We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel
Ranked #32 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Far from bund but taxi cheap. Starbucks and McDonald's short walk. Breakfast ample western and Chinese. Staff helpful. Wifi free in room if you sign up for Marriott rewards which is also free. Shower curtain. Small tub. Will recommend / stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for your comments. It is our pleasure to have you staying with us. Wish you have a nice trip in Shanghai and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (750)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

358 - 364 of 751 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

Check in is smooth. The room is a little cramped but very well appointed. The bed is comfortable, and the bathroom adequate. The staff is friendly without quite fawning on you. The breakfast spread is substantial, and the conference facilities are impressive. Overall, a good business hotel.

Room Tip: The elevators are a little confusing. Those on one side of the bank of elevators go to some floors...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank editorindisguise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Dear guest, our hotel is ideally situated in Hongqiao business area and enjoys excellent access to Hongqiao Airport and Railway Station. The newly-bulit conference center including one 8 meter-hight ballroom and a freshly renovated ballroom together with 13 function rooms are all designed for your business needs. In addition, the well-appointed rooms, extensive buffet and attentive service make your trip pleasant no matter business or leisure. Warm welcome to your next stay at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Have stayed at this hotel a couple of times for business and I have enjoyed each of my stays. I confess I am a Marriott platinum member, so I enjoy the full benefits of the concierge lounge. This hotel always exceeds expectations with the little touches that want to make you come back. For my last trip this week, here are examples

1. Nice little Christmas 6 pack of chocolates when I arrived in the room
2. Two gifts when I left at the end of the week.
3. They automatically reduced my room rate by more than half when a new promotion took over for room rates, even though I was already there under a corporate rate.

The service throughout the hotel is always outstanding, with everyone very friendly, and the people are very helpful when you ask for anything. Breakfast in the concierge lounge is a real treat, with tremendous selection, and attentive service.

Room Tip: I've stayed on several floors and the rooms were all great.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oscar_Retriever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Dear guest, thank you for staying with us during this festival season. Hope you feel home away from home. We cherish every guest's staying experience especially Marriott Rewards members. Your valuable suggestions and room tips are really important to us to make further improvements. Look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stayed at this hotel every time I travel to Shanghai for its location. My room was on the 28th floor and had access to their executive floor. As always, the staff was great, very usefully and accommodating Breakfast at the executive floor was good. They server appetizers and drinks in the afternoon and that was good as well. The gym was clean and well equip with basic equipment. My room was good as well. All in all I had a great time staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gut73raf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Dear guest, thank you for choosing our hotel as always. Our ideal location definately helps a lot to make your trip in Shanghai easier. We are so glad to see our breakfast and gym facilities as well as all associates met your needs and satisfaction. You must try your next journey of discovery at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel. We assure you a wonderful and nice stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

First impressions were good - nice large lobby area, several restaurants on site, including a champange bar with live music. Service was good and friendly.

Room was the smallest of the ones during our visit to China. The bathroom was even smaller! It barely fit one person. The bathroom needs to be renovated/upgraded. It is the old tub/shower combo with shower curtain. Needs to have the glass door and tile. We had a room at the end of the hallway - so the room was oddly shaped - so that might account for the small bathroom/room size. We were on the 9th floor - views were pretty good.

Bed was so-so - not hard, but not super comfortable. Free wifi in the room - which was nice. There was a nice mini bar. Good sized flat screen TV. Nice robes and slippers for use. There was a good sized desk (maybe too big for the room size).

Breakfast was fantastic - good buffett with many choices. Nice quality food and very good service from the staff. We also ate at a restaurant on the 2nd floor and had some good Chinese food. One night ate at the Japanese restaurant - service was good and so was the sake.

Concierge was very good - spoke good English and was helpful.

Location - metro station right across the street (10 line - Yulili station), which was easy to use. Taxis were easy to get as well. there is a mall right next door - and several restaurants, etc in walking distance. A bit far from the city center - but still convenient.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor for better views.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDSpartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear guest, we regret to see that some of the room facilities do not meet your satisfactory and even ruin your first impression on our hotel. As a hotel of more than 20-year history, we are outstanding in wide range of dining options, service and care for all guests. Wish you could have a nice stay after the renovation section later. We do welcome you as always and willing to get another chance to provide you better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here last week with a tour group. We were actually supposed to stay at another hotel and were changed to this one. I think it was our good fortune. This is a lovelt hotel. Especially for americans. Many staff speak some english. The rooms are spotless and the breakfast is outstanding. The staff was more than helpful and will get you a taxi in two minutes time. I liked everything about this hotel! There is a mall across the street with a convenience store to buy sodas,beer and snacks too!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cruisingal54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear guest, as you said, it is also our good fortune to have your tour stay in our hotel instead. We are glad to have the chance of delighting you with outstanding breakfast, nice and helpful service as well as well-appointed facilities.We, as one of Renaissance hotels, would like to welcome you again in the near future to encougre you discover something brilliant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

i checked in at a time when the hotel was at 100% capacity and there were long queues everywhere. Queues for taxis, for tables during bfast and full elevators. Not quite what I was hoping for.

Rooms are old and showing their age. Once, my room's circuit breaker tripped while I was ironing. Had to call the reception and get a technician up. Frustrating.

Everything creaks.. from the door to the bed. Walls are thin so you hear loud conversations from the corridor and even hear next door turning on the shower.

There was a notice the hotel is under renovation though..about time.

But service was fast, efficient and good despite the large crowds. They did their best.

I think the Sheraton next door could be a better choice - it looks newer and perhaps could be a better option. I will try Sheraton next time to see.

Room Tip: ask for high floor and NOT a corner room / room at the end if you are superstitious or believe in gh...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank infinitium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear guest, sorry for your frustrating experience during your stay at our hotel. We regret for all the troubles caused due to full-house occupancy and time-honored facilities. However we are taking every steps to make guests stay more comfortable and convient with renovation plan and attentive service. We do willing to see you soon and we assure you a wonderful experience next time with soming brilliant new to discover.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel
Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel
#80 of 5,112 in Shanghai
880 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
#89 of 5,112 in Shanghai
753 reviews
Zhongshan Park
Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Changfeng Park
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Renaissance Shanghai Caohejing Hotel
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel

Address: No.2099 Yan'an West Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200336, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#32 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#48 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#98 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $107 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hongqiao, Shanghai upscale business district, Renaissance Yangtze Shanghai Hotel,a Marriott Luxury and Lifestyle hotel,is your home away from home. Merely a walk away from top exhibition centers and close to major national and international corporations, it is strictly business blend with pleasure in the most convenient of ways. For meetings and conferences, the hotel offers 22 stylish function rooms, all equipped with the latest meeting solutions technology including a Grand Ballroom. Be it for business or pleasure, the hotel offers an impressive array of first-class facilities and inventive catering solutions. With 5 award-winning restaurants and 2 lounges, indulge yourself with gastronomic temptations ranging from classical Chinese cuisine to modern Western fusion. The Renaissance Yangtze Shanghai Hotel delightfully indulge every business and leisure guest in unparalleled stay experience by combining Savvy Service with a home away from home feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Shanghai
Shanghai Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing