We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, great location”
Review of Hilton Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Shanghai
Ranked #59 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good, great location”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I often stay here when I'm on business in Shanghai and it's a reliable favorite. It's located near JingAn and close to the French Concession business area, a short stroll to bars and restaurants. It happens to be the closest to my office, but the reason I stay is because the rooms are good quality international standard and service is consistently good. It's not cheap but it does represent good value for what you get and it simply works very well for the business traveller. Staff are always helpful and friendly - keep up the good work!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OpulentChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Hilton Shanghai—I hope this message finds you well on your journey onwards!

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions of your most recent stay with us. We are very grateful to know what you value most about your stays and appreciate your encouraging words. We look forward to having you back soon and serving you in the future!

Please know that I would welcome any additional comments or questions you may have. Feel free to contact me directly, as I would be eager to assist!

Warm wishes,
Olivia Ji

Magic Manager
8621-62480000 Ext.2800
olivia.ji@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    955
    1,086
    291
    88
    41
See reviews for
175
240
193
1,148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is a well located business hotel with most aspects up to Hilton's standards. Staying in the exec rooms at the upper levels means stunning views of the shanghai skyline and all the traffic below - get used to it day and night. Access to the exec lounge is good too with a better breakfast service than you get in the atrium cafe below.
exec rooms are clean and spacious and in good order with a large desk to work at. Wi fi is only free in the lobby and exec lounge, and not particularly cheap otherwise. TV choice is a bit limited in English - ESPN sports are great at repeats!
restaurants are patchy, the atrium cafe is OK for a basic range of food and leonardos the Italia, well give it a miss, expensive with rude and unhelpful staff who really didnt want the business of our group
Lobby staff great, particularly in managing taxis and other tasks along with really helpful folk in the exec lounge
Top floor bar has stunning nighttime views but is very noisy with the music - or maybe i'm getting old!

All in all a good place to stay in town

Room Tip: exec rooms with the facilities that come with it are worth it for the views and lounge access, parti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinAnne499484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for submitting your impressions of your most recent stay with us. We truly appreciate any and all feedback we receive as an important tool in our development and improvement.

From your comments, I am pleased to know that you enjoyed the location of our hotel as well as the views from your room and the condition of your room. In addition, I am grateful that you valued your Executive Lounge Access and my colleagues serving you here and in the lobby.

However, I am disappointed to know that you were not similarly impressed with our restaurant selection or service. Your comments for our internet policy have also been well-noted for further consideration: Rest assured that we are constantly working on improving our product and service offerings. I apologize for the shortcomings you experienced, but hope that you find a positive change upon your return!

Please do not hesitate to contact me further with any additional comments, as I would welcome your suggestions. Otherwise, I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm wishes,
Olivia Ji

Magic Manager
8621-62480000 Ext.2800
olivia.ji@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The Shanghai hilton is well located, close to the main up-market shopping area and a short taxi ride to the Bund and river sights. The service was great - all staff that we encountered had no problems understanding us in English. Very good level of service. The bedrooms are dated and need refurbishment though, but were clean. For example the shower is one of those over a shallow bath, and without automatic temperature control.

However even with our corporate deal, it is very expensive - £140/night at Sept 2012

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Usk-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Hilton Shanghai—I hope this message finds you well on your journey onwards!

We are very grateful that you took the time to submit your impressions about your recent stay with us. We are very aware of the value that comments such as yours have in regards to how we may improve and train to a higher standard. In particular, I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed the overall location and service provided by my colleagues. Still, your comments for the condition of the room and pricing will be taken into further serious consideration. I am pleased to inform you that we are currently completing renovations for a large portion of our guest rooms, and hope we have the opportunity to impress you when you return.

Please do not hesitate to contact me further with any questions, comments or concerns, as I would be eager to assist you!

Warm wishes,
Olivia Ji

Magic Manager
8621-62480000 Ext.2800
olivia.ji@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Of the four hotels I stayed in China, this was my least favorite. While the hotel itself has the complete amentities you would expect in a Hilton (or major hotel chain) - clean, spacious rooms, excellent breakfast in the open-air Atrium cafe, spa, etc. - I did have issues. First, while I found the room staff very friendly and open to conversation, the front desk staff were less than friendly and more "efficient". Second, I found the free Wi-Fi policy rather ridiculous: available only within the first floor lobby area and restricted to 1 (one) hour (non-accumulative) of use per day. Third, be careful of "mini-bar" charges they will try to "stick you for". When I first check-out, I was told my bill was settled. Then one hour later, they called me back to the desk for a mini-bar charge of wine. It took awhile, but they did finally take this charge off. Finally, as some have mentioned, the hotel is going through renovations (which it needs). However, the work was being done at all hours of day and night...as early as 3 AM sometimes. Despite calling this to their attention at the front desk after the first night, it still continued unabated.

Aside, location is good if you need to get to the Hongqiao Airport (only a 20-minute drive), however, the Pudong International Airport is an optimistic 50-minute drive (in good traffic - fortunately we left on a Sunday, but other days, I would plan at least one hour.

Final suggestion: They do allow smoking in certain lounges and restaurants (and even rooms), so suggest a non-smoking room and avoid the smoking areas. Also, there is a park close by and many shops, but little area around the hotel to really stretch your legs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank profkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time from your schedule to submit a review of your most recent experience at our property—we truly appreciate your comments and constructive criticism as an important catalyst in our improvement and training needs.

Although I appreciate your kind and encouraging words in regards to the condition of the rooms, overall breakfast, and service from our room’s staff, I am very disappointed that these impressions did not extend to other experiences during your stay. In particular, I regret the negative encounters you experienced with the Front Desk and your mini bar charges as well as the disturbances you experienced from our construction. Rest assured that we will take more care to monitor our work. In addition, your notes about our internet service will be taken into further consideration upon the renewal of our internet plans.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back and serve you better in the near future. Until then, please do not hesitate to contact me directly with any additional comments, questions or concerns, as I would be eager to assist!

Warm wishes,
Olivia Ji

Magic Manager
8621-62480000 Ext.2800
olivia.ji@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Was staying at one the panoramic suites. Plenty of space with excellent views. The service was very good with in room checking-in. Good location with park and temple nearby. Very easy to get to all the attractions in Shanghai from the hotel. Good restaurants, bars and shopping centre are also close to the door step. Executive lounge was also very good. Overall, it is a good hotel if somewhat dated in certain aspects, however, they are starting to do renovations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lzhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions of your most recent stay with us: we truly appreciate that you took the time to give us your feedback, as we are always seeking to understand what our guest’s value most during their visits.

In particular, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and view, and that you were well-received at the hotel upon your arrival. Also, I am happy to know that you had a good experience in our Executive Lounge. I look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel, especially after our renovations are complete!

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly with any additional comments or questions as I would be happy to help! Otherwise, we hope to see you soon!

Warm wishes,
Olivia Ji

Magic Manager
8621-62480000 Ext.2800
olivia.ji@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed there recently for a few nights in one of the renovated rooms. I would say that they are up to specs with other Hiltons that we have stayed in.

Used the gym and pool, which I thought were well maintained and looked very clean.

Breakfast buffet and executive lounge were good as well, however they do not allow kids on the executive lounge, which is understandable. Buffet had a very nice variety of both chinese and western dishes.

Pleasant stay and and no issues or complaints on our part.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mklsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Hilton Shanghai—I hope this message finds you well on your journey onwards!

Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking the time to submit your impressions of your most recent stay with us. We are constantly seeking the feedback and suggestions of our guest’s as an important tool in recognizing what they value most during their visits. In particular, I am pleased to find that you enjoyed your renovated room as well as our spa facilities. Also, I will be certain to share your encouraging comments regarding the food and beverage offerings in the Executive Lounge with our Management.

Please know that I would be eager to hear from you directly if you have any additional comments or questions. Otherwise, I look forward to welcoming you back to our property!

Warm wishes,
Olivia Ji

Magic Manager
8621-62480000 Ext.2800
olivia.ji@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is a good location. Hotel is worn out and needs urgent renovation. Rooms are dated. Service staff is very transactional but efficient. In my last stay, there was repair work going on in the floor above and clearly very disturbing. Then there was a strong smell of carpet glue in my room, thru the floor and in the elevator. After complaining they changed the room.

Internet is RMB160 or $25 per day. They need to charge less

Room Tip: Ask specifically for renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bhusawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for submitting a review of your stay in September with us. I appreciate your detailed comments and observations, as we use any and all of our guests’ feedback as an important tool for our training and improvement.

In particular, I am pleased that my colleagues have served you efficiently. Likewise, I am pleased to inform you that we are currently undergoing renovations to address the age of our rooms and hope to complete the first phase of rooms in the first weeks of October. However, I regret that our construction affected you negatively during your stay, but I am glad that my colleague helped you change rooms and hope that we have a change to impress you when you return.

Furthermore, your comments regarding our internet policy have been noted for further consideration in selecting our internet plan in the coming year. However, until then, note that we have complimentary internet available in the Lobby as well as the Executive Lounge.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly with any additional comments you may have, as I would be eager to know. Otherwise, we look forward to having you back at the Hilton Shanghai!

Warm wishes,
Olivia Ji

Magic Manager
8621-62480000 Ext.2800
olivia.ji@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#38 of 5,105 in Shanghai
2,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#53 of 5,105 in Shanghai
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Shanghai

Property: Hilton Shanghai
Address: No.250 Hua Shan Road,Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#37 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#44 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#46 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#59 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#102 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 714
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished Hilton Shanghai hotel towers impressively above the city's former French Concession and is located in the heart of Shanghai's business and entertainment districts. Within walking distance of Shanghai's exclusive shopping streets, Nanjing Xi Lu and Huaihai Lu, this prestigious Shanghai hotel is close to Shanghai attractions such as Jing'an Temple and Jing'an Park. Pudong International Airport is a 50-minute drive away and Hongqiao Airport is only 20 minutes from the hotel. Hold your next conference in one of the 18 meeting rooms or choose the elegant Grand Ballroom at this Shanghai hotel. All contemporary Hilton Shanghai hotel Guest Rooms offer a spacious work area, wireless Internet access and large windows offering views of the city. Choose and Executive Room for access to the 38th floor Executive Lounge. After a busy day, relax in the spa, enjoy a game of squash or work out in fitness center at the Hilton Shanghai hotel. Choose from one of the hotel's 8 restaurants and bars and Dine on fresh seafood at People on Water, the Ningbonese Chinese cuisine restaurant and enjoy views of the impressive Shanghai skyline from the level 39 Penthouse Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Hilton International Shanghai
Shanghai Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing