We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Ranked #9 of 5,082 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
McAllen, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Location for shopping can't be beat, but it is an hour from Pudong Airport. Its expensive $300 night at least the food was ok by US standards. If you work out its got a great GYM for a hotel. The mattress id firm but not too firm , the A/C will go way down! I was on the 55th floor and the view was spectacular..service was great..but no sundries shop in the hotel gotta leave if you need something. The room is big with seperate bath tub and shower which was nice. If you are alone the professional ladies on Nanjing road are relentless, can't take ten steps, no good for me as I am not interested in that lifestyle, so it made shopping very difficult. Go to old town a few blocks away and shop under ground a real experience, one block behind hotel is a street with odd"pets" for sale ..lots of crickets too..pass by

Room Tip: Get a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkmcallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,008
    367
    66
    27
    6
See reviews for
197
238
77
673
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manitowoc
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed at the Marriott in Shanghai; the service was excellent, and my room was very contemporary and very, very clean. The Front Desk personnel were very accustomed to world travelers and had no problem in discussing currency exchange rates, shipping of gifts to back home and the Hotel amenities. the Hotel has a great cocktail lounge and a Restaurant, and it very centrally located with shops and restaurants nearby.
Jack

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Great location on East Nanjing Road. Convenient to just about everything in Shanghai. Rooms are nicely detailed with modern amenities. USA electric plug converters provided a plus since I forgot to bring my own. Also, an umbrella was provided in the closet which came in handy a couple of days. Makes it nice to not have to carry one in suitcase. Staff was very friendly and always greeted me after those busy days working. Most if not all staff speak English. Breakfast at cafe is a little pricey, but had a pretty good variety. I would stay here again when I have the chance on next business trip.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank castruml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Having stayed at the number 1 rated boutique hotel on trip advisor last year this one beat it hands down. The rooms are great, service the best. The only hotel I could find with an outdoor pool! It also has an indoor pool. Location opposite the park and by lots of shops- everything you could need or want.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsHarris21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Book this hotel for our honey moon in Shanghai and it was fantastic! JW standards all around, we were always given a little extra detail for our honeymoon. We reserved one of the apartments and we had everything we needed in the small apt + a magnificent view from the 30th floor.

There are many things around as walking distance and we were a 5-10min drive from the main attractions like the gardens and the markets.

Pricey but its a great spot for a special stay like our honeymoon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcmontys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Really a great location to be in. Easy access to transport and the key tourist locations. Importantly just round the corner from the street with two of the best dumpling places we have been to one steamed and one fried :) Yum.

Hotel itself is as you would expect for a quality 5 star business hotel. Also good pool, spa etc.

However we did have a couple of frustrations in that the staff were not the most helpful / useful. We found the concierge screwed up the chinese instructions for where we wanted to get to, which cost us over an hour, they were not really able to give us much advice on way to get to places etc. Had to rely on the internet. Also the front desk managed to screw up our booking for a restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akentmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Magnificant views of a beautiful city. Yes, it does not come cheap, but you get value for your money! 3 Excellent restaurants, very friendly and helpful staff and majority of them are proficient in English! Indeed a big PLUS! We stayed on the executive floor on a non-smoking Floor - another big PLUS! The bed was so comfortable and you are ensured of a very goodnights sleep with a good variety of pillows to suit everyone's need! Very close to the French Concession - which is a "Must be seen" - beautiful restaurants, beautiful setting and very energentic vibe!
Highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sTcO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#37 of 5,082 in Shanghai
2,583 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Address: No.399 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#9 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#12 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#13 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#154 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing at 60 stories high as one of the tallest hotels in downtown Puxi Shanghai, the international deluxe JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai overlooks People's Square and is within walking distance to the Bund, Xintiandi and the characteristic Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street. The well appointed hotel guest rooms and suites are located between the 41st to 59th floors, and offer magnificent city views. The rooms feature a flat-screen cable TV, mini bar, tea and coffee facilities, wired and wireless internet and safe deposit box. Spacious bathrooms are equipped with a separate shower cubical and power massage jets. The Executive Lounge located on the 59th floor provides a commanding city view, serving complimentary breakfast, all-day refreshments and evening cocktails.The hotel's restaurants and lounges are located from the 38th to 40th floor and offer spectacular views of the Shanghai skyline. JW's California Grill on the 40th floor captivates an inventive culinary experience that travels beyond taste. Contemporary, elegant and comfortable, Wan Hao Chinese restaurant on the 39th floor showcases fine traditional Cantonese cuisine and Shanghainese specialties. Marriott Cafe on the 38th floor features the best in international casual dining, serving elaborate buffets throughout the day, as well as an extensive a la carte menu.In addition, the hotel offers a total of 1,512 square metres of meeting and banquet space, a business centre, an executive lounge, a 24-hour health club, including an indoor and outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Hotel Shanghai
Marriott Shanghai
Shanghai Marriott
Jw Marriott Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing