as I would be eager to assist. Otherwise, I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Gerd Knaust
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Having just spent one week here, I must say the Executive Lounge team are the best that I have experienced todate and i have been to many across many countries. They all truly understand the meaning of making the customer feel welcome and at ease. As i was on my own, I felt they made a special effort to talk and help me out. The quality of the products on offer was very good also. A special mention to Dylan on the team who excelled at customer excellence consistently.
My whole experience at the hotel was great

Its a good location (short taxi) for gay clubs £1.50 each way which is much better tan getting the metro, but the Metro is very close and convenient for everything.

If I return to Shanghai, i will stay here again and will recommend to my friends.

The other facilities are good also, although the Sauna, Steam Room and Bits ariund this area could be kept tidy more often as the floors looked more like the swimming pool....

Excellent result for me, thanks Team Hilton Shanghai

Room Tip: Well, I had a high floor so could not hear any noise or traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbs1259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of my team, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of your recent stays with us. We truly appreciate any feedback we can get, as we use it as a significant tool in assessing our service. However, we are especially grateful for the comments of our regular guests, such as yourself, as you recognize our service standards over your return stays!

I also appreciate for your great comments on our property locationand SPA experience. In particular, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in your Executive Room and the time spent in the Executive Lounge. I will be sure to pass on your comments for Dylan from Executive lounge to our related Management, so they may be recognized for their service commitment.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you have any additional comments or questions, as I would be pleased to hear from you. Otherwise, I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely Yours,

Gerd Knaust
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Spent 1 night at Hilton Shanghai, the location is excellent but the service need to be improve. Even though the staff at the executive lounge also have limited smile to us. I wish to settle my balance by cash however has been told that they dont have any small change and I need to pay the exactly amount which is sound very funny. The officers in coicerge not very helpful as well. Overall the money I paid for 5 star only worth for 3 star. Its dont have any Hilton feel at this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Firstly, I want to thank you very much for your honest and detailed review of your recent stay with us. We most certainly try to touch every aspect of our guests stays that you mentioned with our efforts and regret that we did not impress you in all areas.

In fact, I do appreciate for your valuable comments on your Executive lounge staff and concierge staff issue. Rest assured that we will most certainly take note of what could be improved and what you valued most during your stay with sharing your comments in concerned department and carrying on necessary solutions.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you have any additional comments or questions, as I would be pleased to hear from you. Otherwise, I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

with kind regards

Gerd Knaust
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
147 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

I just finishing staying at the Hilton Shanghai. In the past when I stayed in Shanghai I usually stayed in the new part on the river, so this was different for me. However, this part of Shanghai has character and is not far by taxi if you want to see the new buildings. The room was comfortable and the executive lounge was nice with a great view. I only had a couple of nights so did not have much interaction with the staff as I was working. Clearly this is a little older than the newer hotels on the river, but it met my business needs.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Hilton Shanghai—I hope this message finds you well and that you are enjoying your time with us!

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of your stay. We truly appreciate any feedback we can get, so that we may recognize what our guests value most and how we may improve.

If you have any further comments to submit at the end of your stay, do not hesitate to contact me directly, as I would be eager to hear from you! Otherwise, enjoy the remainder of your stay and we will look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

with kind regards

Gerd Knaust
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed here for five nights. The room was roomy enough, beds were comfortable and bathroom was adequate, not too small and not too big. Free bottles of water are replenished daily and tea & coffee facilities are available.

Breakfast is buffet style (hot and cold choices) with an egg as well as a noodle station and is in the atrium café which is really light, airy and relaxing.

We made use of room service once and it came fairly quickly, was well presented and tasted pretty good.

Staff are polite and friendly. My only gripe would be the WiFi. It was excruciatingly slow most of the time, they really need to sort it out because if one needs to work, one needs to be very patient.

Location wise, it is right in the French concession area which has loads of great cafes and restaurants and is a great place to just wander around during the day and in the evenings.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chaifairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your detailed impressions of your stays with us. We truly appreciate your assessment on our service and facilities over repeated stays.

I am very pleased to hear that my colleagues have consistently served you well over your stays; however, your comments on the speed of wifi has been well-noted for our review.

My colleagues and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Until then, please feel free to contact me directly should you have any additional comments or questions.

with kind regards

Gerd Knaust
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
#40 of 4,971 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#44 of 4,971 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
#53 of 4,971 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Shanghai

Property: Hilton Shanghai
Address: No.250 Hua Shan Road,Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#37 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#44 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#46 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#51 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#120 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 714
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished Hilton Shanghai hotel towers impressively above the city's former French Concession and is located in the heart of Shanghai's business and entertainment districts. Within walking distance of Shanghai's exclusive shopping streets, Nanjing Xi Lu and Huaihai Lu, this prestigious Shanghai hotel is close to Shanghai attractions such as Jing'an Temple and Jing'an Park. Pudong International Airport is a 50-minute drive away and Hongqiao Airport is only 20 minutes from the hotel. Hold your next conference in one of the 18 meeting rooms or choose the elegant Grand Ballroom at this Shanghai hotel. All contemporary Hilton Shanghai hotel Guest Rooms offer a spacious work area, wireless Internet access and large windows offering views of the city. Choose and Executive Room for access to the 38th floor Executive Lounge. After a busy day, relax in the spa, enjoy a game of squash or work out in fitness center at the Hilton Shanghai hotel. Choose from one of the hotel's 8 restaurants and bars and Dine on fresh seafood at People on Water, the Ningbonese Chinese cuisine restaurant and enjoy views of the impressive Shanghai skyline from the level 39 Penthouse Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Hilton International Shanghai
Shanghai Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing