We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently mediocre”
Review of Hilton Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Shanghai
Ranked #57 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Consistently mediocre”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I can attest to the Hilton Shanghai pervasive mediocrity.

Having been a guest of the Hilton in Shanghai on many occasions and usually being allocated an un-renovated room, on my last visit I decided to upgrade to an Executive Room to ensure I had a comfortable desk and chair. The room was the same as the other renovated non-executive rooms- so OK, still have showers over baths like grandma house- but I was disappointed to find that the hotel charges executive’s' accompanying visitors in the executive lounge. Not that unusual I suppose but I have stayed in several hotels where one can bring a guest into the lounge or coffee or a drink and they are warmly welcomed and not charged.

When working from laptop in a foreign city it is great to be able to hold short meetings in the lounge with colleagues and expect them to be welcomed rather than checked overas if they are trying to cadge a free coffee. The staff on the executive level are generally unfriendly and officious, a bit like customs inspectors.

I was travelling with a group of six work colleagues so at breakfast (in the lobby), on two occasions, we were seated behind the waiters station next to a growing pile of dirty dishes. Buffet breakfast is very good at the Hilton (one Plus) but they have replaced their previously quite good coffee with brown weak liquid- at least you can drink several cups without getting edgy I suppose.

For some reason the porters done want to hail taxis to come to the entrance anymore.

The ladies of the night are less confronting now- they don’t seem to follow guests up to their rooms uninvited anymore but they do cruise the lobby cocktail bar leering at guests. To avoid them one could head up to the Level 35 Cocktail Lounge but only if one enjoys cigar smoke.

Room Tip: Higher floors are renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to offer your impressions of your most recent stay with us. Rest assured that your comments are very much appreciated, as we use feedback from our guests as an important tool in our training and improvement.

Having said this, we do appreciate for your valuable detail comments on our hotel facilities and service part. Particularly, as your mentioned on Executive lounge and restaurant experience such as breakfast, it will be surely shared in our concerned department head with necessary solution followed up.

Please know that any additional comments, questions or concerns you are willing to share with us would be welcome. I would be pleased to hear from you directly!

Warm wishes,
Kenny Gong

Assistant Fron Office Manager & HHonors Manager
8621-62480000 Ext.2130
Kenny.Gong@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    934
    1,060
    283
    88
    39
See reviews for
167
233
192
1,114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Good location: 3 min to subway station (line 2, Jing'an Temple), about 10 min to Nanjing road by step, and around 45 min to the Bund.
A lot of molls and restaurants.
Great service.
Free wifi in lobby.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ZoyaAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Hilton Shanghai—I hope this message finds you well!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions of your most recent stay with us. We truly appreciate any and all of our guests’ feedback as an important tool in our improvement and understanding what our guests value most.

I'm also very pleased to know about your great comments especially for hotel location as well as service part and WiFi issue. It will be surely shared in our team and encourage us to maintain good service continually.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our property soon. Should you have any additional comments or questions, do not hesitate to contact me directly, as I would be eager to assist!

Warm wishes,
Kenny Gong

Assistant Front Office & Hhonors Manager
8621-62480000 Ext.2130
Kenny. Gong@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hotel is nice, did the job. Pleasant, helpful, good english speaking staff. Room was clean. Food was good. Walking distance to popular shopping areas. Nice view of the Shanghai skyline. Very nice workout facility. I would recommend this property.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Hilton Shanghai—I hope this message finds you well!

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of your most recent stay with us. We truly appreciate any and all of our guests’ feedback as an important tool in our improvement and understanding what our guests value most.

Having said this, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Particularly, I am pleased you enjoyed your room and the location of the hotel, and very pleased to know that my colleagues served you well and catered to your specific preferences!

We look forward to welcoming you back to our property soon. Should you have any additional comments or questions, do not hesitate to contact me directly, as I would be eager to assist!

Warm wishes,
Kenny Gong

Assistant Front Office Manager & HHonors Manager
8621-62480000 Ext.2130
Kenny.Gong@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We spent a very pleasant and comfortable weekend at the Shanghai Hilton. The room was up to standard and so was the food. In particular, we enjoyed their very reasonable priced Sunday brunch which had a large range of Western, Chinese and other Asian dishes.
I would advise anyone staying here not to sign for for extras but pay at the time with cash or card instead. We signed for an evening meal when we arrived and breakfast the next morning and were summoned to reception so they could increase the amount blocked on our credit card - as we had run up such a large bill!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HGA25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Hilton Shanghai—I hope this message finds you well!

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of your most recent stay with us. We truly appreciate any and all of our guests’ feedback as an important tool in our improvement and understanding what our guests value most.

It's always so glad to hear from guest positive comments as such, especially for compliments on our Sunday Brunch part. In addition, I'm very pleased to know that you did enjoy our Food & Beverage service and facilities as the treatment for example!

We look forward to welcoming you back to our property soon. Should you have any additional comments or questions, do not hesitate to contact me directly, as I would be eager to assist!

Warm wishes,
Kenny Gong

Assistant Front Office & Hhonors Manager
8621-62480000 Ext.2130
Kenny. Gong@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Good hotel in a good location. Food is OK. Bar is OK. Accessible to airports. Easy to get taxi. Restaurants are close. Walking distance to main shopping area. We did do a Spa treatment which we found very good. A nice pool, spa, work out area. Overall all a good hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasulliv19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Hilton Shanghai—I hope this message finds you well!

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of your most recent stay with us. We truly appreciate any and all of our guests’ feedback as an important tool in our improvement and understanding what our guests value most.

Having seen from your comments, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Particularly, I am pleased you enjoyed your room and the location of the hotel, and very pleased to know that you did enjoy our SPA facilities as the treatment for example!

We look forward to welcoming you back to our property soon. Should you have any additional comments or questions, do not hesitate to contact me directly, as I would be eager to assist!

Warm wishes,
Kenny Gong

Assistant Front Office & Hhonors Manager
8621-62480000 Ext.2130
Kenny. Gong@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury Salterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Some hotels in the Hilton portfolio don't live up to the quality once expected of this brand but the Shanghai Hilton is certainly up there with the best. Situated in the French Concession area of Shanghai the Hilton is handy for the main shopping areas and just a short cab ride away from the Bund with its views of the famous Pudong skyline. Ancient temples are also nearby. Rooms are very large by Far East standards and some have great views across the city. The hotel has a spa which I didn't use, my daughter reported it to be excellent but found it annoying that it was compulsory to purchase a swimming cap before using the pool. The breakfast buffet has to be one of the best in China with its generous mix of oriental and Western dishes. There is also an evening buffet with a wide choice of well-prepared dishes and another restaurant specialising in sea-food. However, I suggest you have a splurge and try the restaurant on the top floor. Wow but this is good! Very expensive by Chinese standards but worth every penny and the adjoining cocktail bar is worth it just for the view. A warning to non-smokers that there are a couple of smoking tables in this restaurant and many tables in the cocktail bar and ground-floor bar also permit smoking. My room flooded in the night due to problems on the floor above. It took just minutes to move me to another, and better room, and when I checked out the Duty Manager was waiting to apologise and to let me know that the General Manager would be contacting me at home to "put the matter right". I have stayed here before and will stay here again.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pursuitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for submitting your detailed review of your most recent stay with us!

I am very grateful for your encouraging words and your specific examples of what made your stay enjoyable. We rely on feedback similar to yours to understand what our guest value most in their visits to our property and also what can be improved.

Particularly, I am pleased to know you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel and the comfort of our rooms. Similarly, I am pleased that you enjoyed our Food and Beverage offerings throughout the hotel. However, your comments about the smoking-permitted areas as well as the regulations in our swimming pool have been well-noted to see how we may potentially address these inconveniences.

In regards to your comments about the flooding you experienced, I truly appreciate your patience and understanding, and I am glad to know my colleagues assisted you well to make sure your stay was not too troubled.

Should there be any additional comments you may want to share with us or any questions you may have, do not hesitate to contact me directly, as I would be eager to help! Otherwise, my colleagues and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm wishes,
Olivia Ji

Magic Manager
8621-62480000 Ext.2800
olivia.ji@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed in the Hilton Shanghai during a business trip to Shanghai for 7 nights.

Positives
Great location, great views, helpful staff, clean rooms

Negatives
Wifi not free - amazing hotels still charge for this where even budget hostels offer free wifi

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tynan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Hilton Shanghai—I hope this message finds you well!

We are always seeking feedback from our guests to gain a better understanding of what they value during their stays and what may be improved, so I am very grateful for your comments and pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am most happy to hear that my colleagues were helpful during your stay.

However, your comment about our internet has been well-noted, and I am pleased to inform you that we are planning improvements to our internet service in the coming months. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon and that you find an improvement then.

Should you have any further comments or questions, do not hesitate to contact me directly as I would be eager to hear from you. Otherwise, my colleagues and I look forward to seeing you upon your next visit!


Warm wishes,
Olivia Ji

Magic Manager
8621-62480000 Ext.2800
olivia.ji@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#52 of 5,059 in Shanghai
579 reviews
Jing'an
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
#49 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,124 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#36 of 5,059 in Shanghai
2,540 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Shanghai

Property: Hilton Shanghai
Address: No.250 Hua Shan Road,Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#37 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#44 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#46 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#57 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#90 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 714
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished Hilton Shanghai hotel towers impressively above the city's former French Concession and is located in the heart of Shanghai's business and entertainment districts. Within walking distance of Shanghai's exclusive shopping streets, Nanjing Xi Lu and Huaihai Lu, this prestigious Shanghai hotel is close to Shanghai attractions such as Jing'an Temple and Jing'an Park. Pudong International Airport is a 50-minute drive away and Hongqiao Airport is only 20 minutes from the hotel. Hold your next conference in one of the 18 meeting rooms or choose the elegant Grand Ballroom at this Shanghai hotel. All contemporary Hilton Shanghai hotel Guest Rooms offer a spacious work area, wireless Internet access and large windows offering views of the city. Choose and Executive Room for access to the 38th floor Executive Lounge. After a busy day, relax in the spa, enjoy a game of squash or work out in fitness center at the Hilton Shanghai hotel. Choose from one of the hotel's 8 restaurants and bars and Dine on fresh seafood at People on Water, the Ningbonese Chinese cuisine restaurant and enjoy views of the impressive Shanghai skyline from the level 39 Penthouse Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Hilton International Shanghai
Shanghai Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing