We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, not so great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel
Ranked #33 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel is very modern and chic. The service is great- in fact the best of our trip to china. The rooms were very modern and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. Our trip included it, but it is my understanding that there is normally an extra charge for this, so i would make sure I know about this before I sit and start eating. But it was great food, both western and chinese.

There is also free wi fi throughout.

The location was not too great. There is a metro 6-8 blocks away, the line that takes you pretty much everywhere touristy. and it's about a 20 min metro ride-- so about 40 min to get to downtown. I didn't take cabs so not sure how they would have cost.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katiuska15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear guest, thank you for your comments. We are proud to be the best hotel during your trip in China. Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel has a good tradition to offer superior food and service. There are bus stops nearby and the various lines could take you to most scenic spots. Though far from downtown, it is good to located in Hongqiao for guest to have easy access to the airport and railways.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (756)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

370 - 376 of 756 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were booked into this hotel as part of our group tour with "AFFORDABLE ASIA"..Found it to be a wonderful hotel..very upscale..great buffet breakfast....good location. Seems to cater more to the business client..but considering it was an included hotel with our tour package was very surprised.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2clb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear guest, thank you for staying with us. We are glad to see your comment and we are proud to satisfied you with our comprehensive facilities, delicious meals and attentive service. Hope we could be your first choice when you visit Shanghai next time, no matter business or leisure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a meting I had in shanghaimart building. I ordered a car to pick me up at the airport and that was good. Lobby was noisy when I checked in but it was quick and efficient. Room are small but quiet, clean and bed was comfortable. Beakfast was good the next morning - buffet is extensive. Check out was fast. They held my bag for me all day and then helped me get a cab to the airport.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryanpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear guest, thank you for your comment. We are glad that you enjoy easy access to shanghai mart due to our hotel's fine location. We are also proud to provide you attentive service of airport transportation and extensive buffer breakfast to make your trip in Shanghai much more comfortable and like your "home away from home". Look forward to your next stay with us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Have stayed here many times; this time for five nights. Staff is always friendly. Food in the executive lounge better than past visits. Favorite spot is the cocktail lounge by the hotel entrance for a cigar and drink while listening to the life entertainment.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear guest, thank your for choosing our hotel for several times. We are so proud and grateful to have such a loyal customer like you. CC Bar is really a good place to have a cigar and sip a drink and enjoy live band as well. We look forward to your next trip at our hotel to discover something brilliant new in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The rooms at Renaissance Yangtze hotel in Shanghai are smaller than average in the area. The bathrooms are smaller with no separate shower. All of the other hotels on my trip had spearate showers. The club lounge is better than average having extended happy hour times for appetizers and drinks compared to other hotels. Breakfasts had a nice variety of hot and cold foods. The staff is great and very responsive. I was just a little dissapointed with the rooms. Room food service was a minimum 45 minute wait. Seems excessive.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toolstud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear guest, thank you for choosing our hotel though our rooms and bathroom facilities do not meet your requirements. We are a hotel with history which is also our strenth that we could combine our 22 years of experience and newly set-up facilities together to assure you a comfortable experience. Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

I have been in this hotel many times because us the favorite spot for my American colleagues... The hotel is pretty old, standard rooms are quite small and the bathroom is really tiny. I got free access to the exec floor and this is nice, you can get foc breakfast on the roof floor. Gym is just ok and the swimming pool is too small.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILGattab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear guest, thank you for your comment. Our hotel enjoys a history of over 20 years. It's a pity that our room facilitis do not meet your requirements. However, we have gone through renovation and would like to invite you discover something brilliant new next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is already the second time I stayed in this hotel in Shanghai, so it is defintely a good place to stay. There is a very large breakfast (american/continental/chinese style) and rooms are okay, but not very large. Staff is friendly and helpful, check-in and check-out was very fast and without problems. All in all a good spot if you're on a business trip.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Facchinettix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceYangtze, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear guest, thank you for staying with us. We are glad to be you home away from home and provide you convenient access to both your business trip and daily accommodation routines. Look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel
Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel
#84 of 5,146 in Shanghai
886 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
#90 of 5,146 in Shanghai
757 reviews
Zhongshan Park
Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Renaissance Shanghai Caohejing Hotel
Changfeng Park
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel

Address: No.2099 Yan'an West Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200336, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#33 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#48 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#106 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $122 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hongqiao, Shanghai upscale business district, Renaissance Yangtze Shanghai Hotel,a Marriott Luxury and Lifestyle hotel,is your home away from home. Merely a walk away from top exhibition centers and close to major national and international corporations, it is strictly business blend with pleasure in the most convenient of ways. For meetings and conferences, the hotel offers 22 stylish function rooms, all equipped with the latest meeting solutions technology including a Grand Ballroom. Be it for business or pleasure, the hotel offers an impressive array of first-class facilities and inventive catering solutions. With 5 award-winning restaurants and 2 lounges, indulge yourself with gastronomic temptations ranging from classical Chinese cuisine to modern Western fusion. The Renaissance Yangtze Shanghai Hotel delightfully indulge every business and leisure guest in unparalleled stay experience by combining Savvy Service with a home away from home feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Shanghai
Shanghai Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing