We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent hotel with great facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel
Ranked #54 of 4,454 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
239 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with great facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. First impressions are very good, clearly a business orientated hotel, whch is backed up by its location. Room was very clean and tidy and the bed was great. The swimming pool, sauna and steam room was excellent and the jacuzzi was the hottest i have ever been in! Breakfast was very good with a great range available with both local and western options available. Had some drinks in the evening, have to say they were very expensive, as we were quite merry by the end of the night, ordered two glassses of champagne which were £20 each!!! Location is the business district, so taxi was needed to get everywhere, although a metro is nearby, however the directions we got from the conceirge were rubbish as we were looking for it for 1 hour!! in the end got a taxi!

Overall very good hotel, just watch out for the alcoholic drinks!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PSP31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear guest,thank you for staying with us and sharing your opinions on tripadvisor. Our hotel is more or less a business oriented hotel due to the golden location with easy access to international exhibition center.However, we take leisure guests as important as business guests by offering them with wide range of dining choices, cozy guest rooms, comprehensive health center facilities.Besides, we have Metro 2,3,10 nearby, taking you to most of Shanghai's scenic spots. Live lift to discover! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    269
    81
    10
    2
See reviews for
16
42
49
305
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walworth
Level Contributor
181 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have stayed here on multiple occasions, all have been enjoyable. The hotel is conveniently located near the 10 Line of the Shanghai Metro so anything in Shanghai is a short ride away. You do have to walk through the park across the street to get there, but even that is enjoyable, especially on the weekend when the recently married couples are there getting their pictures taken.
The hotel staff is always pleasant, attentive, and professional. To offer an example, I provided feedback regarding inconsistent preparation for over easy eggs. although the selection sheet listed over easy, they invariably came out over hard, the typical Chinese style (more chop stick friendly). A short note to the hotel garnered a quick response that included additional training for the staff. I'm happy to report the eggs were perfect this last stay. it may seem trivial but when you travel a lot, the little things influence your choice of hotels.
There are a number of dining choices, prices vary but a typical for a large hotel in an urban area. There are also a number of restaurants in the area that can be enjoyed.
The hotel also hosts the best Oktoberfest in Shanghai during late September. I attended this year and had a great time. Excellent food, great band and tent atmosphere, everyone in attendance while I was there seemed to be having a great time.
I highly recommend the hotel, I'll be back next month!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Walmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear guest,thank you for your vivid comments on our hotel.As Renaissance hotels,we do recommend guest to LIVE LIFE TO DISCOVER.We are glad you discover the variaty of dining options, the shortcut to Line 10, the intriguing and indigenous wedding photo shoot in Shanghai. We highly recommend you to stay at our hotel for your easy and comfortable access to your travel needs and for your brilliant discoveries during your following trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel is very modern and chic. The service is great- in fact the best of our trip to china. The rooms were very modern and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. Our trip included it, but it is my understanding that there is normally an extra charge for this, so i would make sure I know about this before I sit and start eating. But it was great food, both western and chinese.

There is also free wi fi throughout.

The location was not too great. There is a metro 6-8 blocks away, the line that takes you pretty much everywhere touristy. and it's about a 20 min metro ride-- so about 40 min to get to downtown. I didn't take cabs so not sure how they would have cost.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katiuska15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for your comments. We are proud to be the best hotel during your trip in China. Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel has a good tradition to offer superior food and service. There are bus stops nearby and the various lines could take you to most scenic spots. Though far from downtown, it is good to located in Hongqiao for guest to have easy access to the airport and railways.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were booked into this hotel as part of our group tour with "AFFORDABLE ASIA"..Found it to be a wonderful hotel..very upscale..great buffet breakfast....good location. Seems to cater more to the business client..but considering it was an included hotel with our tour package was very surprised.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2clb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for staying with us. We are glad to see your comment and we are proud to satisfied you with our comprehensive facilities, delicious meals and attentive service. Hope we could be your first choice when you visit Shanghai next time, no matter business or leisure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
154 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a meting I had in shanghaimart building. I ordered a car to pick me up at the airport and that was good. Lobby was noisy when I checked in but it was quick and efficient. Room are small but quiet, clean and bed was comfortable. Beakfast was good the next morning - buffet is extensive. Check out was fast. They held my bag for me all day and then helped me get a cab to the airport.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for your comment. We are glad that you enjoy easy access to shanghai mart due to our hotel's fine location. We are also proud to provide you attentive service of airport transportation and extensive buffer breakfast to make your trip in Shanghai much more comfortable and like your "home away from home". Look forward to your next stay with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed here many times; this time for five nights. Staff is always friendly. Food in the executive lounge better than past visits. Favorite spot is the cocktail lounge by the hotel entrance for a cigar and drink while listening to the life entertainment.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest, thank your for choosing our hotel for several times. We are so proud and grateful to have such a loyal customer like you. CC Bar is really a good place to have a cigar and sip a drink and enjoy live band as well. We look forward to your next trip at our hotel to discover something brilliant new in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The rooms at Renaissance Yangtze hotel in Shanghai are smaller than average in the area. The bathrooms are smaller with no separate shower. All of the other hotels on my trip had spearate showers. The club lounge is better than average having extended happy hour times for appetizers and drinks compared to other hotels. Breakfasts had a nice variety of hot and cold foods. The staff is great and very responsive. I was just a little dissapointed with the rooms. Room food service was a minimum 45 minute wait. Seems excessive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toolstud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for choosing our hotel though our rooms and bathroom facilities do not meet your requirements. We are a hotel with history which is also our strenth that we could combine our 22 years of experience and newly set-up facilities together to assure you a comfortable experience. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Zhongshan Park
Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
#49 of 4,454 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 779 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Caoyang / Zhenru
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Renaissance Shanghai Caohejing Hotel
Former French Concession
Radisson Blu Plaza Xingguo Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel

Property: Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel
Address: NO. 2099 Yan'an West Road, Shanghai 200336, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#48 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#54 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#104 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hongqiao, Shanghai upscale business district, Renaissance Yangtze Shanghai Hotel,a Marriott Luxury and Lifestyle hotel,is your home away from home. Merely a walk away from top exhibition centers and close to major national and international corporations, it is strictly business blend with pleasure in the most convenient of ways. For meetings and conferences, the hotel offers 22 stylish function rooms, all equipped with the latest meeting solutions technology including a Grand Ballroom. Be it for business or pleasure, the hotel offers an impressive array of first-class facilities and inventive catering solutions. With 5 award-winning restaurants and 2 lounges, indulge yourself with gastronomic temptations ranging from classical Chinese cuisine to modern Western fusion. The Renaissance Yangtze Shanghai Hotel delightfully indulge every business and leisure guest in unparalleled stay experience by combining Savvy Service with a home away from home feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Shanghai
Shanghai Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing