We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel , everyone speaks english and good breakfest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel
Ranked #35 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Dollard-Des-Ormeaux, Quebec
Level Contributor
262 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel , everyone speaks english and good breakfest”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hotel was in a very good location. Not far from anywhere you want to go. Bund taxi is around 35 yuan the zoo is about 30 and everything else is similar prices. The staff are all very helpful and 90 percent speak perfect english. The rooms were amazing and the breakfest was very good. Alot to do in the hotel the pool is very deep so if you are not a good swimmer dont go in. Also in the lobby there is a free computer which shows you what to do see and eat in shanghai. I would highly recomend this hotel. Also a great cantonese hotel right outside the hotel go left then left passed the sheration its a red sign and in the mall across the street there is a grocery store. Great hotel comfy and quiet beautiful rooms. Would stay again for sure.

Room Tip: We had a king bed room and was very happy. room 1111
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silent_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your time and comments. Though not located in city center, our hotel enjoys easy access to scenic spots with adjecent highway and metro station nearby. The navigators in lobby will recommend you what to savor, to sip, to see and to shop in Shanghai. You will definately discover the city gems during your trip. Glad you had a nice stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    306
    86
    10
    5
See reviews for
26
45
55
402
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hotel was booked on behalf of our China Spree Tour Package and it was a great stay except for a few minor items that can be overlooked. The room is average size and clean. Location is great with some shopping and restaurants across the street (which close around 10pm or so). The lobby is beautiful and our tour group hung out there until the wee hours daily without any issue regarding our loud talking and music playing. Staff is very attentive and helpful.

Elevators are separated by floors. We stayed on the 6th floor so only 3 of the 6 elevators will go to that floor. There were times when it took the elevators awhile to arrive so you have to be patient!

Our tour guide did give the front desk our passports to hold which was needed for check in but being a very protective person, I went to retrieved it after settling in. Front desk wouldnt give me our passports without our tour guide's involvement (luckily he was around hanging out with some people). On one hand, it's great they were being very cautious but on the other hand, my picture is on the passport.

Another thing was on the day we checked in which was late, I was STARVING. So we decided to eat at the restaurant in the hotel. I was very surprised when I ordered the pancakes (around 11pm) that the waitstaff said it would take about 45 minutes. I'm not sure what ingredients beside milk, flour, and eggs are needed to make pancakes in 45 minutes but that was a surprise for me and my friends. Also, during breakfast, they make small quantities (usually 6-8) at a time so you have to keep your eyes out on the chefs and staff when they restock the display and make a run for it (i.e. pancakes, waffles, dim sum, breads, etc.)

But overall, the hotel was a 5 Star regardless of the few minor setbacks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your comments. We are so glad to see you had a nice trip in Shanghai and a nice stay at our hotel. Regards to your concerns, we would work with related departments and look into the question and make improvements. Wish you a wonderful stay and discover something new during your next trip to Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Far from bund but taxi cheap. Starbucks and McDonald's short walk. Breakfast ample western and Chinese. Staff helpful. Wifi free in room if you sign up for Marriott rewards which is also free. Shower curtain. Small tub. Will recommend / stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your comments. It is our pleasure to have you staying with us. Wish you have a nice trip in Shanghai and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
140 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Check in is smooth. The room is a little cramped but very well appointed. The bed is comfortable, and the bathroom adequate. The staff is friendly without quite fawning on you. The breakfast spread is substantial, and the conference facilities are impressive. Overall, a good business hotel.

Room Tip: The elevators are a little confusing. Those on one side of the bank of elevators go to some floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank editorindisguise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear guest, our hotel is ideally situated in Hongqiao business area and enjoys excellent access to Hongqiao Airport and Railway Station. The newly-bulit conference center including one 8 meter-hight ballroom and a freshly renovated ballroom together with 13 function rooms are all designed for your business needs. In addition, the well-appointed rooms, extensive buffet and attentive service make your trip pleasant no matter business or leisure. Warm welcome to your next stay at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
213 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Have stayed at this hotel a couple of times for business and I have enjoyed each of my stays. I confess I am a Marriott platinum member, so I enjoy the full benefits of the concierge lounge. This hotel always exceeds expectations with the little touches that want to make you come back. For my last trip this week, here are examples

1. Nice little Christmas 6 pack of chocolates when I arrived in the room
2. Two gifts when I left at the end of the week.
3. They automatically reduced my room rate by more than half when a new promotion took over for room rates, even though I was already there under a corporate rate.

The service throughout the hotel is always outstanding, with everyone very friendly, and the people are very helpful when you ask for anything. Breakfast in the concierge lounge is a real treat, with tremendous selection, and attentive service.

Room Tip: I've stayed on several floors and the rooms were all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar_Retriever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for staying with us during this festival season. Hope you feel home away from home. We cherish every guest's staying experience especially Marriott Rewards members. Your valuable suggestions and room tips are really important to us to make further improvements. Look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stayed at this hotel every time I travel to Shanghai for its location. My room was on the 28th floor and had access to their executive floor. As always, the staff was great, very usefully and accommodating Breakfast at the executive floor was good. They server appetizers and drinks in the afternoon and that was good as well. The gym was clean and well equip with basic equipment. My room was good as well. All in all I had a great time staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gut73raf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for choosing our hotel as always. Our ideal location definately helps a lot to make your trip in Shanghai easier. We are so glad to see our breakfast and gym facilities as well as all associates met your needs and satisfaction. You must try your next journey of discovery at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel. We assure you a wonderful and nice stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
287 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

First impressions were good - nice large lobby area, several restaurants on site, including a champange bar with live music. Service was good and friendly.

Room was the smallest of the ones during our visit to China. The bathroom was even smaller! It barely fit one person. The bathroom needs to be renovated/upgraded. It is the old tub/shower combo with shower curtain. Needs to have the glass door and tile. We had a room at the end of the hallway - so the room was oddly shaped - so that might account for the small bathroom/room size. We were on the 9th floor - views were pretty good.

Bed was so-so - not hard, but not super comfortable. Free wifi in the room - which was nice. There was a nice mini bar. Good sized flat screen TV. Nice robes and slippers for use. There was a good sized desk (maybe too big for the room size).

Breakfast was fantastic - good buffett with many choices. Nice quality food and very good service from the staff. We also ate at a restaurant on the 2nd floor and had some good Chinese food. One night ate at the Japanese restaurant - service was good and so was the sake.

Concierge was very good - spoke good English and was helpful.

Location - metro station right across the street (10 line - Yulili station), which was easy to use. Taxis were easy to get as well. there is a mall right next door - and several restaurants, etc in walking distance. A bit far from the city center - but still convenient.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDSpartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear guest, we regret to see that some of the room facilities do not meet your satisfactory and even ruin your first impression on our hotel. As a hotel of more than 20-year history, we are outstanding in wide range of dining options, service and care for all guests. Wish you could have a nice stay after the renovation section later. We do welcome you as always and willing to get another chance to provide you better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel
Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel
#88 of 5,059 in Shanghai
845 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
#83 of 5,059 in Shanghai
744 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Rainbow Hotel Shanghai
Rainbow Hotel Shanghai
#138 of 5,059 in Shanghai
536 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
#53 of 5,059 in Shanghai
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel

Property: Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel
Address: No.2099 Yan'an West Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200336, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#35 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#48 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#92 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hongqiao, Shanghai upscale business district, Renaissance Yangtze Shanghai Hotel,a Marriott Luxury and Lifestyle hotel,is your home away from home. Merely a walk away from top exhibition centers and close to major national and international corporations, it is strictly business blend with pleasure in the most convenient of ways. For meetings and conferences, the hotel offers 22 stylish function rooms, all equipped with the latest meeting solutions technology including a Grand Ballroom. Be it for business or pleasure, the hotel offers an impressive array of first-class facilities and inventive catering solutions. With 5 award-winning restaurants and 2 lounges, indulge yourself with gastronomic temptations ranging from classical Chinese cuisine to modern Western fusion. The Renaissance Yangtze Shanghai Hotel delightfully indulge every business and leisure guest in unparalleled stay experience by combining Savvy Service with a home away from home feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Shanghai
Shanghai Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing