We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overall, on the higher end of the price range.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Ranked #9 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great overall, on the higher end of the price range.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Location is excellent (right by People's square in the middle of the city). Great view out of pretty much any room. Wonderful staff and sevice and spacious room for the city location. The rooms as a bit pricier but it is a very nice hotel all around.

They also have serviced apartment available on the lower floors which offers a pretty good value over the hotel itself but you dont' have access to the lounge then even if you are a gold member or higher.

The only downside is that the lobby is on the 38F and require a change of elevator to get to the ground floor, or vice versa.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niceday_worldtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    959
    359
    63
    26
    5
See reviews for
182
228
77
643
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

The experience was first rate, from check-in to check-out. Staff were helpful and we were lucky enough to be located in one of the corner suites. Views across the skyline were just amazing, and the location couldn't be better - situated right in the central square with easy access to the metro. If you fancy a late night drink, pop into the whisky bar next door to the hotel - a fantastic selection of cocktails!

Room Tip: Try one of the corner suites for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square has got great location, good value, friendly staff, nice and spacious room, it has everything I ask for in a business trip. The only thing that annoys me just a bit is that you have to change elevator one time to get to your room, but not that big of a deal

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HowellPan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
97 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hotel's great in general. Highest was 60 floor. The lower half is occupied by the marriott serviced apartment which is much cheaper.

Near to RenMing GuangChang where there's alot of shopping to do. The location is central but its decent to say the least - at least I did not see any touts/pimps outside the hotel.

At the ground floor, there's a cafe "360 xxxx?" that serves fairly affordable capuccino and there's also Starbucks right at the other side of the ground floor (towards office building).

What I didn't quite like about this hotel was that you have to take a lift from the ground floor to the 38th floor where the main lobby is. From there, you walk to the back and take another group of lifts to your room. Imagine if you just stepped out of the hotel and remembered that you forgot to take something and you have to actually take 4 lifts to get to your room and back down. It's kinda troublesome.

Room Tip: At heights of 39-59 floor, I think any view would be nice. But Shanghai's frequently shrouded i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SporeSamSeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was my first stay but I'll be returning. First of all, check in is on the 38TH floor. We stayed in a corner room that was immaculate with a marble massage shower and bath. The staff were available and always willing to help. We were only 5 min. walk to the subway so no need for taxis, even though they're very reasonable. The breakfast choices were amazing and the chefs friendly.
The club lounge is worth it with unlimited champagne, wine, and cocktails. The appetizers are enough that you don't need much for dinner. I used their pool one rainy afternoon as it's indoor/outdoor. It's truly a lap pool as I was only able to swim a few as they're Olympic size laps.
I can't think of one negative. It's equal to this brand in Hong Kong and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Any corner room but the higher the better (50-58)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Msjaguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
185 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We just completed a wonderful stay at the JW Marriott Executive Apartments at Tomorrow Square. Our three bedroom apartment was very large, clean and well kept. The beds were comfortable. We had excellent linens and plenty of pillows. The towels were large and thick.. The washer/dryer unit came in handy. The staff was very friendly and helpful and all spoke English. Our entrance was separate from the main hotel but had a staffed reception desk. The breakfast buffet was fantastic. The kids strongly recommend the jelly donuts. We could not have selected a better location! The Bund was an easy walk, as was the French Concession Area. There was plenty of shopping at the Peoples Square, which was right outside.

Room Tip: The executive apartments are invaluable if traveling with kids as you have plenty of room, a full ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Excellent!Remarkable!Wonderful!Which words to describe this hotel property?
I guess i would include all the exclamations in one for this truly remarkable hotel right in the heart of bustling Shanghai.
Some may not be borne new with gleaming superstructures like a high lobby but still it stands above the rest ,this is what the Marriot at Tomorrow Square had done.
Incidentally the building is among one of the iconic most recognised tower in Shanghai despite been in operations for a number of years.I still remembered when it was constructed i used to look up to it with awe.
Firmly footed with a shining reputation its difficult not to be impressed with the dedication of the staff working here.
Guests would be received at the level one by their smartly dressed concierge and doorman,very well mannered and helpful and you would be transported up to their lobby at the 38th floor with no time wasted.Bags and luggages would be taken care of.
Lobby has no airs of over opulence like a high ceiling of most new hotels,but it is very cosy and one cannot miss the scented pleasant aroma throughout the lobby and the rooms and coridors.The reception staff is very very friendly ,courteous and well presented with maximum efficiency.
Bookings for an early checkin by the early hours at 9am was responded affirmatively by Mr Richard Fu,Guest relations manager by email .This is indeed a good step forward for friendliness. All requests asked were met with like the corner suite at 56th floor overlooking to the bund and Peoples square.Coincidentally we,myself and wife are staying here just to get over the boredom of our apartment house at Pudong.,a form of weekend getaway as a reward.
This Marriot has great city view at all corners irrespective of which directions you focus but the most striking is towards the Bund,it has views over People square,Huangpu river and Lujiazui with the 3 tall towers side by side,Grand Hyatt,SWFC and the near completion Shanghai Tower.It has also good views towards the french concession area.The rooms as well as the lobby has floor to ceiling glass to maximise the views.
Rooms are tastefully furnished and very very cosy,with top end facilities,all working well.Mattress are soft to firm,nice pillows and XL bed.The entrance entering the room is decorated beautifully wit the console table and the small coffee making counter/minibar.
The restrooms are big,and 2 in number with high quality marble.I particularly like the strong jet of water warm or cold available here which are sometimes sadly missing in some high end hotels.It even has massage jets for shower.Bathrooms facilities are highly commendable.
House keeping is top notched and even if we were to wake up late which we cant afford to get if we sleep at home at pudong even on off days,the housekeeping did not disturb and on our return later at night the room is superbly cleaned.Daily newspapers are supplied.
Breakfast at lobby or the executive lounge is good enough but not the best and it is inclusive for both of us.A mixture of chinese and western and desserts of xiaolongbao,dimsums and jiaozi and a noodles station .It is sufficient as we normally eat sparingly for breakfast. Of course the Xiao longbaos are not in the lead like my favourite Jia Jia tangbao.
Checking on the concierge services i find that hotel guests need not worry as to booking of transports out of Shanghai or concerts or booking for restaurants etc as they are indeed efficient.Tickets would be sent to your room or whichever ways you want it.
The hotel is perfectly located at Tomorrow Square,Nanjing west road and it is just about 150 meters to the exit/entrance gate 11 of People square subway lines 1,2 and 8.
As its not far from the bund even by walking and with the subway at doorstep i would say that this hotel is better located for travellers than those at the bund.
Of course i may be a little biased and as a local im quite bored with the bund and quite perplexed by the immense attractions generated by the tourists ,mainlanders or foreign.With these three subway lines you could stay connected to most parts of Shanghai easily.Taxis are actually quite easy to flag down by the roadside or at the entrance by the concierge.
It is indeed surprising that one can get easily pampered in the serenity of the inside of the hotel after stepping in, out of the ever bustling crazy Nanjing road outside.It is a haven of relaxation and yet minutes away from shopping ,food and all sorts of excitement outside.
Incidentally,Its been sometime that we had not been to the People square park which brought back nice memories and its an opportunity we took to the match making market just to see how much it has changed for past few years.
Im glad to say that neither myself and spouse were needed to post our resume by our parents here .It would be so embarrasing lol.
To summarise this is one of the very very few hotels that we dont have any grievances but all praises.Indeed its a gem in Shanghai.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bennystar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Address: No.399 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#9 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#12 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#13 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#152 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing at 60 stories high as one of the tallest hotels in downtown Puxi Shanghai, the international deluxe JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai overlooks People's Square and is within walking distance to the Bund, Xintiandi and the characteristic Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street. The well appointed hotel guest rooms and suites are located between the 41st to 59th floors, and offer magnificent city views. The rooms feature a flat-screen cable TV, mini bar, tea and coffee facilities, wired and wireless internet and safe deposit box. Spacious bathrooms are equipped with a separate shower cubical and power massage jets. The Executive Lounge located on the 59th floor provides a commanding city view, serving complimentary breakfast, all-day refreshments and evening cocktails.The hotel's restaurants and lounges are located from the 38th to 40th floor and offer spectacular views of the Shanghai skyline. JW's California Grill on the 40th floor captivates an inventive culinary experience that travels beyond taste. Contemporary, elegant and comfortable, Wan Hao Chinese restaurant on the 39th floor showcases fine traditional Cantonese cuisine and Shanghainese specialties. Marriott Cafe on the 38th floor features the best in international casual dining, serving elaborate buffets throughout the day, as well as an extensive a la carte menu.In addition, the hotel offers a total of 1,512 square metres of meeting and banquet space, a business centre, an executive lounge, a 24-hour health club, including an indoor and outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Hotel Shanghai
Marriott Shanghai
Shanghai Marriott
Jw Marriott Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing