We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very friendly hotel...but not near anything terribly exciting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
Ranked #40 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
toronto, on
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A very friendly hotel...but not near anything terribly exciting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights for business and were quite pleased overall with the experience. The rooms were clean and designed in an Asian theme. Beds were comfortable, and pillows fluffy. HOWEVER, it was freezing cold in the city when we arrived, and there was heat in the hotel. The front desk said that the heat is controlled by head office so they do not have authority to turn it on and off at their free will. So we froze. They did give us extra blankets, but in zero degree weather, we need heating. Especially considering it's a Marriott hotel!

For food, McDonalds is just down the road a bit, and there are plenty of local restaurants near the hotel as well.

Unfortuantely, there is only one shopping mall within walking distance from the hotel, but there is a larger one further down the road (we didn't try to walk it), but I suspect it's a 20-30 minute walk away.

Also, you have to pay for Internet. It was quite expensive from what I remember.

I'd go back if they'd turn on their heating when it's cold, and AC when it's hot.

P.S. Andy the bellhop boy is a gem. Very smily and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelerca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    241
    68
    12
    3
See reviews for
21
36
46
331
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
East
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2009

Rooms:
Low ceiling but room furnishings and bed was clean and comfortable. Toilet could do with a more luxurious feel. Air-con temperature not adjustable or slow to response.

Breakfast:
Service staff was courteous. Unfortunately, food was never replenish and there were too many empty trays (did not matter if I came to breakfast at 7.30am or 9am). Hot food (i.e Fried Eggs, Noodles) counter kitchen staff generally ignored the customers, so had to raise my voice to get some attention. Food was too plain and if this did not come with my Room fee, I would not have bothered. But savings grace was their Juice counter which had a variety of freshly squeeze juice.

Facilities:
Gym was small and not condusive for a workout.

Service:
Generally, the staff was courteous and good natured. Room extension for 1 hour was rejected. This hotel also caters to local businessman, and they tend to bud-in when you are dealing with the counter staff.

Location:
In the Pudong area with many local and also cheap eateries nearby. For shopping, there is a local shopping mall 2 blocks away. Within 10mins walking distance of Yaohan and Times Sqaure. Massage Shops (probably the happy ones) round the corner.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audi268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2009

No mistake this is a very nice hotel - but probably a bit over the top for most travellers paying their own bill. Rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean, service is first class - but the place lacks any real atmosphere. Ideal for a business trip or an overnight stay but not really for the leisure traveller. Pudong is a fair hike from The Bund, Yu Gardens and Nanging Road so holidaymakers might be better off with a more central location.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nearlydunroamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como Lake
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2009

One night stay for business.
The hotel was suggested by a major customer with special rates. Slept in a big suite at a very good price.

  • Liked — big rooms good breakfast
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank plastic_globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2008

A perfect hotel in Shanghai, with a very helpful and smiling staff.
We definitely recommend this hotel, even if it is a bit far from the city centre (if one can define a center in Shanghai), and reachable by direct metro (line 7, 4 and 6 at Century Avenue) or taxi (not expensive, expect 20 RMB minimum to go to old town for instance).

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Marc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, TN
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2008

Stayed here on a free night in Shanghai. Decent rate and good location. About 2 blocks from metro station. 45 mintes by taxi to airport.

Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TNKirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
344 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2008

I spend many nights a year at Marriotts because they are consistently above average. This hotel was the exception.

The front desk check-in was slow and lackadaisical. They refused to accept my Marriott card for reasons that they could not explain. When my message light was on and the message said there was a package at the front desk, they could not find the package (it was delivered to my room several hours later.)

There are not enough elevators to service all of the floors, and they elevators were s-l-o-w. The food was average.

The room was smallish. There was one small water bottle in the room (for two people) whereas every other hotel we stayed at in China had two large ones. The hair drier did not work and there was a large stain on the carpet. The first morning we were there the room contained 6 packets of decaf coffee and none of regular. The second morning we were there the shower head blew off the shower when we turned it on. The soap bar in the bathroom was miniscule; hardly shower size.

This was the worst hotel we stayed at in China. I could not believe it was a Marriott property.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marfak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
#57 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong
#103 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Century Park
Dorsett Shanghai
Dorsett Shanghai
#75 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong

Property: Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
Address: No.838, Dongfang Rd, Pudong Dist, Shanghai 200122, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#41 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#44 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#48 Family Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Pudong is a classy yet contemporary business hotel located in the business district of Shanghai Pudong, located at the main intersection in Pudong with easy access to the business centers of both Shanghai Puxi and Shanghai Pudong, only 5 minutes walk to the Century Avenue Station of Metro Line 2, 4, 6 and 9. This up market 4 star, 323 rooms Full Service hotel offers customers 3 F&B outlets plus extended meeting & banquet facilities of more than 1000 square meter. It's newly created premier and executive level rooms together with its new state of the art executive level Club Lounge will be a welcoming experience for both the international and domestic business traveler in the heart of Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Marriott, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Shanghai Pudong Hotel Shanghai
Courtyard Shanghai Pudong
Shanghai Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing