We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and Very Nice Accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel
Ranked #75 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Service and Very Nice Accommodations”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights while on business. The service was truly outstanding. I thought the club lounge was great for both breakfast and light dinners. My room was very nice. I also enjoyed the Pudong area and close proximity to Thumb Plaza. I would highly recommend for both business and pleasure.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Everett N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    221
    37
    14
    13
See reviews for
29
23
31
345
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights in January 2013. My room on the executive level was nice, clean and comfortable. The lounge was fine for breakfast but the 2nd floor buffet was extraordinary for breakfast. They had choices for the palate of travellers from practically anywhere in the world.

Overall, the staff was very nice, helpful and friendly.

The only complaint I had was the room safe was too small for a regular size laptop (13"?), a first for me in my travels in China. Instead of carrying the laptop to the front desk to be locked up I simply hid it in my room while I was not there.

As for the area, it is not the hustling-bustling Puxi area across the river so the activities at night are limited. Thumb Plaza is nearby, so are a few restaurants both in the hotel and nearby. Additionally the metro is not far away for a hop over to Puxi. This hotel is definitely recommended if your business is on the Pudong side of Shanghai.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mkurozen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel if you are looking to stay in the pudong area. Nice clean rooms, very attentive staff and fantastic service. Walking distance to several dining options and the in-hotel dining is good also. Make sure you speak to the front desk if you happen to have any issues they are very accommodating and willing to resolve problems the moment they occur.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozvino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhipudong, General Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Ozvino,

Thank you for staying with us and I wish you a happy Chinese New Year of the Snake which we just celebrated this week.

I appreciate that you took the time to post such a positive review and it is great to hear that you were impressed by the service of our associates especially the front desk team. We strive to provide all our guests a wonderful stay and it is assuring to hear that we met your expectations. We look forward to welcome you again on your next stay. Our Navigator team will be happy to assist you to discover some new intriguing dining options.

Warm regards

Silvano Dressino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Had a room on club level with access to club lounge. Room was comfortable and well-equipped for doing work in room. Reasonably fast (and free) wi-fi. Lounge offered outstanding food & snacks and the service staff were very efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denver_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was the last hotel we stayed at on our two-week long trip touring China. It was a wonderful end to our very memorable vacation. The hotel is more luxurious then we expected and had a grand lobby. Our room was beautifully decorated and the bed was so comfortable. Their breakfast buffet was scrumptious with quality ingredients and a wide variety of choices (Chinese, Japanese, Western food or just fruits and cereal). My husband loved their muesli and had it every morning. Services throughout the hotel from front desk, lounge staff, bell person to restaurant staff were all very attentive and impeccable. My husband and I were pleasantly surprised and truly felt spoiled and pampered.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArgoChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here for an overnight in Shanghai. The hotel restaurant was closed so the breakfast buffet was being held in one of their ballrooms with a huge selection of western and Chinese choices. Food quality is excellent. Was upgraded to a suite. Room was spacious but the layout is tight. Overall, the hotel is starting to show its age as I've stayed here a few times previously, but it is well maintained. Front desk staff helped finish the check in process in room which was a fine touch.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtlwwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed almost 2 weeks. Upgraded to 27th floor due to platinum status.

Room
Fabulous bed. Very comfortable. Even upgraded the area of the room seems to be same as normal room. Ended up, I am not sure what is the different between a normal room and an upgraded room.

Breakfast
A good spread of breakfast selection. I like the Indian food corner but I am hoping the choice of meat curries can be changed daily. I enjoyed the lamb curry but out of two week stay I only tasted once. So u can imagine the same meat curry (especially chicken) been on the corner repeated so many days. Juices are really great and fresh unlike some hotel.

Club Lounge (26th floor)
The staffs there really professional. Very attentive, helpful and friendly especially Tony. He really got a good personality. great to know him and been sharing a lot traveling info about Shanghai while i am there. The choice of food are very fixed need to be improved.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LOIWY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhipudong, General Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

thanks for staying at Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel and your recent Tripadvisor review.

As the new General Manager, for only a few weeks, it is wonderful to hear that that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your positive comments and suggestions especially highlighting the fact that you appreciated the service at our club lounge on the 26th floor.

Rest assured that I have shared your feedback with Tony as a great example of engaging customer service and the rest of the team.

I appreciate your positive comments about our breakfast which we are also proud of. In fact we are just upgrading our Brasserie Restaurant and look forward to a refreshed look and offerings in two weeks time.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again as soon as possible. Shanghai is such a dynamic and vibrant city and there is always something wonderfully new to discover. Our R Navigators like Tony are our local experts who are always researching great local discoveries that are off the beaten path and are happy to assist you.

Regards,


Silvano Dressino
General Manager
Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel
as your preferred accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Century Park
Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park
Century Park
Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai
Century Park
Dorsett Shanghai
Dorsett Shanghai
#74 of 5,069 in Shanghai
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Century Park
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#140 of 5,069 in Shanghai
154 reviews
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
#41 of 5,069 in Shanghai
571 reviews
Century Park
Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel

Property: Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel
Address: No.719 Yingchun Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200134, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Century Park , Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#73 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#125 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on the fringe of the dynamic new business district of Pudong, the Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel is the ideal locale for business or pleasure. Located near Pudong’s Century Park, just five minutes from the Shanghai New International Expo Center, and a 15-minute walk from the Shanghai Science & Technology Museum (and Metro station, Line 2), 15 minutes walk to the Laya Plaza and Thumb Plaza, a collection lifestyle for leisure and entertainment. The hotel maintains a time-honored tradition in warm hospitality and is equipped for handling small to large scale events and banquets. Combined with the very latest in guest comforts, the hotel boasts a thoughtful blend of traditional Chinese decor and contemporary Western ambiance; it’s a truly modern hotel with a distinct flavor of old Shanghai: where East meets West and where tradition meets innovation in perfect harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Shanghai
Shanghai Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing