We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent "western hotel" in the heart of Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel
Ranked #35 of 5,206 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Spent five nights for a business trip with access to the Club Lounge. Main dining room, Chinese restaurant, and Club food were all very good, hot, flavorful with very good service. Buffet selections for all meals will satisfy any cultural/religious preference.

The maid service is outstanding. The room was sparkling clean every day. Air conditioning works almost too well - it can be a little noisy with higher fan settings. Feather pillows are excellent.

Rooms are very quiet with little noise through the walls or doors. Recommend a room on the 20th floor or above to avoid the street noise.

Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor. If you're eligible, ask for access to the Club Lounge - a per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear guest, thank you so much for your high recommendation. We are so glad you enjoy your business trip here with our excellent location in Hongqiao business area and fine service. Our award-winning Chinese Restaurant servers you indigenous Cantonese cuisines and look forward to your visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 359 of 788 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Nice staff and very comfortable room - I stayed in a corner room on 24 which was light and had a great view. Also nice big beds with good comfort. I would recommend this hotel to all. The price is good compared to the standard

Thank Kleinstrup
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for your comment. It is our great honor to see you had a pleasant stay at our conor room to enjoy nice facilities and city views outside. Look forward to seeing you soon and wish you can discover something wonderful during your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel w nice rooms and fantastic breakfast but it's not too close to anything so you have to take cabs everywhere. Thankfully cab rides in shanghai are super affordable and much more reliable and professional than in Beijing.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stanfordian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for your comment. Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel is located in Hongqiao with top-class exhibition center and 2 large shopping malls nearby. For city scenic spots, you can take either taxi or subway which are convenient and fast. Reach to our Navigators for any inqury since they are the experts of local areas and will be definitely helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This was the fifth hotel to an escorted tour. Hotel room was clean but small with a view of the freeway. Ate in one of the hotel restaurants one evening. The Australian beef was over priced and tough but my girlfriend raved about the sushi. Breakfast was included and delicious. They had the regular fare of egg omelets but their Chinese dumplings took them from three star to four star hotel. Waitresses were friendly and kept my coffee and juice topped off.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less freeway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for your comment after your trip to Shanghai. We wish you had a wonderful tour in this city blending tradition and fashion perfectly. Our sushi chef is professional and excellent with rich experience of Japanese cuisines. Regarding your concern of beef price, we will let Food and Beverage Dept. know and look forward to your future trip soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Been coming to this place for years.. Lost count of the number of times. It's a consistent delivery of service. The facility is ok, rooms are clean and decent size for a major city.

The health club has improved. It's not big, only 7-8 aerobic machines, but their is a pool and steam room to make up for the lack of variety of the health club.

The premier lounge here is top notch. It's on the 33rd floor offering free drinks, food, desserts and breakfast. There are always 4+ people to help you out and the offering variety is huge! Service is improving in china, still doesn't compare to a 4-5 star hotel but they are Learning.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank workhplayh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for staying at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel. We are glad that you discover something wonderfully new and pleasant this time. Our club lounge is on the 33rd floor with nice city view and attentive ambassadors at your approach.We believe various food and drinks, artful paintings on the wall, and other signature things will touch you during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed 4 nights in the Yangtze for a business trip.
General experience was very good; I got both wired and wifi access.
Room is very clean, which is what I usually look for.
My room was high above the highway (Yan'an if I remember correctly) which isn't the best view,
but the windows are isolated, so the room was quiet.
Breakfast is lacking on the vegetarian side, but for those used to European breakfasts it's a good one.
The location is basically downtown; You do not want to walk alone in the area late at night, but in day light you have taxis waiting downstairs and the underground in a walking distance.
A nice treat I found hiding in the closet was an umbrella I can use while there. So I took it and unfortunately it got broken by the wind. So I called house keeping asking to pay for it. They were kind enough to drop this charge. Thanks guys!

To conclude, got all I needed with very good service.
See you next time!

Room Tip: Ask for high floor or a room not above the highway (unless you like highways ;).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doron_fe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for your comment. Your pleasant stay is what we are looking for as always. We believe all the facilities and service meet your needs and we will try to provide you room with better view if it is available. Just like you said, see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I had an overall excellent experience at the Renaissance hotel, all the staff is very friendly and the facilities are very well maintained and clean. The location is great for a business trip but even not far away if you want to go to the touristic places (taxis are cheap). The room is quite big and the beds are comfortable, the bathroom is clean and with plenty space. Wireless internet was included in my room and it worked perfectly during my stay. Breakfast buffet is really good with a lot of different options to choose from. Also there are other restaurants and shopping areas around the hotel within walking distance. For sure I would stay there again if I go back to Shanghai.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for choosing Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel during your trip to Shanghai. We are glad that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel. Look forward to seeing you angin soon and wish you could discover something wonderfully new. Our Renaissance ambassadors are always at your approach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel
Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel
#87 of 5,206 in Shanghai
905 reviews
Caoyang / Zhenru
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
Changfeng Park
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Renaissance Shanghai Caohejing Hotel
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel

Address: No.2099 Yan'an West Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200336, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#35 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#48 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#154 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $130 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hongqiao, Shanghai upscale business district, Renaissance Yangtze Shanghai Hotel,a Marriott Luxury and Lifestyle hotel,is your home away from home. Merely a walk away from top exhibition centers and close to major national and international corporations, it is strictly business blend with pleasure in the most convenient of ways. For meetings and conferences, the hotel offers 22 stylish function rooms, all equipped with the latest meeting solutions technology including a Grand Ballroom. Be it for business or pleasure, the hotel offers an impressive array of first-class facilities and inventive catering solutions. With 5 award-winning restaurants and 2 lounges, indulge yourself with gastronomic temptations ranging from classical Chinese cuisine to modern Western fusion. The Renaissance Yangtze Shanghai Hotel delightfully indulge every business and leisure guest in unparalleled stay experience by combining Savvy Service with a home away from home feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Shanghai
Shanghai Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing