We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel to stay in if you are working on Pudong side of river” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel
Ranked #86 of 4,971 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good hotel to stay in if you are working on Pudong side of river”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

My wife joined me for this business trip, at first only a twin room available, but after one night, I asked for a king double and they went out of their way to help. Reception were friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet is very good with good range of food. Very good Japanese restaurant in the lobby area. Two convience stores downstairs including a bank with ATM (VISA) net door and 10 minutes walk from Thumbs Plaza which has lots of restaurants, a supermarket and other shops. Short taxi or 20 minute walk from the Science & Technology Market. If you want to go to the best park in Shanghai, the Century Park is 10 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmtravels_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    213
    35
    14
    11
See reviews for
24
21
29
307
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

Hotel is in a great location for century park, and not too far from metro. Rooms good, but don't buy the bottled water in the room! $7 a bottle is very steep when you can buy for about $0,75 across the road at the minimart! Service in the bar area can be excrutiatingly slow, but overall a good hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeordieMaverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeastern Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

I have been staying at this hotel for the past 5 years, usually 3 - 5 times per year. I have tried outer hotels in Shanghai, and always come back here. While the staff changes over time, the staff is always friendly and helpful. When my birthday has occurred while I am there, I am always greeted with a "Happy Birthday" by several staff members, and a complimentary birthday cake is in my room when I return in the early evening. The buffet in the main restaurant is varied and delicious. The Executive Chef rotates his presence among meals, and is sometimes present in the Lounge (where breakfast and evening hors d'oeuvre are served) to ensure quality and to engage the guests. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The staff who obtain taxis for guests always provide hotel cards with the taxi number (not all that rare), but almost always provide guests with an estimate of the taxi fare. I look forward to every visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel4Auric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

Stayed at this hotel in April 2011 while attending Auto Shanghai Expo. The rooms are average, sort of business hotel you expect. It is fairly maintained however during my 3 night stay, the switches trips and the toilet light goes off even though housekeeing attended it promptly. Asked for room change but the hotel is full and the end, all I did was push back the mcb switch.
The hotel bar is good, no live band but lively.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rgirgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

As a family moving into shanghai we stayed here for over a week and found the room very comfortable for the 4 us. Having 2 kids below 11 yrs can be trouble at times and they need space. and this room did have some to spare with an extra bed put in !

The hotel is also surrounded by small shops and ATMs in case you need ot withdraw money and also shop for some small items at Family mart. Besides there are small restaurants around right form italian to japanese to local .

The person outside family mart also was sellng some low cost dvds which we happily playe din the room as DVD player was provided .
Kids had a good time.

The only fal side was the room service menu lacked in variety , and oh ofcourse please rememebr to order yoru in room dining at least 45 mins before you get hungry. Waiting can get to your nerves at times.

Room Tip: try the rooms with twin beds. they are very spacious indeed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suhas77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

I have been to Shanghai / China many times on business and for vacations. During my trip a few weeks ago, I decided to stay at the Renaissance Hotel in Pudong.

I was very pleased with the room, staff and the general positives of the hotel. One thing in particular that stuck me was the lack of people smoking in the elevators and lobby. As I have written in several of my other reviews of hotels in China and Japan, the amount of smoke in the lobbies and elevators normally gets the attention of non-smoking American visitors. However, the Renaissance is the exception to these prior experiences and a very positive one as I did not notice smoke in the lobby or elevator.

The hotel is located near the Century Park in Pudong (where the Expo was held last year) and its pretty well situated. There is a nice western shopping mall just a couple of blocks up the street. You are also only a 10-15 min (depending on traffic) taxi ride to Yi Yin Garden (taxi costs ran about 25 RMB). There are also plenty of good restaurants nearby or a short cab ride away. Lastly, it is only about a 30 min ride to the Pudong airport as you avoid the downtown traffic problems by staying in Pudong.

The staff was very helpful overall and went out of their way to help me find a charger for my blackberry, when the one I had quit working (this is how I found the shopping area mentioned above). Also, the wifi worked well and was easy to use. I stayed on the club level, which was particularly nice (lounge open 24 hours). There is some construction going on right now behind the hotel, but I was high enough up that it did not bother me.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrCrimson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Use this hotel as my base in China. Stayed 7 nights this time. Excellent service and feels like home. Rooms always nice and well kept with good a/c. Concierge lounge excellent for meetings and discussion. I will be back. Very good fitness and internet wireless.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArthuroMotown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Century Park
Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai
Century Park
Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park
Century Park
Dorsett Shanghai
Dorsett Shanghai
#69 of 4,971 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Century Park
Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai
Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai
#12 of 4,971 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Century Park
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#153 of 4,971 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
#47 of 4,971 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel

Property: Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel
Address: No.719 Yingchun Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200134, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Century Park , Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#82 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#130 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on the fringe of the dynamic new business district of Pudong, the Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel is the ideal locale for business or pleasure. Located near Pudong’s Century Park, just five minutes from the Shanghai New International Expo Center, and a 15-minute walk from the Shanghai Science & Technology Museum (and Metro station, Line 2), 15 minutes walk to the Laya Plaza and Thumb Plaza, a collection lifestyle for leisure and entertainment. The hotel maintains a time-honored tradition in warm hospitality and is equipped for handling small to large scale events and banquets. Combined with the very latest in guest comforts, the hotel boasts a thoughtful blend of traditional Chinese decor and contemporary Western ambiance; it’s a truly modern hotel with a distinct flavor of old Shanghai: where East meets West and where tradition meets innovation in perfect harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Marriott and Travelocity so you can book your Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Shanghai
Shanghai Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing