We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Towering splendour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Ranked #10 of 5,111 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013

A luxurious property in the centre of shanghai that would be well suited to both business and leisure. Checking in on the 38th floor gives a great impression - sweeping views across the city, as well as complimentary coffees / biscuits. A second elevator took me up to my 55th floor room, and yet another impressive view. The room itself was spacious with a large bathroom including separate bath and walk in 'rain' style shower. The super king size bed was extremely comfortable,providing a much needed good night's sleep. There was plenty of space for working in the room should you require.

I did not unfortunately get the opportunity to dine in the hotel during my two night stay, however I did get the chance to use the pool and gym facilities. On the 7th floor there is an external pool which made for a very relaxing evening swim lit by the moon and the bright lights of surrounding buildings. Within the changing area there are single sex saunas, jacuzzis and steam rooms. The leisure area reception hand out free bottles of water to users,which came in very useful when I checked out the gym. There is a good range of both cardiovascular and weight machines and it is effectively air conditioned.

There are lots of shops nearby for those with expensive tastes, and the unmissable Bund is just a short taxi ride away. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel; only very minor gripe is that sometimes it could take a few minutes to get a lift at busy times, but this is par for the course in any sky high hotel, and the views are well worth the wait.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Piglet-Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,529)
There are newer reviews for JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

788 - 794 of 1,529 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

I accepted a new position based in Shanghai and before my wife and daughter were to arrive I needed a centrally located, high standard hotel. The J.W. Marriott at Tomorrow is just that. I walked to my office, shopping, restaurants and the subway. Cabs were always available and one very rainy night the hotel limo took me to my appointment. The design of the hotel, by John Portman, is quite distinctive. The lower floors are Executive Apartments. The hotel lobby, and main restaurant is on the 38th floor with guestrooms above. The hotel is 60 stories high with the top floor housing the worlds highest library and the 59th being the Concierge Lounge. If you stay here you must go to the library and then ask to go on the deck for a fabulous view of the city. The hotel staff are fantastic. No issue was too small for a positive response. I had a well appointed room on the 58th floor and many a morning when I looked out my window all I saw below me were clouds. It was the same view and feeling I got many times when I was flying at 30,000 feet. As a Marriott Rewards Platinum member I had access to the lounge and was treated to a very generous breakfast. Evening was hors d'oeuvres so I would occasionally go to JW's for dinner or the hotel's Chinese Restaurant. Be sure you do not miss the Sunday brunch. It is big, beautiful, different and delicious. Again, staff was attentive and extremely courteous. Getting to the health club and pool is no problem and another unexpected experience. After 3 months my family arrived and we moved to a large 2 bedroom unit in the Executive Apartments just below. It was quite large and came with all the appliances and kitchen utensils, pots and pans If you can, We stayed there another 3 months until we needed to move to an area where my daughter could get to school and have friends. This property is not to be missed.

Room Tip: The higher the better view. A corner suite is a treat.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

It is now several times that I go to the JW MArriott in Tomorrow Square. Centrally located and close to the shopping area. Wide rooms always perfect. Staff is very kind. The breakfast can satisfy all needs. Good the fitness area. I recommend it. Something that can be improved is the airconditioning /heating system: it is rather noisy also when running at minimum, usually I have to switch it off during the night. wifi is free.

Room Tip: Just stay away from lift
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giovanni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

So the location was amazing, very close to many sites and walking distance to Wangfujing and the snack markets. It takes 2 elevators to get to your room as the lobby is on the 38th floor. The breakfast is expensive but you have a buffet of EVERYTHING you can imagine (Ice cream included). About 600RMB for 2 people. The staff was kind and helpful. I didn't think the towels were especially soft, kind of rough in my opinion. But the view from our corner room made it all worth it! My bathroom even had a view!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssbelltx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Eight nights in a suite--complementary upgrade while staying on points. The view from the 53rd floor was amazing. Attentive and friendly staff nice food and drink in the executive lounge. Great location near the subway. Only a couple of discordant notes--kept getting two towels although three people were registered, received a bathmat with a hole in it and some inefficiency in the cab system out front--just little things really. Be sure to take a card printed in Chinese from the concierge to show to the cabbies. The visibility of this iconic building makes it easier to navigate around town

Room Tip: Smoking and non smoking floors be sure to specify in advance
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed several times when we were in and out of Shanghai in August and would love to return. Beautiful rooms, exceptional staff, and outstanding breakfast buffet. Super comfy beds and indulgent shower. Easy walk to the Shanghai Museum, People's Park, subway, and Nanjing Road. Easy to find - just look for the iconic rocket ship building! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustinAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a very convenient location, within walking distance to most things tourists want to visit and close to a subway stop. It is on the top floors of a high rise and has great views. The service is excellent, the gym is hands down the best hotel gym I've been to, and the lobby smells great. They also have tea, cookies, and fruit in the lobby, which is a small touch that adds a lot to the feeling of comfort you have at this hotel. I stayed twice - on the first and last legs of my trip. The first room they gave me on my second stay had a horrible smell coming from the bathroom, but they changed me to a better room right away and were very nice about it. I would highly recommend staying here.

Thank VanessaSk14
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#36 of 5,111 in Shanghai
2,664 reviews
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square

Address: No.399 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#10 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#12 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#13 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#154 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $203 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing at 60 stories high as one of the tallest hotels in downtown Puxi Shanghai, the international deluxe JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai overlooks People's Square and is within walking distance to the Bund, Xintiandi and the characteristic Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street. The well appointed hotel guest rooms and suites are located between the 41st to 59th floors, and offer magnificent city views. The rooms feature a flat-screen cable TV, mini bar, tea and coffee facilities, wired and wireless internet and safe deposit box. Spacious bathrooms are equipped with a separate shower cubical and power massage jets. The Executive Lounge located on the 59th floor provides a commanding city view, serving complimentary breakfast, all-day refreshments and evening cocktails.The hotel's restaurants and lounges are located from the 38th to 40th floor and offer spectacular views of the Shanghai skyline. JW's California Grill on the 40th floor captivates an inventive culinary experience that travels beyond taste. Contemporary, elegant and comfortable, Wan Hao Chinese restaurant on the 39th floor showcases fine traditional Cantonese cuisine and Shanghainese specialties. Marriott Cafe on the 38th floor features the best in international casual dining, serving elaborate buffets throughout the day, as well as an extensive a la carte menu.In addition, the hotel offers a total of 1,512 square metres of meeting and banquet space, a business centre, an executive lounge, a 24-hour health club, including an indoor and outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Hotwire so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Hotel Shanghai
Marriott Shanghai
Shanghai Marriott
Jw Marriott Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing