We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a fantastic homecoming! What a haven to return to each night after a busy business day!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Ranked #9 of 4,966 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
119 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“What a fantastic homecoming! What a haven to return to each night after a busy business day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

I'm very happy to be back at this hotel, after a long break of a few years. Because of rising costs in Shanghai, and also shrinking budgets for my travels I cannot help but move to cheaper options over the past few years. Besides the very good service and near-perfect location in the heart of Shanghai, I was captivated by the design of this building and the generous and spacious rooms and of course, the Marriott brand. You can imagine how upset I was when there was a time when I had to stay as far away as Hongqiao airport area, so when prices for the JW Marriott Tomorrow Square slip back to more acceptable levels, I pounced on the chance to return here. This piece thus serves as my homecoming piece and see if the JW Marriott Tomorrow Square is still as good as it had been in earlier years.

See my earlier review of this hotel for its location, design and breathtaking view (if air pollution does not get too serious) and you will notice that none of this has changed. People's Square is the centre of Shanghai, and the metro station's Exits 9, 10 and 11 open to the path leading to the hotel entrance, no more than 40-50 metres away. The stroll to the station is pleasant as it is by a park, and passes by a few quirky cafes, an art gallery and some truly beautiful shops. For this, if nothing else, defines my liking of this hotel.

But there's of course so much more. This time, being a Gold Marriott Rewards member, I was upgraded to a junior suite. I stayed for a day at the beginning of my long trip (November), went off and returned at the last leg of the trip to this wonderful hotel for a couple of days. Both times, the room assigned to me was spacious and commanded a panaromic view over the Shanghai skyline. But I enjoyed the second room better, even as its size is slightly smaller than the first one. The layout was very sensible with a TV console sort of "separating" the huge room. One part is a living area with a sofa set and tea table, with the writing desk and clothes closets nearby. On the other side of the TV console is the huge bed and the bathroom. If you prefer to watch TV on the bed, turn the flat-screen LCD TV 180 degrees and you can sit on your bed watching late-night movies.

After all these years, none of the amenities have gone awry and I must say maintenance has been more than satisfactory. The shower with the massage jets, which thrilled me so much when I first visited this hotel years back, continued to please me this time round. Even on the 55th level, the water pressure was strong and the warm water was fast to come for a relaxing shower. The toilet indeed looked as new as it had been, with no signs of being used for almost a decade! I cannot help but commend the management of this hotel for doing such a good job up-keeping the amenities and maintaining them in such tip-top condition!

I did not see the spa, the pool and the restaurants this time round as I hardly had time. But from the look of the things when I walked through the lobby and passed along the corridors, everything remains in good working condition. The willingness to serve among staff is also truly impressive after all these years, an improvement even.

Concierge staff was especially obliging and patient with my many requests to deposit, retrieve and then storage of my luggage and packages. Again, I cannot help commend them on this, with the services by bellboys Kimi and Mark very impressive. That of their supervisor David and the rest of his team on the last day of my stay (the bellboy who helped me with the luggage and taxi when I checked out in the early morning was more than accommodating) was also comforting and compelling. Please keep all this up, as I feel it's such software which differentiates one 5-star hotel from another, and in this aspect the JW Marriott Tomorrow Square excels.

Yet the good service does not stop at the concierge. The front-desk staff was also more than willing to help, while the housekeeping ladies were very obliging, tolerant and polite while helping me keep with the mess I created each night. I cannot commend them more and if this is the type of service standard which characterises the JW Marriott Tomorrow Square, I must say I will return again and again in my frequent visits to Shanghai. The hardware is there and well-proven, so keep up on the software and I am sure not only myself but many of your guests will continue giving you top marks. To me, this is about the best this exciting Chinese city can offer yet for a traveller.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sal the Fat Fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    939
    351
    63
    25
    5
See reviews for
177
225
75
626
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Valence, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

I will recommend this hotel to anyone who loves to be in the centre of Shanghai for sight seeing. Great location, great room ( stay in executive room if you can afford) great service , great lounge service and food.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Likian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

What a class act this hotel is, from the first moment you arrive at the hotel you made to feel very special. I would like to thank Kimberley , the senior manager of guest relations for her very sweet and attentive ways.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chriszl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

It is difficult to picture something better. From the moment one starts the ascent to check-in it is the most wonderful hotel experience. Great staff, amazing views, great food, beautiful bar, top-notch rooms - it is one enormous collections of positive adjectives. If in Shanghai stay there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrpCaptMandrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

The JW Marriott at Tomorrow Square provides an excellent base to explore this city of two faces -- its quirky locality bumping up against the glitz and glamour. Located on Nanjing West Road in the Huangpu District, the JW Marriott is right across the street from People's Square, which is a respite any day of the week but offers an interesting visit on Sundays when photos of singles are publicly marketed by matchmakers and parents alike to find a good match for sons and daughters. Yuyuan Garden (Happy Garden) is also nearby and is the center of Shanghai's Old City where you can find antiques, art, calligraphy and paintings. There are always the "Fake Markets" as well, if you're in the mood to bargain for knock-off name brands.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the Bund
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
213 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stayed in this hotel while on business in Shanghai. I loved the location, especially for sightseeing – it is within walking distance to the Shanghai Museum, People’s Square, Nanjing Road, and the Bund. However, I was working in Pudong – and the commute to work was a bit difficult. I chose the hotel because it was a Marriott and because I wanted to be close to sightseeing attractions. Its architecture is distinctive – and that may be what it is best known for. The building is so recognizable that it was like a beacon when I was out sightseeing – if I could find the hotel, I could find my way!

Check-in was easy and I was upgraded to an executive suite – which was very nice, though a bit dark and dated. Because the hotel is a high-rise, the view from my room was beautiful. The concierge room is quite spacious, with very large windows which make it light and bright. I didn’t eat in the hotel, but there are a number of dining options in the hotel and in the surrounding area – in addition to the concierge lounge. The hotel is very large and be aware that, at first, it can be confusing to navigate – I believe it is 60 floors with over 300 rooms.

Given some of the newer luxury hotels in Asia, I don’t know that I would categorize the JW Marriott Shanghai as a 5 star hotel – but I would recommend the hotel and would certainly stay there again. The location, views, and the fact that is oriented for business travels makes it an excellent choice when in Shanghai.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeeingTheWordFromORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We have been here since last Wednesday, and I must say that this has been our BEST stay ever at any Marriott property. We have a fabulous Jr. Suite on the 42nd floor with amazing views of the Bund, river and downtown. Especially noteworthy is the serenity on our floor - Very quiet and peaceful.

The Concierge Lounge is just FANTASTIC - incredible layout, great food and drink options, and awesome views! The staff is very attentive, polite, and customer service focused.

We will definitely be back, and HIGHLY recommend this JW.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawnee40_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#6 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Address: No.399 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#9 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#12 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#13 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#146 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing at 60 stories high as one of the tallest hotels in downtown Puxi Shanghai, the international deluxe JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai overlooks People's Square and is within walking distance to the Bund, Xintiandi and the characteristic Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street. The well appointed hotel guest rooms and suites are located between the 41st to 59th floors, and offer magnificent city views. The rooms feature a flat-screen cable TV, mini bar, tea and coffee facilities, wired and wireless internet and safe deposit box. Spacious bathrooms are equipped with a separate shower cubical and power massage jets. The Executive Lounge located on the 59th floor provides a commanding city view, serving complimentary breakfast, all-day refreshments and evening cocktails.The hotel's restaurants and lounges are located from the 38th to 40th floor and offer spectacular views of the Shanghai skyline. JW's California Grill on the 40th floor captivates an inventive culinary experience that travels beyond taste. Contemporary, elegant and comfortable, Wan Hao Chinese restaurant on the 39th floor showcases fine traditional Cantonese cuisine and Shanghainese specialties. Marriott Cafe on the 38th floor features the best in international casual dining, serving elaborate buffets throughout the day, as well as an extensive a la carte menu.In addition, the hotel offers a total of 1,512 square metres of meeting and banquet space, a business centre, an executive lounge, a 24-hour health club, including an indoor and outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Hotel Shanghai
Marriott Shanghai
Shanghai Marriott
Jw Marriott Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing