We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renaissance Pudong Hotel, Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel
Ranked #68 of 5,111 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed August 23, 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

345 - 351 of 565 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2009

Travelled to Shanghai recently on business and stayed here for a week. The hotel decor is very stylish throughout - modern, with a Chinese touch. The room was homely and offered everything I wanted. The bed was exceedingly comfortable - ten out of ten - and the service was fine. The area was fine for me personally - my office was two stops down on the underground - and there are a large number of cafés, restaurants and shops catering (also) to a western public. But if being downtown is important to you, there are probably other options.

One comment - previously I stayed at the much more expensive Shangri-La, but I found this hotel equally nice.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gnasher72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

The bed was comfy and room looked nice. It even had 2 phone lines so my mom & I can both talk to difference folks back home at the same time. The problem I had was that the room smelled like yhe sewer, which emanated from the bathroom. I looked everywhere, and room was clean. I called the front desk to change rooms. They said they would call back when they are done checking in guests. But they never called back and I never switched rooms. I am not sure if weather in May causes this smell because that same smell emanated from the streets of Shanghai as well. Perhaps it’s the pollution from the factories…A few other things to note:
• the concierge was not very help and spoke very limited English
• The food at this hotel was delicious and I highly recommend the breakfast. Unless you are willing to venture to shops that have no English signs and ask for food, this is probably your best bet in the area.
• It is about a 15 minute walk to the closest subway station, which has a great knock off shopping mall as part of the station. Don’t let the small mall entrance deceive you, it is massive with tons of stores.
• There is very little night life around this area & not close to any particular sights. You will need to head out to Shanghai's city center for that

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buzzinlites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2009

1) Very Close to the Exhibition Centre in Pudong
2) Comfortable and Luxirious Rooms
3) Excellent Breakfast spread
4) Great Lobby
5) Good service


The bloch to the whole experience was , i misplace my expensive cell phone in the hotel and never found it.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank maneshMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

The hotel itself was very very good and for overnight visitors that need a hotel close to the airport it would be a good place to stay. However, I found it too far out from the city and not at all the place to be. When I saw some of the other hotels in the centre of Shanghai I realised I had made a huge mistake. Saying that though, the hotel rooms, service and food were very good.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonytony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

i've been staying at this hotel around 5 times a year since its opening. agree to most of the recent comments listed here. don't quite understand the one saying this hotel is only a four star by american standards - i have never seen a nicer renaissance in the states - maybe i've been going to the "wrong" places.

true, it's in a resididential area. but there are convenient stores, restaurants, bars and a foot massage parlor right across the streets. and there are more choices within walking distance (you'll have to get directions from hotel people). if you are one of those guys or gals who like to go to xintiandi or hengshan road every night this location might be a bit inconvenient.

food, drinks and lundry service at the hotel are very expensive - american prices. on top of all that the internet isn't free, something like 15 bucks for 24 hours. but you always can go out to eat and drink.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bangzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

I stayed for 4 nights in Renaissance, Shanghai Pudong. This is one of the best hotels I have seen in Shanghai. The lobby is huge. The ambience is very good. The rooms are very well maintained and have an excellent view of the city. The bathroom is very good. There is a choice of restaurants available for food. The swimming pool and health club are great. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PampasThane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Century Park
Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park
Century Park
Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai
Century Park
Dorsett Shanghai
Dorsett Shanghai
#71 of 5,111 in Shanghai
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
#43 of 5,111 in Shanghai
590 reviews
Century Park
Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel

Address: No.719 Yingchun Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200134, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Century Park , Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#66 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#165 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $132 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on the fringe of the dynamic new business district of Pudong, the Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel is the ideal locale for business or pleasure. Located near Pudong’s Century Park, just five minutes from the Shanghai New International Expo Center, and a 15-minute walk from the Shanghai Science & Technology Museum (and Metro station, Line 2), 15 minutes walk to the Laya Plaza and Thumb Plaza, a collection lifestyle for leisure and entertainment. The hotel maintains a time-honored tradition in warm hospitality and is equipped for handling small to large scale events and banquets. Combined with the very latest in guest comforts, the hotel boasts a thoughtful blend of traditional Chinese decor and contemporary Western ambiance; it’s a truly modern hotel with a distinct flavor of old Shanghai: where East meets West and where tradition meets innovation in perfect harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Shanghai
Shanghai Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing